Sing to the Moon - Laura Mvula
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 5, 2013
    10
    A stunning debut album from a new, young singer from the UK. Imagine a cross between Nina Simone, Bjork and the Beach Boys, but she might be too odd for some tastes.
    To these ears she sounds better than Amy or Adele. When I heard a few tracks early on I was mesmerized and then had to stop listening after a while because I couldn't get them out of my head. It's the voice, the tone, her use
    of space, and imaginative arrangements,instrumentation and subject matter. Expand
  2. May 18, 2013
    10
    The very first notes on thi album feel like a powerful invocation. The album's baroque, velvet textures and atmospheric ambiance perfectly complement the lush, smoky curls of Mvula's voice. But even more mesmerizing is the way this former choir director sublimely weaves her band mates' voices with her own, helping to make seven people sound like 70. Best debut of 2013, so far.
  3. May 10, 2014
    10
    For me it is definitely the best Pop hybrid album of the last 5 years. I can understand many people not liking this, due to its complete 360° twist on contemporary pop music, having different rhythms as only 4/4 (god I love her for that). Each track is sublime and moody and sad and happy and whatnot. But this album is not for inexperienced listeners, it's too complex for some. It's not an "easy-listening" album, and that's why I love it so much. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Laura Mvula has unleashed a truly stunning debut album, that is both emotional and adventurous. With calm, quiet songs like 'Father Father' or more agressive don't mess with me songs like 'That's Alright'. Sing to the Moon is a fine album indeed.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    89
    Sing to the Moon is a bold and beautiful debut: airy and dense, soul and jazz, dark and light. Head in the clouds, toes in the dirt.
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    Her immaculately crafted LP sounds like Jill Scott, Feist, Tune-Yards and a 1940s film score simultaneously cranking on a vintage gramophone.
  3. Jun 13, 2013
    30
    The formula that made "She" a success is replicated until it's been wrung dry of any emotion. [Jun-Jul 2013, p.94]