Since We Last Spoke Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The underground hip-hop producer (also a member of Soul Position) returns with a follow-up to his acclaimed 2002 Def Jux Debut, 'Dead Ringer.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Since We Last Spoke finds RJD2 sounding like some blessed creature who's able to tune in every radio station in the world, past and present, and mix them together into a cohesive whole.
  2. 91
    A Kleenex-grabbing, chain-smoking, staring-out-the-window, in-bed-for-days breakup record. [Jun 2004, p.106]
  3. Terrifying, but in a good way. The bar is raised. [Jun 2004, p.105]
  4. RJD2 possesses the rare ability to transform moldy samples into fresh-as-tomorrow compositions. [Jun 2004, p.110]
  5. Since We Last Spoke is more sonic retreat than bold reinvention, an intriguing, if not entirely triumphant, tip of the hat to the sound and spirit of the Year of the Dragon.
  6. But even on those tracks that don't make the cut as RJ stand-outs almost everywhere you care to look there are stylish touches and subtleties waiting to be discovered with each subsequent listen.
  7. 50
    With hardly a breakbeat in sight, RJ's sophomore effort plays like an homage to '80s-era easy listening.... An ambitious effort, but a failure all the same. [May 2004, p.86]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. marcush
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Better than the first album.
  2. andrewf
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    this cd is so diverse and innovative probably one of the best cds ive herd in a long time.
  3. JasonT
    May 30, 2004
    9
    I don't understand why critics have been so tough on this album. In many ways it is far superior to Deadringer. RJ traded in the heavier I don't understand why critics have been so tough on this album. In many ways it is far superior to Deadringer. RJ traded in the heavier breakbeats of his past work for a more melodic, soulful sound. Definetely worth purchasing. Expand
  4. JordanG
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    exotic talk is gangster. very good i felt like headbanging. & thats a good thing.
  5. TravisB
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    Phenomenal. A lot less rap than Deadringer. I still can't decide which album I like more. I think both are excellent in different ways. Phenomenal. A lot less rap than Deadringer. I still can't decide which album I like more. I think both are excellent in different ways. This album would have received a 10, but I really am not a fan of the last track. Collapse
  6. LawrenceP
    Jul 23, 2004
    8
    Different from the first LP, but maybe better???
  7. Jul 27, 2012
    6
    RJ certainly changes things up on this album

See all 11 User Reviews