Sixes & Sevens

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Sixes & Sevens is a disjointed conglomeration of different ramblings that can't quite coalesce around any sort of idea.
  2. Uncut
    60
    Green's songs are memorable and his subtle orchestrations effective, while his lovely, burnished, Dean Martin-ish baritone voice glues it all together. [Apr 2008, p.90]
  3. Alternative Press
    60
    Nothing on Sixes & Sevens quite lives up to the giddy brillance of the "Juno" soundtrack, but the music will still inspire you to draw hearts around your crush's name in your fifth-period notebook. [May 2008, p.134]
  4. Sixes & Sevens feels more like movie-hopping at an art-house multiplex, an exercise in genre formats and stolen identities.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    He hits a campy sweet spot from time to time, but at a seemingly endless 20-track length, this is one tiresome gag. [21 Mar 2008, p.57]
  6. If not entirely out of gas, Green certainly seems to be having trouble shifting gear.
  7. 50
    The erstwhile Moldy Peaches wears out his welcome at 20 tracks, each one unrelated to the last and haphazardly abandoned around the one-and-a-half minute mark. [Apr 2008, p.98]
  8. Mojo
    40
    Green writes with a compulsive frequency, like an office joker cracking funnies. And after 20 of his songs, the appeal wanes in not dissimilar fashion. [Apr 2008, p.114]
  9. Q Magazine
    40
    It's always catchy, but all 20 tracks are so short everything feels throwaway, and the free-association lyrics go from amusing to aggravating in an instant. [Apr 2008, p.107]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. PhilippeJ.
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    What an artist! And his voice, breathtaking!
  2. KaneS.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    Great voice, great lyrics.
  3. JamesG.
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    I'm kind of surprised the reviews are so negative. I've really been enjoying this album quite a bit since it's release. I'm kind of surprised the reviews are so negative. I've really been enjoying this album quite a bit since it's release. Definitely Green's best, from that that I've heard. Full Review »