Since We Last Spoke

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. peliciane
    Mar 7, 2006
    7
    This isn't an insult, but this release isn't for rjd2 fans. This a step away, not necessarily down, for Mr. Krohn. Ambitious? Sure. Creative? Uh-huh. But, man, I just felt awkward the most of the time. He is a hip-hop producer. Had this been released by someone else, I would have probably felt more comfortable. His "Intro" track is the only track remotely hip-hop. Just because This isn't an insult, but this release isn't for rjd2 fans. This a step away, not necessarily down, for Mr. Krohn. Ambitious? Sure. Creative? Uh-huh. But, man, I just felt awkward the most of the time. He is a hip-hop producer. Had this been released by someone else, I would have probably felt more comfortable. His "Intro" track is the only track remotely hip-hop. Just because I'm placing this rjd2 CD in 3rd is no insult. (I haven't heard his "In Rare Form" hard-to-find CD) Collapse
  2. LawrenceP
    Jul 23, 2004
    8
    Different from the first LP, but maybe better???
  3. JordanG
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    exotic talk is gangster. very good i felt like headbanging. & thats a good thing.
  4. BrandonB
    Jul 2, 2005
    9
    I have to completely agree that this album is amazing. So far, I have been nothing but fascinated by the ability of RJ to blend so many different sounds into something harmonic and meaningful. I'm surprised at how many reviews were dissapointing.
  5. marcush
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Better than the first album.
  6. JasonT
    May 30, 2004
    9
    I don't understand why critics have been so tough on this album. In many ways it is far superior to Deadringer. RJ traded in the heavier breakbeats of his past work for a more melodic, soulful sound. Definetely worth purchasing.
  7. MarkT
    Jul 17, 2004
    9
    The more I listen to this album the more I like it. His new rock'n'roll influence has raised him to a higher level than Deadringer and is another great addition to RJD2's impressive CV. If you like DJ Shadow you'll love RJD2, so plug your headphones into Since We Last Spoke NOW!
  8. TravisB
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    Phenomenal. A lot less rap than Deadringer. I still can't decide which album I like more. I think both are excellent in different ways. This album would have received a 10, but I really am not a fan of the last track.
  9. christophern
    May 27, 2004
    8
    Completely different story than his debut release, but still inventive and fun.
  10. andrewf
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    this cd is so diverse and innovative probably one of the best cds ive herd in a long time.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Since We Last Spoke finds RJD2 sounding like some blessed creature who's able to tune in every radio station in the world, past and present, and mix them together into a cohesive whole.
  2. Favours The Song over ambient abstraction and real-time playing over rejigged samples.
  3. Since We Last Spoke continually subverts expectations of what an Rjd2 album is about, yet the songs all stick together in a cohesive way, and the album still somehow bears the distinct personality stamp of the RJ we already knew, even as some of it diverges wildly from the path he's been on so far.