Six Cups of Rebel


Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    Six Cups of Rebel is chock-full of the kind of bizarre, cartoonish, sci-fi lunacy and cheekily maximalist, gonzo musical odysseys they've made their stock-in-trade.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    Points for trying something new, but it's hard to disagree with Lindstrøm's own assessment of the record as something of an experimental misfire.
  3. There are good ideas scattered about on the record, but when you have to pass through several minutes of cacophonous effects and layers of sound, it can get a little exhausting.
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    So many of the risks taken are either unevocative or plain annoying, particularly when the tracks are structured with so little sense of development.
  5. Feb 8, 2012
    [A] rock-inspired electro-alien world that Lindstrøm has carefully crafted.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    The record's understandable missteps are minor in comparison to its joyful evocations, and though Lindstrøm seems to be attempting to approach new territory, he does it in considerate measures and comes away with something that still makes perfect sense.
  7. 30
    [A] superficial lack of organization and purpose.
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    Six Cups is a busy, urgent and joyous trip that sidesteps categorization, a feat unto itself in field where new micro-genres are described every few months.
  9. Feb 10, 2012
    Six Cups is a "fun" record, sounding less serious in melody and experimentation than Lindstrøm's previous work, but it was undoubtedly crafted with the intentions of being taken equally seriously
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    While the final result may be uneven in places, if you leave your inhibitions at the airlock you're guaranteed an enjoyable ride.
  11. Feb 10, 2012
    Six Cups of Rebel isn't bad, but it is heavy-handed--and nowhere near his strongest.
  12. Feb 10, 2012
    It's imaginative and endlessly intriguing.
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    He doesn't ever disappear too far up his backside, instead keeping an attentive ear on what his devotees might still want to hear.
  14. Feb 15, 2012
    There may be some great ideas on here amongst the mis-steps, but without any suspense, it is difficult to tell.
  15. Feb 9, 2012
    The noxious muck on evidence here obscures most of what made his past music so singular.
  16. Mar 9, 2012
    When [the album] is all over the lingering echoes are of dizziness and disappointment.
  17. Feb 13, 2012
    The outright space exploration of Lindstrøm's previous musical outings is sometimes lost here. His dancefloor is fun, but its been grounded this year.
  18. Feb 7, 2012
    More color than meaning, but seductive enough to lure you in and keep you there.
  19. Feb 21, 2012
    Synth-driven grooves that feel communal and cosmic at the same time.
  20. Feb 7, 2012
    Six Cups seems determined to resurrect the bad decisions of pop's past.
  21. The Wire
    Feb 17, 2012
    You can practically hear Lindstrom reaching for his wizard hat and robes at times, but equally Six Hats is right on time, digging into similar disposable digitalisms to James Ferraro's Far Side Virtual, all without bursting that disco bubble. [Feb 2012, p.61]
  22. Uncut
    Feb 8, 2012
    At times, as on "De Javu," it's a dazzling new dimension, but some may await his return to more conventional zones. [Mar 2012, p.90]
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    Hans-Peter Lindstrom widely known as simply Lindstrom has just released his second studio album. "Six Cups of Rebel" is seven-track, more thanHans-Peter Lindstrom widely known as simply Lindstrom has just released his second studio album. "Six Cups of Rebel" is seven-track, more than hour journey into the world of electronic sounds reminding old computers and various machines for playing like a "one-armed bandit." The whole shell has taken an experimental cosmic overtones, and that's a pity that in the album could hardly be distinguished only one song - "Hina" - and that, also with a certain reluctance. Full Review »