Simple Plan - Simple Plan
Simple Plan Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the Quebecois punk-pop band was produced by Dave Fortman, Danjahandz, and Max Martin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. The release does establish Simple Plan as on e of the most consistent acts making music today. [Feb 2008, p.109]
  2. Simple Plan's plan--to get you bouncing, bobbing, and otherwise grooving--is still simple. And like all uncomplicated strategies, it's still remarkably effective.
  3. Simple Plan is a shameless little heatseeker, which isn't much of a musical problem. Provided you're after a good time, several cuts make excellent use of keyboard bleeps and drum-machine beats.
  4. There are some decent pop moments: 'When I'm Gone' is a seize-the-day anthem with a cathartic refrain. But most songs, like the angry barnburner 'The End,' are barely distinguishable from a dozen or so other Warped Tour bands.
  5. 40
    Album three aims for maturity, but the results are stunted.
  6. Simple Plan continue to plough forwards wuth a punk template of such box-ticking efficiency that they at times resemble automatons. [Mar 2008, p.111]
  7. This isn’t music so much as it is economic exploitation of a demographic.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Kristy
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Julia: Please note that the critics and haters are the ONLY ones calling Simple Plan "punks". The band and (most) fans are very aware of who they really are. They aren't punk and they don't try to be, so there really is no point in calling attention to the obvious and using it to insult them. As for the album...it is different, more commercial. I think it's a bit more mature, musically and lyrically BUT it is still the same depressive, clicheed lyrics over an upbeat, poppy sound. That's Simple Plan, and I wouldn't change it for the world :) Expand
  2. SamW.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    As a 13 year old girl, I can really relate to the lyrics. Simple Plan understands me! They know what I'm going through. No it's not a little strange these 20-something men are writing about stuff that a 13 year old girl wants to hear. Simple Plan is hardcore guys! Expand
  3. ShaunM.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    I read in the last album reviews, people saying Simple Plan is a band for girls. It's not true I been a fan of them for awhile, they have great music. People who going to be a bully and say mean things should just leave this area and get a life cause Simple Plan and their fans(like me) don't care how much you like them. Expand
  4. TagueW.
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    Screw what the critics say. This album is amazing. In terms of sound, this is their best. Almost every song gets me hooked. By far the best album I've heard so far this year. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    7
    Better than "Get Your Heart On" By miles, had much more rememberable tracks and only a few forgettable. Definitely would recommend this to any Pop-Rock fan! Definitely not their best though!!

    *Ps. I love people who act like Simple Plan are a forgettable band will then go listen to today's pop and rap music or metal for that metal.. no rock band today even compares to the legends from the 60s and 70s, but simple plan at least sticks with their own style and doesnt go too poppy.. well minus Get your Heart On*
    Expand
  6. SteveM
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    It is Simple Plan going pop, which provides some catchy moments. But musically, talent-wise? It is still Simple Plan. And that means endless cliches and overused phrases for lyrics...but isn't that what this entire genre has become? Personally, I enjoyed the album but I also am aware that it is only because I have listened to Simple Plan from the start, and have developed a taste for them. Plus, it is a far cry from their previous album "Still Not Getting Any". I wouldn't necessarily expect others to see the good in them, especially if this is the first Simple Plan CD they've heard. Expand
  7. HowCouldThisHappenToMe?
    Feb 13, 2008
    0
    It's Simple Plan....what else do you need to say to justify the 0?

See all 22 User Reviews