Slave Ambient - The War on Drugs
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Hopefully Slave Ambient will do for The War On Drugs what Smoke Ring For My Halo did for Kurt Vile and place Adam Granduciel as one of the musicians with serious talent and songwriting acumen in modern indie rock.
  2. Aug 16, 2011
    90
    Once again, The War on Drugs have crafted an album of the year, built not upon flash or novelty, but a new take on traditional rock and roll that is always pushing forward.
  3. Aug 15, 2011
    90
    Slave Ambient is an amazing record, but it is far from immediate as these songs take time to develop into something tangible.
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    83
    The really amazing thing about the album is how anthemic and affirming it feels despite the near total absence of proper sing-along choruses.
  5. Aug 9, 2011
    90
    Slave Ambient is the work of a band making us listen for every piece of them.
  6. Aug 16, 2011
    91
    Slave Ambient doesn't recall the past so much as a bright, unexpected future, where bands like this inexplicably are still dreaming in new, refreshingly outsized ways.
  7. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Whilst it may lack the game-changing originality of other big 2011 releases, the record spans half a century of musical history more effectively than any other in recent memory.
  8. Aug 18, 2011
    100
    Something's happening wherever you turn on tracks that are dense with detail and brilliant accumulations of incident, but never overwrought or too busy, sheer grace their common link. [Sep 2011, p.80]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    A lot of great bands have put out records this year. This album is hands down, my favorite! If you are a fan of Kurt Vile, I can't see you not adoring this. It's very different yet you can tell they have played together for several years and their influences rub off on each other in so many different and amazing ways! Fantastic band puts out a fantastic record! Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2011
    8
    Well, all i can say is that they are the new Stone Roses. How great is that? I say it is very great to experience experimental grooves that are so well mixed-up and with a purpose. Full Review »
  3. j30
    Nov 23, 2011
    8
    This record kind of reminds me of Urban Hymes by the Verve, without the catchy grooves. Being catchy doesn't necessarily mean it's bad or good. In this case, it's very good. Full Review »