User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 153

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelB
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Deep, yet accessible due to its fun, melancholy nature. The best of its genre, with its sheer variation keeping you listening again and again.
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Just listen to Frontier Psychiatrist, Since I Left you, and Electricity. Then, try to tell me that this album deserves anything less than a perfect score.
  3. HenryH.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    The first classic of dance music of the century.
  4. KidA
    May 7, 2006
    10
    This may be one of the greatest achievements in the history of music
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Normally, I don't give out 10's but... This record reminds me of when the TV and the Radio was worth listening to. It reminds me of lying down on the couch with the sun's rays through the curtains of your house. It's a small, maybe medium place, but it's your own house, your property and you love it. This record reminds me of the only thing good about summer; the mood it puts on everythingNormally, I don't give out 10's but... This record reminds me of when the TV and the Radio was worth listening to. It reminds me of lying down on the couch with the sun's rays through the curtains of your house. It's a small, maybe medium place, but it's your own house, your property and you love it. This record reminds me of the only thing good about summer; the mood it puts on everything else. In short, I love this album. Expand
  6. AbelL.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    A great headphone album that would also be a hit at any party. Enjoyable at the first listen, and the 100th too.
  7. GeoffG
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    It's like Night Ripper in the 50's, 60's, and 70's, multiplied by four thousand.
  8. BradH.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    My all time favourite. Summer funk that just doesn't stop.
  9. BenjaminBunny
    Aug 12, 2003
    9
    Seamless, awe-inspiring.
  10. JamieA
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    The best album I have heard in a very long time!
  11. JoanneC
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Wow!
  12. MikeS
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Opeed my eyes to sampling and nothing else since has come close. Equinoxx, if you know better please tell me, because this disc is toe tappin' good from the first beat to the last. *Frontier Psychiatrist is worth the purchase alone.
  13. CentrifugeT
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant! Off the wall cuts and samples. I've listened to it 100 times and I hear a new beat or fade every time Frontier Psychiatrist should just about single-handedly redefine the genre. It's crazy-cool
  14. EndaP
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I hate to say this, but this may be the best album about the joy of music ever made. I have heard nothing better. A superb, superb, accomplishment.
  15. SamS.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    It's now almost 2008 and this album still is on top of my cd pile. Nice one Dexta!!
  16. OliverC
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    The Avalanches bring a highly original mashup of samples from all over the places, to create their debut album Since I Left You. Everything moulds together perfectly to create a whacky adventure through music, as cliche as it sounds, bouncing with energy through every track. I don't think I've put only a single track on without having to listen to the whole album.
  17. WesM
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    Since I Left You, when listened to as a whole, is evocative of every huge, nightlong, multilocation banger you've ever experienced.
  18. SirIsaacLime
    Dec 1, 2001
    10
    Despite what The Onion says, "Endtroducing..." is still the best sample-based album of all time, but this is a close second.
  19. CraiggersLuft
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    This is very good music.
  20. PedreA
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Brilliant unique sound, a lifting tune with a sound that everyone will like, absolutely great to listen to whenever.
  21. JonH
    Jun 7, 2004
    9
    not quite a masterpiece, but darn close, very close.
  22. LawrenceP
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    A classic.
  23. sarahp
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    i loved this cd, it is a classic and simply the best!!
  24. SolomonA
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Truly one of the greatest albums of all time.
  25. AlexA
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Just fucking brilliant!
  26. ChrisS
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    This is one of those albums where you listen to from front to back and don't want it to end. Definitely one of my favorite albums
  27. MikeC
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    I got this album about 2 weeks ago, and havn't listened to a different album yet. I have listened through it about 10 times, and it is one incredible album. My only complaint would be that towards the end of the album it because a little to ambitious, and creative, in a way it looses focus a bit. But you could also respect this aspect. All in all, you need to hear this album, I got this album about 2 weeks ago, and havn't listened to a different album yet. I have listened through it about 10 times, and it is one incredible album. My only complaint would be that towards the end of the album it because a little to ambitious, and creative, in a way it looses focus a bit. But you could also respect this aspect. All in all, you need to hear this album, it's one of the greatest of the decade. Expand
  28. AndrewB.
    Nov 12, 2001
    10
    oh yes thank you
  29. KonstantinosA.
    Nov 25, 2001
    10
    Album of the year so far...
  30. JoeStrummer
    Dec 17, 2001
    10
    can't wait for this album to spark in north america
  31. ArmanT.
    Dec 31, 2001
    10
    Strap on a pair of Depends or take a shot of Metamucil when you listen to this album, because you soil your shorts... it's that good.
  32. JoelM.
    Sep 27, 2002
    10
    Made me feel like like I was floating
  33. nick
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    Super incredible technical mixing from a internet user who claims he used to be a DJ for cred but really just owns an ipod. This album is depth.
  34. equinoxx
    May 18, 2005
    7
    Very good album, would give 7.5 if I could. I thought 9 initially then I considered other albums I own of this type...
  35. matta
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    I'll feel sorry for your taste in music, Larry S. This album is genius. Not just worth checking because of all the samples, but worth checking out because it is just flat out fun to listen to. Put it on in the background of your next party, the perfect soundtrack to a Friday night.
  36. michaeld
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    This album is a revelation,never been so moved by sound!
  37. eliahuc
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Just an unbelievably emotional dance music album. Comparisons to Discovery aren't unwarranted. Everyone knows it's energetic and fun, but beyond that, tracks like A Different Feeling, Etoh, Close To You, (the whole album, to a degree, really) have a sort of melancholy wistfullness that can't have been accidental. They hit the mark.
  38. R.Skells
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    One of the most unique albums i have ever heard. it surprises you everytime, with the witty, the joyful and the sad. an outstanding album in every sense.
  39. RayK
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Anything other than 10 would be criminal. Listening to it now on the eve of 2008, and it's still so far ahead of the game it's embarrassing.
  40. AsVHEnAsVHEn
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    One of best electronic music albums of history.
  41. evel
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    i love the cd. its one of the best ones i have
  42. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Enthralling listen, before its time. All 3500+ samples are brought together brilliantly to create a modern masterpiece. I am slightly pissed off though, that being due to the fact that their second album is set to be released 11 years after Since I Left You and one year from now!
  43. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Un album qui reste pionnier dans son domaine. Le mythe nous raconte que cet album contient 3500 samples d'autres disent 1000 à 1500 samples. Qu'importe, l'assemblage est impressionnant, l'écoute est l'est tout autant. Un grand album !
  44. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    Deep, soothing and fun all tied together in a perfect album. There's just nothing like it out there. I highly recommend listening to it from start to finish for the best experience.
  45. Mar 7, 2015
    9
    The Avalanches is the best album to play at a party. They are seriously amazing in their mixing of over 3000 samples. I love this band so much and they sound incredible.
  46. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    13 years, and over 100 listens later, this album deserves nothing less than a perfect score. Everything about this album is perfectly crafted to make one of the most danceable, psychedelic, electronic, symphonic, and eclectic albums of the last decade. Worth it. Worth every precious second of anyone's time.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A charming, witty pastiche of mashed up samples, beats, bangs, and bobs.... Truly a breakthrough in the world of dance music.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    When the technique works, the results are exhilarating. [9 Nov 2001, p.111]
  3. There's little doubt to Since I Left You's status as one of the most intimate and emotional dance records that isn't vocal-based.