Size Matters

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. F4b
    Jul 2, 2005
    8
    Why the hell critics are so bad?!?! Sure this is not Strap It On but is a nice and catchy return of one of the most influential band of the 90s.
  2. DanW
    Oct 16, 2005
    8
    I think the critics are looking at the sound of the album back to front i.e. they're looking all the whole influx of Helemt influed bands that emerged and then saying "hey the new Helemt records sounds like those guys and, so it's a tired sound"....HELMET INVENTED THAT SOUNDS YOU GOONS!!!!! I think the intention of the new material is to not be 'anti melody' as some of I think the critics are looking at the sound of the album back to front i.e. they're looking all the whole influx of Helemt influed bands that emerged and then saying "hey the new Helemt records sounds like those guys and, so it's a tired sound"....HELMET INVENTED THAT SOUNDS YOU GOONS!!!!! I think the intention of the new material is to not be 'anti melody' as some of the earlier stuff perhaps was, but to combine 'old Helmet' - intensley spiky rythmns etc - with a natural band evolution (as someone Pat l rightly points outs) towards the sound that exist now. Expand
  3. michaeld
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    I'm a long time Helmet fan and I think that this is a great, but minimal, agressive album. Never listen to what the critics say. Page Hamilton will still kick all of their asses.
  4. giovannig
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    I don't get these critics.. Awesome album by this great band. It's raw, has great melodies and it's heavy in the same Helmet way. Well, a critic is a personal thought, so here is mine.
  5. patl
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    it's band evolution, helmet sound with the right melody.
  6. TomP
    Oct 9, 2006
    3
    I really really wanted to like this one. I was sadden that they broke up after Aftertaste and joyful when I heard they were back together. For me, Aftertaste is an amazing CD. Size Matters is purely generic. Nothing special. After several rotations only the first song stands out at all and it would be a B side for any of their other CDs. So, pass very quickly. Stick with Meantime and I really really wanted to like this one. I was sadden that they broke up after Aftertaste and joyful when I heard they were back together. For me, Aftertaste is an amazing CD. Size Matters is purely generic. Nothing special. After several rotations only the first song stands out at all and it would be a B side for any of their other CDs. So, pass very quickly. Stick with Meantime and Aftertaste and be thankful that Helmet gave metal 2 top tier CDs to worship. Expand
  7. sanfordb
    Nov 6, 2004
    8
    i think this is a great album. it doesn't sound much like helmet's earlier material. it's closer to aftertaste. this album sounds like it has a real failure influence. i like it a lot. i can understand why so many fans don't like it because it doesn't sound like meantime, but bands are supposed to change, right? it's a great heavy but melodic album, and i i think this is a great album. it doesn't sound much like helmet's earlier material. it's closer to aftertaste. this album sounds like it has a real failure influence. i like it a lot. i can understand why so many fans don't like it because it doesn't sound like meantime, but bands are supposed to change, right? it's a great heavy but melodic album, and i think it's one of the best albums of the year, so far. Expand
  8. Marc-O.N
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    Kicking and aggressive opening track followed by another intense song then a couple of pretty enjoyable tracks!
  9. RonE
    Dec 1, 2005
    6
    This album is OK, but it sounds familiar in spots. "Last Breath" recalls "Insatiable". "Surgery" sounds like "Speechless". Page puts two tracks from his recent band, Gandhi, on Size Matters: "Enemies" and "Everybody Loves You" (the Japanese edition of SM has two bonus tracks which are also from Gandhi, "Black Light" and "Just Like Me", which only leaves "Money Shot" unaccounted for). The This album is OK, but it sounds familiar in spots. "Last Breath" recalls "Insatiable". "Surgery" sounds like "Speechless". Page puts two tracks from his recent band, Gandhi, on Size Matters: "Enemies" and "Everybody Loves You" (the Japanese edition of SM has two bonus tracks which are also from Gandhi, "Black Light" and "Just Like Me", which only leaves "Money Shot" unaccounted for). The rest is uneven, and i blame the drummer, who is extremely unimaginative and makes me desperately yearn for John Stanier's layered and pitiless percussion. Gandhi was very promising, and this new version of Helmet makes me wish Page Hamilton had just stuck with that band. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. The overall sound is a bit too polished and loses some of the raw power edge that previous albums rode to critical success.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    An occasionally catchy but ultimately bland attempt at recapturing past glory. [8 Oct 2004, p.114]
  3. Q Magazine
    40
    A disappointing barrage of lethargic metal. [Dec 2004, p.137]