User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 154

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AbelL.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    A great headphone album that would also be a hit at any party. Enjoyable at the first listen, and the 100th too.
  2. GeoffG
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    It's like Night Ripper in the 50's, 60's, and 70's, multiplied by four thousand.
  3. MichaelB
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Deep, yet accessible due to its fun, melancholy nature. The best of its genre, with its sheer variation keeping you listening again and again.
  4. BradH.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    My all time favourite. Summer funk that just doesn't stop.
  5. CormacD.
    May 13, 2002
    9
    absolutely fantastic,the perfect summer record
  6. HenryH.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    The first classic of dance music of the century.
  7. TheAucklander
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    Now, I wouldn't normally give an album a "Ten", but over 2 years after it's release this disc is still my No.1 favourite. I might not play it everyday, but if someone says"Hey, what's your favourite a;bum?" then for the last coupla years the answer's been "Avalanches, "Since I Left You", man.")
  8. BenjaminBunny
    Aug 12, 2003
    9
    Seamless, awe-inspiring.
  9. JamieA
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    The best album I have heard in a very long time!
  10. JoanneC
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Wow!
  11. MikeS
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Opeed my eyes to sampling and nothing else since has come close. Equinoxx, if you know better please tell me, because this disc is toe tappin' good from the first beat to the last. *Frontier Psychiatrist is worth the purchase alone.
  12. CentrifugeT
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant! Off the wall cuts and samples. I've listened to it 100 times and I hear a new beat or fade every time Frontier Psychiatrist should just about single-handedly redefine the genre. It's crazy-cool
  13. EndaP
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I hate to say this, but this may be the best album about the joy of music ever made. I have heard nothing better. A superb, superb, accomplishment.
  14. SamS.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    It's now almost 2008 and this album still is on top of my cd pile. Nice one Dexta!!
  15. OliverC
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    The Avalanches bring a highly original mashup of samples from all over the places, to create their debut album Since I Left You. Everything moulds together perfectly to create a whacky adventure through music, as cliche as it sounds, bouncing with energy through every track. I don't think I've put only a single track on without having to listen to the whole album.
  16. WesM
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    Since I Left You, when listened to as a whole, is evocative of every huge, nightlong, multilocation banger you've ever experienced.
  17. SirIsaacLime
    Dec 1, 2001
    10
    Despite what The Onion says, "Endtroducing..." is still the best sample-based album of all time, but this is a close second.
  18. CraiggersLuft
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    This is very good music.
  19. PlastikL.
    Jun 20, 2002
    10
    if my job is hearing cd's the avalanches since I left you cd would be my summer lazy-afternoon vacation on a damn cruise.
  20. Spooky
    Jun 29, 2002
    10
    Since I Left You is a sample-riddled mix-tape you'll swear The Avalanches made just for you.
  21. Anthony
    Feb 27, 2003
    9
    A classic album that shows the true power of the DJ sample. A truly excellent record that will probably never become outdated.
  22. PedreA
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Brilliant unique sound, a lifting tune with a sound that everyone will like, absolutely great to listen to whenever.
  23. JonH
    Jun 7, 2004
    9
    not quite a masterpiece, but darn close, very close.
  24. LawrenceP
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    A classic.
  25. sarahp
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    i loved this cd, it is a classic and simply the best!!
  26. SolomonA
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    Truly one of the greatest albums of all time.
  27. AlexA
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Just fucking brilliant!
  28. KidA
    May 7, 2006
    10
    This may be one of the greatest achievements in the history of music
  29. ChrisS
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    This is one of those albums where you listen to from front to back and don't want it to end. Definitely one of my favorite albums
  30. MikeC
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    I got this album about 2 weeks ago, and havn't listened to a different album yet. I have listened through it about 10 times, and it is one incredible album. My only complaint would be that towards the end of the album it because a little to ambitious, and creative, in a way it looses focus a bit. But you could also respect this aspect. All in all, you need to hear this album, I got this album about 2 weeks ago, and havn't listened to a different album yet. I have listened through it about 10 times, and it is one incredible album. My only complaint would be that towards the end of the album it because a little to ambitious, and creative, in a way it looses focus a bit. But you could also respect this aspect. All in all, you need to hear this album, it's one of the greatest of the decade. Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A charming, witty pastiche of mashed up samples, beats, bangs, and bobs.... Truly a breakthrough in the world of dance music.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    When the technique works, the results are exhilarating. [9 Nov 2001, p.111]
  3. There's little doubt to Since I Left You's status as one of the most intimate and emotional dance records that isn't vocal-based.