User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 137

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    It's a good album, certainly an evolution from Speakerboxx, but in may ways it's strangely homogeneous. I like it a lot, but there's no mind blowing tracks
  2. meh
    Aug 11, 2010
    5
    I didn't really feel this album. It wasn't a disappointment per se, but it didn't appeal to me. I was expecting much more from Big Boi. It is what it is.
  3. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty is one of the best rap albums of the year so far. His hit Shutterbug is stand out for sure, and along with others he has made himself a critically acclaimed album. His lyrics make sense and his beats are incredible and unique, I enjoyed this album a lot and am anticipating the next think Big Boi puts out.
  4. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I've been an Outkast fan for years. I always felt that an album with only Big Boi would disappoint. Speakerboxx didn't stand the test of time for me. I'm 100% confident this one well. I'm pleasantly surprised with what he has done here. I have listened to a lot of new music this year and this so far is my favorite album. I can't stop listening. It is great to see Organized NoiseI've been an Outkast fan for years. I always felt that an album with only Big Boi would disappoint. Speakerboxx didn't stand the test of time for me. I'm 100% confident this one well. I'm pleasantly surprised with what he has done here. I have listened to a lot of new music this year and this so far is my favorite album. I can't stop listening. It is great to see Organized Noise all over this one. Enjoy it folks. Totally worth it. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2010
    8
    It's not as great as people say it is. it's just a good hip hop album. it certainly isn't a masterpeice..by far a great album though. The Metacritic scores give people the idea that the album is great. It is but certainly not a masterpeice
  6. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    A entertaining album with some great tracks, produced to the highest standard and all unique to one-another. Big Boi is lyrically clever and has a tight flow on the whole as expected but disappointingly stoops to gangster-esque pretentiousness in a few lines of a few songs. I would highly recommend it to anybody that listens to rap.
  7. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    One of the best rap albums in a VERY long time.

    In an industry that focuses on simple, poppish garbage that emphasizes catchiness over quality, it is refreshing to hear half of the 'Kast deliver a stunning and fully accomplished solo album. Big Boi has delivered a monster that consists of irregular beats ranging from electro to classical that are laced with rapid fire rhymes from himself
    One of the best rap albums in a VERY long time.

    In an industry that focuses on simple, poppish garbage that emphasizes catchiness over quality, it is refreshing to hear half of the 'Kast deliver a stunning and fully accomplished solo album. Big Boi has delivered a monster that consists of irregular beats ranging from electro to classical that are laced with rapid fire rhymes from himself and worthy verses from guest spots.

    Although Andre 3000 is notably absent save for a track he produced, the album actually takes a much stronger stand. Big Boi has more room to express himself as an equally awesome musician. Taking it that way, Jive sort of gave a gift to Big Boi. Big OBi had been overshadowed long enough and finally gets his time to shine.

    Lyrically, Big Boi has improved miles-ahead of his previous material. He now pulls better punchlines and similes and metaphors than the simple gangsta-like rap he used to do. Even the people he chooses who from the outlook don't work well have each etched a significant place in the album. Gucci Mane usually is horrible, but he is the perfect fit on Shine Blockas. Jamie Foxx gives a soulful chorus full of pain and angst on a production by Lil Jon. Yes, the king of crunk.

    My only complaint (and this is a minor one) is that Big Boi's lyrical topics aren't varied and are solely braggadocio. Speakerboxxx featured some feel-good lyrics and some political rants. But nonetheless, Sir Lucious is a brilliant piece of work that is uncompromising and that chooses quality as the first priority.
    Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    3
    First. If you're an Outkast fan you need to throw out any memory or hope this album contains that magic. How do I describe this album? What is peanut butter without jelly? Good but not as good.

    The album is an absolute onslaught of trying to get as many tracks on the radio and club play. Any hip hop fan with integrity needs to stray away from this album. Is this why Andre left?
    First. If you're an Outkast fan you need to throw out any memory or hope this album contains that magic. How do I describe this album? What is peanut butter without jelly? Good but not as good.

    The album is an absolute onslaught of trying to get as many tracks on the radio and club play. Any hip hop fan with integrity needs to stray away from this album.

    Is this why Andre left? Because his former partner wanted to make something like this? I'm sure the stooges at MTV will think it's great. To me, nothing of substance on the album.
    Expand
  9. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This album is truly a masterpiece of modern times. It cleverly mixes fierce MC battle tracks (such as General Patton) with more mellow, soul-esque tracks (such as Turns Me On). All with some genuInely funny skits in between - a feat that is usually never achieved on hip-hop albums. 10/10
  10. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    To step out of the outkast franchise was surely a hard task for Big Boi,but on his first solo album I feel he does this very well with some exciting genre bending Hip-Hop. The major highlight is the single 'Shutterbugg' which sounds like Hip-Hop from some other galaxy. Other personal favourites for me are 'Daddy Fat Sax' for full on hip hop and 'Turns Me On' which is a bit more funkyTo step out of the outkast franchise was surely a hard task for Big Boi,but on his first solo album I feel he does this very well with some exciting genre bending Hip-Hop. The major highlight is the single 'Shutterbugg' which sounds like Hip-Hop from some other galaxy. Other personal favourites for me are 'Daddy Fat Sax' for full on hip hop and 'Turns Me On' which is a bit more funky then anything else on offer. Well worth a purchase, this could well become a classic album with reflection in a few years time. Expand
  11. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    Best Hip-Hop Album of the Year so far. It could had been the Best Album of The Year is The Arch Android did not exist. BIg Boi really displays his lyrical ability to progress as a solo artist without his affiliate Andre 3000. Also, he has a good ear for funky, soulful beats, which make the album sound very cohesive. The listener will surely appreciate everything this album has to offer.
  12. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    A very original album which incorporates several genres to make one unique and memorable track after the next. Considering Big Boi's track record, this should come as no surprise. I've listened to this album about two dozen times and I'm still enjoying it as much as I did on my initial listen. Great stuff! 10/10
  13. Aug 27, 2010
    8
    Not that I listen to a lot of rap or hip-hop music, but this album is a really fun to play loud on your stereo. Being a long time listener to Oukast, there was a a feeling of intrigue about this album, and after giving it a listen, or two, or three, it's in my top ten list for the year. "General Patton" is a personal fav, but there are many songs on this album that people have come to meNot that I listen to a lot of rap or hip-hop music, but this album is a really fun to play loud on your stereo. Being a long time listener to Oukast, there was a a feeling of intrigue about this album, and after giving it a listen, or two, or three, it's in my top ten list for the year. "General Patton" is a personal fav, but there are many songs on this album that people have come to me and said I should change my mind. Expand
  14. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Cool, inventive, eccentric and powerful, this is the hip-hop album of the year or maybe it might be the album of the year. It retains Outkast's eccentricity and genre clashing tendencies but it completely launches Big Boi out of the Outkast area by being a completely fresh listen with creatively layered sounds and Big Boi's smart lyricism with an offbeat rhyming style and delivery.
  15. Sep 11, 2010
    3
    If you long for the days of ATliens, Aquemini, and Stankonia, don't waste your time with this rubbish. Another sad release by a previously fantastic artist trying to jump the shark into "modern" hip hop/rap. Even Reakwon couldn't save this album. I was excited to read somewhere that Organized Noize was doing some tracks, but maybe I am just hopefull of a Outkast return to form someday.If you long for the days of ATliens, Aquemini, and Stankonia, don't waste your time with this rubbish. Another sad release by a previously fantastic artist trying to jump the shark into "modern" hip hop/rap. Even Reakwon couldn't save this album. I was excited to read somewhere that Organized Noize was doing some tracks, but maybe I am just hopefull of a Outkast return to form someday. Unfortunately, this is not it. On the plus side, it is still better than 75% of the other hip-hop garbage that is churned out these days. Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    It's not on the level of Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik, ATLiens or Aquemini but still is one of the best hip hop albums of 2010. The album is original and fresh sounding. 9/10
  17. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    The closest comparison for this albums would be a better version of B.o.B's "Adventures of Bobby Ray." It's not a class album, but it's very good, and has no weak tracks albeit there are no excellent ones either
  18. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    HIP HOP-GENIUS: Daddy Fat Sax is as intelligent a producer as much as he is a producer.
    A seminal masterpiece that I just can't stop myself from repeating over and over. The Train pt 2 sounds like it comes from the future and has the very sexiest of guitar riffs and alien ryhtyms. For me, the best album of the year. Owns the likes of Kanye Wests Fantasy album which sounds cheap and slow
    HIP HOP-GENIUS: Daddy Fat Sax is as intelligent a producer as much as he is a producer.
    A seminal masterpiece that I just can't stop myself from repeating over and over. The Train pt 2 sounds like it comes from the future and has the very sexiest of guitar riffs and alien ryhtyms. For me, the best album of the year. Owns the likes of Kanye Wests Fantasy album which sounds cheap and slow and just a little bit dumb in comparison with this.
    Expand
  19. Apr 26, 2011
    8
    Now This is a solid Hip-Hop album. Big Boi knows how to rap, and his talents are complimented by some great beats (I found "General Patton" to be particularly great), just a solid album. Only a couple of problems haunted it. Some songs stick out much more than others (That's more production wise than anything, nothing attributed to Big Boi's performance). Also, I have a personal hatred ofNow This is a solid Hip-Hop album. Big Boi knows how to rap, and his talents are complimented by some great beats (I found "General Patton" to be particularly great), just a solid album. Only a couple of problems haunted it. Some songs stick out much more than others (That's more production wise than anything, nothing attributed to Big Boi's performance). Also, I have a personal hatred of sketches in music, and the fact I have to listen through many (albeit short) sketches before songs begin is a little obnoxious. Other than that, a solid album Expand
  20. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    An awesome original and unique album by Big Boi. This is of the better hip hop albums to come out in past years. Big Boi does a grate job of bringing his own vibe to this album. If you like hip hop get this cd.
  21. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    This is the most polished album from Outkast since Aquemini - yes, it's obviously missing Andre, but it has that same dirty south hip hop tradition they both spearheaded and perfected. And now it's stronger and harder-hitting than ever - the production is insanely catchy and yet complex, and there are only 2 tracks I skip over because they're not my style (Your DJ... and Follow Us areThis is the most polished album from Outkast since Aquemini - yes, it's obviously missing Andre, but it has that same dirty south hip hop tradition they both spearheaded and perfected. And now it's stronger and harder-hitting than ever - the production is insanely catchy and yet complex, and there are only 2 tracks I skip over because they're not my style (Your DJ... and Follow Us are kinda weak, though not bad). Seeing as I'm the most picky music listener I know, that's quite a feat for any CD. The music and rhymes from Big Boi show him to be both a pro musician AND rapper who just loves doing what he does. That's an awesome combination, and he's come a long way since his ATLiens days. You'll be bumping this one 6 months after you buy it, and Big Boi is a musician whose music deserves to be bought, because it's truly a crime not to support music this good with your money. Expand
  22. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    What an amazing piece of hip hop history. Big Boi shows us he still knows exactly what the hell he's doing, and commands attention. This guy does hip hop like miles davis does jazz. Intelegent and witty lyrics, perfect beats, and just purely enjoyable songs. Awesome for parties, but the depth of this album runs deep enough that you don't get sick of the songs, and you will findWhat an amazing piece of hip hop history. Big Boi shows us he still knows exactly what the hell he's doing, and commands attention. This guy does hip hop like miles davis does jazz. Intelegent and witty lyrics, perfect beats, and just purely enjoyable songs. Awesome for parties, but the depth of this album runs deep enough that you don't get sick of the songs, and you will find yourself listening to them outside of the party too. One of the catchiest albums that I don't mind being stuck in my head at all. Expand
  23. May 15, 2011
    8
    good album by big boi it was good. i liked this very much. it was creative. and it had a few good songs. good solo album by him. good music and the rapping wasn't that bad
  24. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    An incredible album imo, You get some of the best songs of the decade,so far. Shine Blockas is an instant classic, just bought this album, I had the songs downloaded, but I decided to buy it because it was that good. Best album of the decade so far.
  25. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    I like the experimental nature of this album-something I do not think BigBoi has done too much of in the past. And, his rhyming skill is still top notch. Being such a big Outkast fan make this hard to write-but this album is garbage. There isn't more than two songs I like on this toilet paper. Even recruiting some guests on it doesn't make it something I'd want. Clearly Andre 3000 agreedI like the experimental nature of this album-something I do not think BigBoi has done too much of in the past. And, his rhyming skill is still top notch. Being such a big Outkast fan make this hard to write-but this album is garbage. There isn't more than two songs I like on this toilet paper. Even recruiting some guests on it doesn't make it something I'd want. Clearly Andre 3000 agreed cuz' he refused appearance on it. Collapse
  26. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    I'd rate this album in the top 3 hip hop albums of 2010 (along with The Roots "How I Got Over" and Kanye's "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy"). Big Boi stays true to his Southern Playalistic style without losing an ounce of relevance. From the lowrider-bumpin' intro "Feel Me" to the college band drum-laced "Backup Plan," Sir Lucious never misses a beat. Highlights include "Fo YoI'd rate this album in the top 3 hip hop albums of 2010 (along with The Roots "How I Got Over" and Kanye's "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy"). Big Boi stays true to his Southern Playalistic style without losing an ounce of relevance. From the lowrider-bumpin' intro "Feel Me" to the college band drum-laced "Backup Plan," Sir Lucious never misses a beat. Highlights include "Fo Yo Sorrows", "Night Night", "You Ain't No DJ" and "Backup Plan". Expand
  27. Jul 18, 2014
    8
    Big Boi proves he's not simply a sidekick to André 3000 on this album. I'm not quite as high on it as most people are, though. It's heavily populated with guest artists, and came off as slightly repetitive content-wise. Regardless, Big Boi's lyricism is far too prevalent to continue nitpicking over details. This is a great album. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Shutterbugg": The production is
    Big Boi proves he's not simply a sidekick to André 3000 on this album. I'm not quite as high on it as most people are, though. It's heavily populated with guest artists, and came off as slightly repetitive content-wise. Regardless, Big Boi's lyricism is far too prevalent to continue nitpicking over details. This is a great album. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Shutterbugg": The production is soooooooooooo good, courtesy of Scott Storch.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. A succession of enjoyable songs with plenty to offer.
  2. Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty isn't just an expertly produced and performed slab of brilliantly odd, futuristic dance music. It isn't just the best rap album of the year so far.
  3. 80
    Big Boi's absurd--and absurdly dextrous--verbiage knits it all together handsomely. [Sep 2010, p.85]