Sistrionix - Deap Vally
Sistrionix Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the Los Angeles-based rock duo of Lindsey Troy and Julie Edwards was produced by Lars Stalfors.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    It’s immediate and hard-hitting in the same way as blues rock.
  2. Sistrionix is a hugely enlivening 41 minutes of deliciously distorted vocals, instantly memorable fuzz-up guitar riffs, handclap breakdowns, and vicious put-downs of cheating lovers and sleazebags.
  3. 80
    It’s a bit of a tightrope walk for any female rock stars though, retaining femininity while cranking up the amps and pushing the blues rock envelope right to the edge of the table, but Deap Vally sound and look like they know exactly what they’re about.
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    With crisp cymbals, heavy guitars and gritty rock ‘n’ roll vocals, this album was meant for a pre-party party.
  5. 60
    While the record is still enjoyable, particularly due to a strain of riot grrrl-infused audacity and vociferous demands for respect, the sonics fail to achieve much progress and rely far too often on tried-and-true riffs and structures.
  6. 60
    The stumbling block is that too many songs here never develop pasta dino-stomp riff, and that the vocals can be a little shrill. [Summer 2013, p.89]
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    Mostly, though, the music on Sistrionix is plain bad.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 22, 2014
    Well, it is rough unadulterated Rock'n'Roll. So what's not to love.
    It is not complex, it is not symphonic songwriting, if you like that, you
    find it elsewhere.
    But, if you love honest Rock'n'Roll that screams, sweats and oozes of sexiness: Don't look further, let the music take you there!
  2. Sep 10, 2013

    I gave it 7.5 on here but I'm bumping it down to 7.

    the whole Sistronix is a thrilling album. While it may lack a little variety, the record showcases Deap Vally's distinct attitude and style of music. A good debut. 7.5' Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    It is hard to chew every song from Deap Vally's "Sistrionix". However, songs like 'End of the World', 'Lies', and 'Six Feet Under' are worth a listen. Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    They are an interesting concept band, but little else. The sound wears thin after six tracks and you kind of don't care after that where they go................................................................ Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    “Hate, is a parasite”, and this album is also slightly parasitical, but not in a good way. Opener “End of the World” is powerful, it presents us with Deap Vally’s Californian scuzzy garage blues, that just so happens to have well done production and is far from low-fi, even though the fuzziness of the guitars calls out for it.

    It’s from here, where the album goes downhill, and only occasionally takes a break to catch it’s breath. “Baby I Call Hell”, is too cheesy for me to bear, and I don’t even find it funny cheesy. And “Walk of Shame” sounds like a shameless rip-off of The White Stripes and The Black Belles. That’s what Deap Vally are though, they are an unsatisfying blend of music and bands you have heard before.

    “Gonna Make My Own Money” is good, it’s still the strong single it was when it was released, but can’t make up for it surrounding blandness that is “Creeplife” and “Your Love”, despite on the former vocalist Lindsey Troy channels some Karen O and the later beginning with a raw un-produced and untouched drum track.

    “Bad for my Body” has a fairly strong chorus, but a really weak verse, that shows the lost potential of this band in their debut album. “Woman of Intention” starts of really great, a fuzzier Blood Red Shoes but looses itself in bad blues. But again, the chorus is strong, and I just wish the girls change this on their next outing.

    “Six Feet Under” closes the album, and album that feels like a heavy shopping bag filled with primarily cheap food with the occasional expensive choice because you wanted a treat. Yet, “Six Feet Under” comes close to redeeming the drab. It’s long and tasty, the vocals actually work here, the backing vocals work, everything here is solid and I can’t believe it sits on the same album, this feels like where Deap Vally are headed, and they’re already there.

    Overall the album is weak, but it shines in various places, especially in “Six Feet Under”.