Sing The Sorrow

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 179

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2015
    9
    This is not only the album that got me into AFI, but is also a great example of a punk album. Well, except for Paper Airplanes (Makeshift Wings)...but other than that it was very enjoyable.
  2. Apr 26, 2015
    8
    This album has a great purpose and message and certainly adds a lot to the Emo genre of music. I love how every song eventually accumulates into the epitome of depression.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing is all I need to say. On the other hand, the two follow-ups to this album are definitely widely underrated, and should be appreciated more. I'm definitely looking forward to a 2012 AFI album. They better make it happen.
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Truly phenomenal... Although quite different from anything before, there is more of the slow, emotional songs that got them this record deal. From the punk genius of Dancing Through Sunday, to the anger of The Leaving Song II, and finally the pure musical beauty of ...But Home Is Nowhere and its two hidden tracks, which is the definite highlight of the album. This album has everything.Truly phenomenal... Although quite different from anything before, there is more of the slow, emotional songs that got them this record deal. From the punk genius of Dancing Through Sunday, to the anger of The Leaving Song II, and finally the pure musical beauty of ...But Home Is Nowhere and its two hidden tracks, which is the definite highlight of the album. This album has everything. Including one of the greatest songs ever written, the hidden track This Time Imperfect. Collapse
  5. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    It's everything you wouldn't expect from a hardcore punk band from California: beautifully produced, cleverly written, and wonderfully melodic. Regardless of the album's severely dark nature, Sing the Sorrow could appeal to any kind of audience that even remotely enjoy rock music. "The Leaving Song, Pt II" retains all of the bands hardcore punk roots, yet experiments heavily with pop-punkIt's everything you wouldn't expect from a hardcore punk band from California: beautifully produced, cleverly written, and wonderfully melodic. Regardless of the album's severely dark nature, Sing the Sorrow could appeal to any kind of audience that even remotely enjoy rock music. "The Leaving Song, Pt II" retains all of the bands hardcore punk roots, yet experiments heavily with pop-punk and alternative, while "Silver & Cold" introduces something entirely new into the AFI world: a rock ballad. I can honestly say that Sing the Sorrow is "almost" a work of art, if it weren't for the album's slight repetition. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Sing the Sorrow is not exactly a concept album -- or one of the smartest albums for that matter. However, Havok's lyrics are deliciously dark, glossed with anguished guitars and the band's overall unique sound.
  7. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    An old classic in my own opinion. Having origionally been introduced to AFI during my school years, much before the following releases, I was amazed with how they produced songs that just seemed to fit together, and was the kind of music that could be enjoyed at any time or situation, never overly screamy or shouty, yet never to mellow to still enjoy at a gig. In general its a top albumAn old classic in my own opinion. Having origionally been introduced to AFI during my school years, much before the following releases, I was amazed with how they produced songs that just seemed to fit together, and was the kind of music that could be enjoyed at any time or situation, never overly screamy or shouty, yet never to mellow to still enjoy at a gig. In general its a top album from the past Expand
  8. CamiiH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I absolutely adore this album! I is one of my favorite albums created by this glorious band. It is filled with the deep emotional impact of the world and the people in it. I rate this album a 10 because it is truly exquisite.
  9. JamesS
    Apr 27, 2009
    10
    An intricate album that manages to captivate even the unknown listner through its use of dark and melodic tones that propel the sound exerted from Hunter's, Adam's and Jade's instruments. In terms of Havok's vocal ability, this is definitely his magnum opus in regard to him exerting power. 10/10 in every regard.
  10. UnknownPerson
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    An album full of songs that will leve you wanting for more. The lyrics of these songs are dark and mysterious. Davey H's voice is AWES0ME.
  11. gk
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    This albumn captures all my deepest feelings in a way that is both poetic ans stark simultaneously. But it never gets too overdramatic or careless in its presentation. Despite some sharp negative criticism it is AFI's best album.
  12. NikoDay
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best album ever made. Its epic, grandeous, deep, and has everything an album needs. A heroic opener, fast upbeat songs, just enough/not overdone screaming, slow sad songs, punk songs, and every kind of song you need on an album. Davey's lyrics are amazing, with words ive never even heard heard of in every song, and his vocals hit places that make you want to melt. Hands down, the best album ever made. Its epic, grandeous, deep, and has everything an album needs. A heroic opener, fast upbeat songs, just enough/not overdone screaming, slow sad songs, punk songs, and every kind of song you need on an album. Davey's lyrics are amazing, with words ive never even heard heard of in every song, and his vocals hit places that make you want to melt. Hands down, the guy is a genius. Jade's guitar is flat out incredible, and it blends extremely well with Hunter's intricate basslines. I could go on and on and on but honestly, this is the most amazing album i have ever listened to and for all those old school AFI fans that hate musical maturity and progression, let go- grow up. 11/10 if i could. Expand
  13. SaphiraM
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of all time. AFI takes me places that I never thought possible. Davey Havok's lyrics and Jade Puget's music are nothing less then genius and legendary. The four members of AFI are all brilliant musicians and really have created music that has never been done before...this is new territory and it is exciting. Get the CD as fast as you can if you haven't My favorite album of all time. AFI takes me places that I never thought possible. Davey Havok's lyrics and Jade Puget's music are nothing less then genius and legendary. The four members of AFI are all brilliant musicians and really have created music that has never been done before...this is new territory and it is exciting. Get the CD as fast as you can if you haven't done so already. Expand
  14. AbelD
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This the magnum opus of AFI. The album is focused on one theme and is shown throughout the whole album. AFI's sound keeps in tune with their dark lyrics and focus, making the whole album weaved tightly together to create a musical trip for all the listeners.
  15. Jazza
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    So damn good!!! Loved every second of it
  16. AndrewF
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    In a word "brilliant". This Celluloid Dream and Paper Airplanes are personal favourites and were the two songs that got me hooked to AFI's music. December Underground was slightly disappointing but this album is pure genius.
  17. carmenf
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    silver and cold, the leaving song part I, dancing trough sunday and synesthesia are completly amazing. This is AFI greatest albumI
  18. RyanC
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Who are they? - Califorinain hardcore punk rock band. Any good? - Oh yes. There isn't a true shocker on the album, all listenable. Must hear. - Death Of Seasons is a really shouty, aggressive song, but is one of the highlights of Sing the Sorrow. My personal favourite. For fans of. -
  19. JohnT
    Sep 13, 2006
    7
    Alright, so this wasn't the best AFI album ever. But I feel that far too many people are being quite heavy-handed with criticism. Not only do I think that they have matured as musicians and finally found an outlet for their sound other than frantic punk, but it takes a lot of guts to put out an album like this when you know you will lose a lot of so called "hardcore" fans. I have Alright, so this wasn't the best AFI album ever. But I feel that far too many people are being quite heavy-handed with criticism. Not only do I think that they have matured as musicians and finally found an outlet for their sound other than frantic punk, but it takes a lot of guts to put out an album like this when you know you will lose a lot of so called "hardcore" fans. I have been listening to these guys since I was 13 and I'm now in my sophomore year of college. Decemberunderground was a huge disappointment, but I can't think of too many bad things to say about this album. And there were also many who felt that Havok's voice has grown too wussy, but I applaud him for finally using vocal technique that he has most likely had the whole time, it's a wonder he can still sing any more the way he has been thrashing his throat through all these years. 7 for me. Expand
  20. GaryA
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    What this record shows is that this band has gotten to the point they wanted to in there careers although many have said they sold out my opinion is whats wrong with wanting to be heard after all Blink 182,the Offspring And Green Day etc all did it and i believe progression is good because it's that or fading away
  21. toms
    May 25, 2005
    10
    the best punk band ever
  22. MattG
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    Great Album!!!! Can't stop playing it!
  23. Eichmann
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Best lyrics I have Ever read
  24. curefreak
    Jan 21, 2005
    2
    ugh i truly was looking forward to this cd but from the sound of things theyre appreciation of the gothic culture doesnt go very far, dark eyeliner and cure t shirts can only get you so far i expected this to be a half and half mixture of goth and punk what did i get? a lame ass punk whos singer sounds like he got racked in the balls with very very lightweight bits of goth rock for ugh i truly was looking forward to this cd but from the sound of things theyre appreciation of the gothic culture doesnt go very far, dark eyeliner and cure t shirts can only get you so far i expected this to be a half and half mixture of goth and punk what did i get? a lame ass punk whos singer sounds like he got racked in the balls with very very lightweight bits of goth rock for example like the cello that was buried way back in the background or calling there fan club the despair faction? get real the band would do better if they find a new singer seriously he cant sing and he writes some god awfull poetry, the only reason i gave it a two is for the hit song girls not grey unfort 90% of the record sounds exactly like that one song where i cant even remember wich one was the hit single Expand
  25. tylern
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    perfection is in sight for AFI. Sing the Sorrow is definately up to par with their past works (if not better)
  26. MikeM
    Dec 18, 2004
    9
    The only people that would rate this album below a eight are all those people who are all "oi" and want to keep AFI all their own and not let AFI get main stream. I agree that "Black Sails" was a great album and is 2nd in line to this album... but Sing the Sorrow is the album AFI has been destined to create. I don't get why punk rock fans hate good production. Rick Rubin really has a The only people that would rate this album below a eight are all those people who are all "oi" and want to keep AFI all their own and not let AFI get main stream. I agree that "Black Sails" was a great album and is 2nd in line to this album... but Sing the Sorrow is the album AFI has been destined to create. I don't get why punk rock fans hate good production. Rick Rubin really has a way for caputuring a bands full potential and at the same time still keeping the roots of their music. Amazing CD, one of the 2003's best. Expand
  27. horatioe
    Nov 12, 2004
    6
    Its got some good songs on it, but as a whole it is not even comprable to black sails in the sunset or the art of drowning. I hope they can follow it up with something a bit better.
  28. berth
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    best CD ever
  29. ErikL
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Without question, the best album of 03
  30. JustinNew
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    This CD is so awesome!!
  31. eds
    Aug 23, 2004
    10
    this cd rocks!!
  32. BrianS.
    Aug 18, 2004
    8
    I love old and new AFI about equally, but to be honest, this really isn't their best album. I enjoyed it, for the most part, but really I only found myself coming back to a few tracks. I'd recommend "The Art of Drowning" or "Answer That and Stay Fashionable" as your first CD, and for long-time fans, I'd recommend picking this up just because it's got some cool stuff on it.
  33. BastardDaughter
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Its about time there is something real to listen to, not all that pop. Best album all year! I can't wait to hear what they come out with next.
  34. IgorD
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    Found it an excellent album. Very enjoyable and unpredictable.
  35. AndyB
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    Catchy, but not predictable, AFI has earned the number one place in my CD changer. I love the lyrics (something sadly lacking from most bands these days) and love the structure of the songs. Talent, soul and a pure vision of the music are all found on Sing The Sorrow.
  36. AshleyL
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    I love this album it is the best..i just cant find any lyrics for it :( thats ok having the cd is better ! AFI ROCKS!!!!
  37. courtneya
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    this cd is the best dude i'm in love with davey he is such a hottie just a little advice guys keep up with the awesome songs and Davey don't cut your hair i love u guys
  38. michaelk
    Mar 7, 2004
    10
    hey hayley g you can get the lyrics at. www.lyricsspot.com
  39. hayleyg
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    this is the best cd in the world but i cant find the lyrics to the songs on the internet i wish i could find them
  40. Thors
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    i havnt come across anyone yet who doesnt like this cd. i played it for my old man and he was rockin out with me!!!! i cant wait to find out what they will come up with next.
  41. JeanF
    Feb 26, 2004
    9
    One of the best albums of last year by far. I love A Fire Inside!!!
  42. JakeM
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    This CD is by far the most kick ass CD i have ever heard
  43. danielj
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    greatest Cd ever
  44. Cherisaf
    Feb 14, 2004
    10
    AFI is worty of more than a 10!!! AFI's music brings out the best in Rock!!!!
  45. Someonelost
    Feb 6, 2004
    10
    this cd rocks its the best and fav song on it is silver and coldu should get the cd now !!!!!!!!!!!!!there the best
  46. heatherh
    Jan 17, 2004
    10
    sing the sorrow defines the true meaning of afi it dosnt get any better than sing the sorrow ROCK ON !!
  47. Emilio
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    i just got into rock and i like this album alot.fuck what others say about A.F.I. i like their music.
  48. DejaS
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    i really love this cd it is one of theirs i can keep on listening to anyway i have loved afi ever since 91 they kick A$$
  49. MichelleR
    Oct 11, 2003
    10
    I completely agree with the person who noted that anyone who doesn't rate it a 10 should rot in sucky-music hell. [Where they play *NSYNC all day, har.] AFI is definitly my favourite band. With rather haunting and creative lyrics, AFI is the most listened-to band at my school, by listener survey. Guaranteed worth the $17 dollar price at Wal-Mart.
  50. mercyr
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    I give this CD a 10 ,Why? you ask if you like all thire other cd's your going to like this and if you never heard of them if i was you i would go buy this cd and tell all of your friends about it this is the cd you want.If not then you don't know what your missing.
  51. RebeccaS
    Oct 5, 2003
    9
    This CD kicks butt, for real, it's pretty awesome good job guys!!
  52. kristinas
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    afi sing the sorrow is the best cd thes guys are great sing the sarrow is the best cd on the marrcit and i would by it any day.i love afi and im going to see them in concert. afi rocks
  53. ChelseaR
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    this cd is awesome AFI ROX!!!
  54. AndreaA
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    I LOVE this cd I love afi. Their lyrics are so deep.... I have been listenin to this cd non stop evre since i got it, wich was when if first came out. It's something you can never get tired of!!!!! AndreA
  55. Haley
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    I have loved everything that AFI has made, but this new CD shows that AFI is going to be around for a long time, it bring in some of the new elements of music but still keeps their own sound.
  56. FatSam
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    This has to be the best CD that they have ever put out. They havent forgotten there roots of hardcore and have adapted some really awesome sounds. My favourite since Black Sails In The Sunset.
  57. TylerD
    Sep 23, 2003
    10
    I love AFI and Sing the Sorrow is one of their greatest CD's!!!!!!!!!! I love every song on it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  58. katg
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    this cd is so awesome! i had never heard of afi before my friend bought sing the sorrow for me. i listen to it everyday and am obsessed with afi.
  59. bobmarley
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    A.F.I. Rox aSS
  60. BrittanyJ
    Sep 15, 2003
    10
    i only listen to country and my boyfriend gave me the cd to listen to and i love it. it is so great i would rate this and 11 but ya no how that goes.
  61. RickL
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    My favorite album since A Perfect Circle debut, sing the sorrow is top notch!!
  62. davey'slovequeen
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    this cd fuckin rocks!!!!!!! davey is sexy!!!!
  63. SavannahC
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    I worship AFI and this is there best cd yet. rareley do you find a cd in which you love every song on it. i am in love with every song on sing the sorrow,davey's voice is the greatest thing that has ever happened to me. AFI ROX!!!!!!!
  64. garrette
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    i would give it more but theres only 10 i love it i can relate to davy havok i really can afi rocks!!!!!!!!!!
  65. coreyd
    Sep 11, 2003
    10
    awsome just awsome nothing else to say
  66. alliwhatsittoya
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    It frickin' rox
  67. Nkoti
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    AFI SLAMS!!! Their cd is perfect.
  68. Mike
    Sep 9, 2003
    10
    I never heard of AFI before MTV2 played it and i didn't pay much attention until i just started humming it, and couldn't get it outta my head, Loved the album
  69. RobertH
    Aug 28, 2003
    10
    If u didn't love this cd the first time u listened to it then somethings wrong with u
  70. SamanthaK
    Aug 24, 2003
    10
    this is one of the best cds i have listen to in a long time. I LOVE IT!!!
  71. Kid
    Aug 23, 2003
    10
    Awesome CD, Daveys Voice is like heaven, and the lyrics are amazing...i loved this CD, and i recommend it to other people!
  72. codyp
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    they are just such a great band.and how I started to like them was becous my cousin was listining to you guys in the car and I just loved the cd and I saw a concert of you guys and it was probly the best time of my life
  73. joet
    Jul 22, 2003
    10
    it has good lyric along with a good beat
  74. KR
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    i loved it! it is a really cool gothic/rock cd. congrads to AFI for another awsom cd! keep making the kick ass music that we all love!
  75. TomB
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    This is the best punk album ever made. AFI is one of the most clever bands of this generation. This is a must buy for anyone who even remotely likes rock music!
  76. DulcieH
    Jul 4, 2003
    10
    Love the cd. it is softer then their others but still very good. i think everyone should buy this cd.
  77. JoeyE
    Jun 29, 2003
    7
    Not as good as anything from All Hallows EP through The Art of Drowning but still this is a great CD
  78. MitchellD
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    Most of the songs are good except some but overall this cd is the best i've heard from AFI!!!!
  79. meme
    Jun 5, 2003
    10
    this album is awesome!!! i love all of the songs!!
  80. AndrewE
    Jun 4, 2003
    5
    Mediocre and somewhat predictable. It's a decent album, but nothing really stands out. The whole cd just comes out as a pseudo-goth rock facade to draw in new and unaware funs unknowing how to hear true substance in music.
  81. ScottB
    May 26, 2003
    10
    First of all, whoever doesn't have this CD rated as a 10 has horrible taste in music. With that said lets get to it, Sing the Sorrow has been out for a full two months now, and I can't get enough of this CD. I've been a huge AFI for as long as I can remember, I was 8 when I bought my first AFI album. 8 years later and and four CDs later, I'm still in love with this First of all, whoever doesn't have this CD rated as a 10 has horrible taste in music. With that said lets get to it, Sing the Sorrow has been out for a full two months now, and I can't get enough of this CD. I've been a huge AFI for as long as I can remember, I was 8 when I bought my first AFI album. 8 years later and and four CDs later, I'm still in love with this band. Now I'm not gonna lie this CD is very mellow compared to anything AFI has done before, and in a way that kinda dissapointed me but in a way it was also very nice to be able to see the band make a smooth transition from hardcore punk to a more laid back almost poppish band. This CD is verymuch made for the mainstream scence out there, which sucks, but what can you do. Every song on this CD is awesome and each has its on unique sound. So even if you haven't heard of these guys or aren't even into these genre I Still sugest u go buy it, believe me you won't regret it, and 10 dollars isn't gonna kill ya Expand
  82. GLENNDANZIG
    May 19, 2003
    10
    This is an awsome band. They most definately entered my top ten list along with THE MISFITS, DANZIG, SOM, and RAMONES. AFI sing the sorrow is the LP that i believe will bring real punk back to life!!!!!
  83. JohnP
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    This album is so cool you guy's should make another one, I am a major fan of AFI.I had heard the cd but I don't have it yet.The song girls not grey was the best song out of all of them.I am also starting my own band I am going to name it shattered.
  84. Vanessssa
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    This cd fuckin roks...along with every other afi album
  85. HansR
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    they just keep on getting better.
  86. jasonh
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
    fucking rips
  87. zact
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
    First exposure to a band that I know has been around a long time. I kind of feel like all the people who got into Metallica when the Black album came out. I figured all of those people were posers, but now I guess I'm in the same boat with AFI. Looking forward to getting into their previous works, as this new album rocks. It's a little too produced in spots, though, so I'm First exposure to a band that I know has been around a long time. I kind of feel like all the people who got into Metallica when the Black album came out. I figured all of those people were posers, but now I guess I'm in the same boat with AFI. Looking forward to getting into their previous works, as this new album rocks. It's a little too produced in spots, though, so I'm anticipating their older stuff, as I've heard it's a little more raw and urgent. Expand
  88. GroverH
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
    AFI-Sing The Sorrow is the best CD in store right NOW..
  89. DanielD
    Apr 10, 2003
    10
    So far the best review comes from Daily Lobo - http://www.dailylobo.com/news/411600.html It is everything i wanna say but can't put to words ;) Enjoy.
  90. RobertM
    Apr 10, 2003
    10
    One of the best album's I have ever heard. It is by far AFI's best album.
  91. MarkL
    Apr 9, 2003
    10
    Awesome, just what a goth-punk-metal-rock record should be.
  92. ms
    Apr 9, 2003
    9
    This is a great album from top to bottom. AFI has matured ten-fold with Sing the Sorrow and Davey's vocals have never sounded better
  93. jessr
    Apr 8, 2003
    9
    This album is great to express your anger, and great for moshing
  94. jweezy
    Apr 7, 2003
    8
    A very good effort for their first big budget album. More intricate songwriting. However, it is a little soft in spots, Hunter's magnificent bass sylings are subdued and it simply needs another big fast song to complete it. Synesthesia should have made it on here from the B-sides. Great, yes, but not as great as Black Sails in the Sunset for pure energy.
  95. Jean-philippelejuif
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    I use to listen to old cd's of afi and they wrere great, but this one is a little diferent, but so much better...
  96. AubreyS
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    One of the best albums I have heard. The lyrics are completely unique and they show the deeper side of Havok's existence. We all knew it was there but this album just expresses and identifies what is truly inside. The melodies compliment the darkness of the lyrics and it all forms together to be one truly amazing album. I love it!
  97. sirir
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    good album!!!
  98. JoHarder
    Mar 31, 2003
    10
    This album is amazing. One of the best ones yet.
  99. floydc
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    This album is the best thing to come out of America ever. Havok's lyrics are inspired, and the melodies ans harmonies go hand in hand with the mastery of the guitar. Undoubtedly the best album in the world since maybe 40 Licks by the Rolling Stones.
  100. DK
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    Excellent CD.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    Sing The Sorrow soars with the kind of melodies hit singles are made of, yet it somehow persists with AFI's esoteric darkness. [Apr 2003, p.69]
  2. Blender
    60
    What's keeping the band from achieving a unique identity are Havok's generic whine and medoicre lyrics. [#15, p.120]
  3. A well-crafted mix of hardcore bluster, determined melody and anthemic grandness that boasts depth and texture rarely heard from the Warped Tour ilk.