• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Sketches from the Book of the Dead Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Australian artist releases his first solo album since leaving the Bad Seeds.
  • Record Label: Mute
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. May 4, 2011
    Harvey's music has never been more self-assured than it is here, and this album marks the dawn of a new era for him as an artist.
  2. May 11, 2011
    The primary question that you are left asking is why it's taken a man with so much talent so long to release his solo debut? Fortunately there is enough worth and intrigue within this record to keep you occupied until the next one, if there is one.
  3. May 13, 2011
    Inspired by the memory of departed friends, it sits midway between Cave's grand guignol, and the sweet hurt of Robert Forster. [Jun 2011, p.85]
  4. May 11, 2011
    It's a tantalizing glimpse of how great solo Harvey can be, but unfortunately, a good deal of the rest of the album is simply unmemorable.
  5. May 18, 2011
    Harvey's softly purring voice hardly leaps from the speakers, but his identity is stamped strikingly on Rhymeless, with its malevolent appropriation of "all the songs you never sang to your little ones." [Jun 2011, p.103]
  6. May 4, 2011
    What we're left with is a sincere, patiently crafted musical statement that is high on atmosphere but rather hard work.
  7. Sadly, a lack of focus in melody and structure means it's not quite as atmospheric as Mick seems to think.

See all 10 Critic Reviews