Sixes & Sevens

Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Sixes & Sevens is a disjointed conglomeration of different ramblings that can't quite coalesce around any sort of idea.
  2. Alternative Press
    60
    Nothing on Sixes & Sevens quite lives up to the giddy brillance of the "Juno" soundtrack, but the music will still inspire you to draw hearts around your crush's name in your fifth-period notebook. [May 2008, p.134]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    He hits a campy sweet spot from time to time, but at a seemingly endless 20-track length, this is one tiresome gag. [21 Mar 2008, p.57]
  4. If not entirely out of gas, Green certainly seems to be having trouble shifting gear.
  5. Mojo
    40
    Green writes with a compulsive frequency, like an office joker cracking funnies. And after 20 of his songs, the appeal wanes in not dissimilar fashion. [Apr 2008, p.114]
  6. Sixes & Sevens feels more like movie-hopping at an art-house multiplex, an exercise in genre formats and stolen identities.
  7. Q Magazine
    40
    It's always catchy, but all 20 tracks are so short everything feels throwaway, and the free-association lyrics go from amusing to aggravating in an instant. [Apr 2008, p.107]
  8. 50
    The erstwhile Moldy Peaches wears out his welcome at 20 tracks, each one unrelated to the last and haphazardly abandoned around the one-and-a-half minute mark. [Apr 2008, p.98]
  9. Uncut
    60
    Green's songs are memorable and his subtle orchestrations effective, while his lovely, burnished, Dean Martin-ish baritone voice glues it all together. [Apr 2008, p.90]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. PhilippeJ.
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    What an artist! And his voice, breathtaking!
  2. KaneS.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    Great voice, great lyrics.
  3. JamesG.
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    I'm kind of surprised the reviews are so negative. I've really been enjoying this album quite a bit since it's release. I'm kind of surprised the reviews are so negative. I've really been enjoying this album quite a bit since it's release. Definitely Green's best, from that that I've heard. Full Review »