Slash - Slash
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    4
    Great guitar play and Slash should be proud of the effort.

    What it makes me think of? How good would this album be with a lyricist that fits Slash's style.

    Slash go find a way to make it work with your former lead singer...not named Weiland
  2. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Great album. Not revolutionary or innovative, but By the sword written by my favorite guitarists and my favorite...Musician (andrew stockdale) Is genious. Slash and fergie was a great combination along with Ozzy, the concept of the albumwas cool too.
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    At first I found the album a little too 'pop' for my liking, especially coming from the former guitar player of Guns N' Roses. But Slash is still an excellent and well crafted album. The varying singers works well enough for the most part and Slash seems to fit in well with them throughout. 'Saint is a Sinner Too' can be skipped over, though.
  4. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Great album. Solid, and not a whole lot like this coming out lately. Also, love Mayfield Four.
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Awesome album - every track is winner. It's great to hear Ozzy back on form with Crucify the Dead, his previous albums have been off the mark for me, but this sounds like the Ozzmosis era. Some more great tracks featuring Ian Astbury and some surprisingly good stuff featuring Fergie (I'm not a fan of the Black Eyed Peas), she's got a fantastic voice when put to good use! Slash's distinctive licks pull it all together and breathe life through it with his own unique sound.

    For someone who's grown up through 90's rock, this stuff is superb. You don't really get this sound any more, and for me it's spot on. How it reviewed critically as poorly as it did, I have no idea. I guess it's not contemporary enough for today's critics, but for me this sound never gets old.
    Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    For me Slash was already a hero. But when i started listing at this.. I think this is the best thing Slash did in the music world. to bad there are songs i dislike like Gotten and We're All Gonna Die. But playing with all these artists and making such great music was some kind of reborn of Slash. Hopefully the new album will be like this great album
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The result is disjointed but fun--and way more entertaining than Chinese Democracy. [Jun 2010, p.131]
  2. 60
    Thankfully Slash doesn't lack guts, tunes, potent solos or giant-slaying riffage. [May 2010, p. 92]
  3. Slash shoots a little too wide for its own good, but the album showcases him as the guitar hero we've always known and as the songwriter we probably haven't appreciated enough.