User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 49
  2. Negative: 8 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MVV
    Feb 15, 2008
    7
    Overall, it's a nice listen. If this would be his first album, it would probably be getting good (if not smashing) revues. But that's not the case, being that there are 4 other Jack Johnson albums, that sound exactly the same as this one. The hype around this album was that Johnson had plugged in the electric for a change, but that sounds are still not as fresh as one would Overall, it's a nice listen. If this would be his first album, it would probably be getting good (if not smashing) revues. But that's not the case, being that there are 4 other Jack Johnson albums, that sound exactly the same as this one. The hype around this album was that Johnson had plugged in the electric for a change, but that sounds are still not as fresh as one would hope. "The actors are different but the plot is still the same" . Some decent cuts though, such as album opener "All at once". Expand
  2. NicoR.
    Feb 9, 2008
    9
    I have all of the Jack Cd's and mixtapes he has created throughout his career. This one despite some reviews claiming otherwise is much different. Its not completely dark, doom and gloom, but he addresses some more serious issues in Sleep Through the Static, All at Once, and They Do They Don't. Although songs such as Monsoon (my personal favorite), Angel, and Same Girl bring I have all of the Jack Cd's and mixtapes he has created throughout his career. This one despite some reviews claiming otherwise is much different. Its not completely dark, doom and gloom, but he addresses some more serious issues in Sleep Through the Static, All at Once, and They Do They Don't. Although songs such as Monsoon (my personal favorite), Angel, and Same Girl bring Jack's natural sound which has made him famous. The more upbeat songs of the album includes songs such as If I Had Eyes, Go On (which is a song I feel about his song which has a strong meaning), What You Thought You Need, and Hope. Sleep Through the Static gives you many variations of the newer sound Jack created, but also leaves pieces of his old brilliance mixed in. This record will be on that sounds just good at first listen, but the more you play the songs the more it becomes a complete album of songs you will be listening to for a long time. I would encourage anyone who has interest in Jack Johnson or just good music to go pick up a copy and listen to it, more than ONCE. Expand
  3. MM.
    Mar 1, 2008
    3
    Trite lyrics? Check. Average-at-best musicianship? Check. An artist who fails to grow at all and keeps trying to make the same album over and over and over again? Check. If you guessed Jack Johnson, you'd be correct. Here's another yawner from the aforementioned singer/songwriter. You lost me from track one buddy.
  4. JeremyT.
    Mar 6, 2008
    8
    The album is a good listen, and unlike his other albums there isn't a song that completely bothers me, unlike his other albums. on the other hand, there isn't a song that really catches me right off the bat. thus, the album as a whole is better, but the individual songs aren't as catchy or poppy.
  5. DiandraC.
    Jun 3, 2008
    3
    I miss Jack's old laid back feel. These songs are overly dramatic and not him.
  6. NickG
    Feb 17, 2008
    6
    First time through I thought it wasn't too bad. The more I listen to it the more I can tell his music is changing. Listen to Brushfire Fairytales and then listen to Static. Sounds like a lot of the Animal Liberation Orchestra has been incorporated into this new album. Maybe a bit too much influence from ALO. (two of jacks band members are members of ALO). Brushfire Fairytales is First time through I thought it wasn't too bad. The more I listen to it the more I can tell his music is changing. Listen to Brushfire Fairytales and then listen to Static. Sounds like a lot of the Animal Liberation Orchestra has been incorporated into this new album. Maybe a bit too much influence from ALO. (two of jacks band members are members of ALO). Brushfire Fairytales is still by far his best album. I would say this is probably his worst album but its still not horrible. Expand
  7. SteveR
    Feb 20, 2008
    6
    I've been a huge Jack Johnson fan since his first album. The vibes of the music in combination with the lyrics provides a powerful relaxation and enjoyment effect for me. This latest album, however, loses the spice that made Jack famous in the first place. I find the lyrics to be more meaningful, but the actual music to be incredibly mundane. The general feel I get is that the album I've been a huge Jack Johnson fan since his first album. The vibes of the music in combination with the lyrics provides a powerful relaxation and enjoyment effect for me. This latest album, however, loses the spice that made Jack famous in the first place. I find the lyrics to be more meaningful, but the actual music to be incredibly mundane. The general feel I get is that the album all blends together as one super song without any real energy to create that "spice". I hope Jack goes back to the drawing board and moves back to some of his more spellbinding musical pieces from his first 3 albums. (I don't count the Curious George Soundtrack, in fact, maybe this is a hangover from that). Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Feb 8, 2008
    8
    It is what it is. Relaxing music. Hes not exactly breaking down any walls here.
  9. TomH.
    Apr 10, 2008
    1
    His worst album yet. A very boring album, lullaby worthy.
  10. SarahJ
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    I think it is great. How could anyone disagree? Jack writes his own lyrics based off of his life and feelings and thoughts. That is art in it's truest form, if you ask me. I love all of his songs. I think they are deep and meaningful - to him especially. He writes to his wife, his sons, his friends, and his brothers/cousin etc. Yes he has kids now so he sees the world differently. He I think it is great. How could anyone disagree? Jack writes his own lyrics based off of his life and feelings and thoughts. That is art in it's truest form, if you ask me. I love all of his songs. I think they are deep and meaningful - to him especially. He writes to his wife, his sons, his friends, and his brothers/cousin etc. Yes he has kids now so he sees the world differently. He also suffered a loss of a dear cousin during the time he wrote these songs. The CD reflects his life and his emotions. I think adding Zach Gill on piano was a nice touch too. Expand
  11. ToniJ.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    first off, Steve O. you shouldnt really say anything about Jack if you can't even name his last album. you obviously are clueless about jack at all. and the songs you named, wow. where'd you hear them on the radio? nice try though. as for the rest of the "haters" - any TRUE jack fan can see the difference in his music from cd to cd, and yes there is a difference once again here. first off, Steve O. you shouldnt really say anything about Jack if you can't even name his last album. you obviously are clueless about jack at all. and the songs you named, wow. where'd you hear them on the radio? nice try though. as for the rest of the "haters" - any TRUE jack fan can see the difference in his music from cd to cd, and yes there is a difference once again here. but who says difference is a bad thing? each review states that his music sounds the same and that his songs are too similar but when the man steps out and throws a semi-political twist on his music he gets bashed. Jack is a chill guy and makes chill music. each cd has been chill and they all will continue to be. if you don't get down with the easy-going beach hippy vibe then you should probably tune into something else and stop writing bad reviews for an artist that you truly just don't understand. Jack will never take the "mellow" out of his music because then he'll be taking the "jack" out of his music. every song he sings has his personality written all over it and that is why fans continue to adore him. As a Jack supporter I say rock on and keep giving us that cool as a cucumber feeling. Expand
  12. JeffH.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    RM is an idiot. Saving the planet=...bad? im just simple enough to accept that.
  13. JohnW.
    Feb 21, 2008
    8
    I was disappointed with this album at first, but it has grew on me. It maybe a little bit different from his previous albums, but it seems to me their is a Beatles influence in some of the songs, with some of the simple piano parts, possibly he picked up from doing that John Lennon cover, this is prob my 3rd favorite jj cd after In between dreams and on and on.
  14. JordanF.
    Feb 28, 2008
    5
    Keith Richards was recently quoted as saying 'lay off the dope' to younger musicians in the rock and roll scene, because it's 'not worth it.' I believe I can say safely that quote is not directed at Johnson, and us music-addicts can hope Jack grows a fond taste for LSD, Mushrooms, or Wild Peyote - the only catalysts in which his music will ever achieve some sort Keith Richards was recently quoted as saying 'lay off the dope' to younger musicians in the rock and roll scene, because it's 'not worth it.' I believe I can say safely that quote is not directed at Johnson, and us music-addicts can hope Jack grows a fond taste for LSD, Mushrooms, or Wild Peyote - the only catalysts in which his music will ever achieve some sort of creative depth. Expand
  15. Sethvdk
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    Just because you like an artist's style doesn't make you some zombie who will follow your "sandle-footed" prophet regardless of what they do. I keep coming back to Jack because his records are high quality. I'll admit that Sleep Through The Static, in that way, is no different.
  16. RM
    Feb 9, 2008
    1
    Sorry this is a very unprofessional review, perhaps, but the fact that he recorded the album using solar powered equipment shows what a simple minded audience he is going for. Music for simple minded people tends not to be very good. So it is almost fair to say this album can't be much good.
  17. RobM.
    Mar 11, 2008
    7
    Okay, Okay... yes, I think we can agree this is not jack's best thing out there. It's an overall bland record that does seem to sit in the same melodic stand still. I have been a jack supporter since "on and on" and this is probably my least favorite record. When I initially heard it, I said, "this is typical jack"(a bit dissapointed), but after listening to the album more and Okay, Okay... yes, I think we can agree this is not jack's best thing out there. It's an overall bland record that does seem to sit in the same melodic stand still. I have been a jack supporter since "on and on" and this is probably my least favorite record. When I initially heard it, I said, "this is typical jack"(a bit dissapointed), but after listening to the album more and more, it does grow on you...you do apprecitate the simplistic, easy listening, laid back(maybe too laid back) approach jack always takes to his music. I must laugh when you say jack's a horrible artist or he can't be a headliner! Ha, who are you trying to kid... look, get off your high horse, bottom line is your talking about a guy with incredible talent, voice control, and tone that many artists lack today...so, please go back to searching for that 'panic at the disco' tour date and learn the meaning of true instrumentals before slamming a guy for putting out good music. The simple fact that Jack is such a stand up guy who truly understands the simplicities of life; holstering family values, and making society more aware of their surroundings will have me waiting to buy his next release! Even if it is recorded thru molecular combustion and is genrally reviewed as 'crap'!! Expand
  18. IlyaR
    Mar 1, 2008
    7
    It always amazes me how harsh critics suddenly become when an unexpected artist tackles anything resembling social issues for the first time. It's almost as if artists making a statement have to take themselves seriously before anyone else can (which I think actually makes their music worse). There's no reason that war and climate change cannot be discussed in a breezy, melodic It always amazes me how harsh critics suddenly become when an unexpected artist tackles anything resembling social issues for the first time. It's almost as if artists making a statement have to take themselves seriously before anyone else can (which I think actually makes their music worse). There's no reason that war and climate change cannot be discussed in a breezy, melodic and pleasant tunes. And there's nothing about the music on this album that lacks that same kind of knack for pleasant, simple pop that Johnson delivers better than anyone else out there. Expand
  19. SteveO.
    Apr 11, 2008
    5
    What happened? Let me start off by saying I absoutely LOVE his last album he put out w/ "Good People" and "Sitting, Waiting, Wishing"... I even enjoyed the Curious George album! But what happened to good old Jack? The songs are complete SNOOZERS!!! Something is definately missing in this record that ALL the other Jack Johnson records seem to have... This only gets a 5 because his other What happened? Let me start off by saying I absoutely LOVE his last album he put out w/ "Good People" and "Sitting, Waiting, Wishing"... I even enjoyed the Curious George album! But what happened to good old Jack? The songs are complete SNOOZERS!!! Something is definately missing in this record that ALL the other Jack Johnson records seem to have... This only gets a 5 because his other cds are so great... DONT BUY! Expand
  20. Paige
    May 23, 2008
    10
    People need to stop being so small-minded. The lyrics in his music are genius. People who expect something and it doesn't turn out the exact way they planned then they are so quick to judge and put it down. In case you haven't really listened to the lyrics, especially of the title track, it's a protest song. Generally protest songs aren't violent and if they were People need to stop being so small-minded. The lyrics in his music are genius. People who expect something and it doesn't turn out the exact way they planned then they are so quick to judge and put it down. In case you haven't really listened to the lyrics, especially of the title track, it's a protest song. Generally protest songs aren't violent and if they were straight forward about it then they would be accused of being unpatriotic. He is just expressing his thoughts on things going on in the world today. I'm sure this is the exact reaction he was expecting from this album. The title tells it all..."Sleep Through the Static"...there are things going on all around you that if you just took the time to realize and think about you would probably care about and do something to change. So I challenge any of you that say you don't like his album to listen to it again, just listen to the lyrics and interpret them. The lyrics themselves are worth buying the CD. Expand
  21. SimonW.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    RM is a tosser I wonder what type of music he listens to? ABBA i mean seriously WTF.
  22. DavidC.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    I just recently started to the album and I loved it from the first spin. I was more compelled to rate this album in response to a prior rating by "RM." I don't really understand how the reviewer made the following statement: "the fact that he recorded the album using solar powered equipment shows what a simple minded audience he is going for." Am I missing something? The reviewer I just recently started to the album and I loved it from the first spin. I was more compelled to rate this album in response to a prior rating by "RM." I don't really understand how the reviewer made the following statement: "the fact that he recorded the album using solar powered equipment shows what a simple minded audience he is going for." Am I missing something? The reviewer then deducted that since it was a simple-minded audience that Jack Johnson was going for, the music was not good because simple-minded people like bad music. I just want to make light of the fact that the review made absolutely no sense and brought down a generally favorable rating of 8.6 in the previous 5 reviews to a 6.2. Rock on Jack Johnson, and thanks for a wonderful album! Expand
  23. ChristopherD
    Feb 12, 2008
    1
    Heard the album today- unfortunately it was complete garbage as was to be expected. As RM rightfully stated earlier, Johnson's songs are written with a simplistic audience in mind- which explains the simplistic structure and painfully simplistic lyrics. I'm certainly not making an argument for musical complexity per se, but man, can someone please explain what makes Heard the album today- unfortunately it was complete garbage as was to be expected. As RM rightfully stated earlier, Johnson's songs are written with a simplistic audience in mind- which explains the simplistic structure and painfully simplistic lyrics. I'm certainly not making an argument for musical complexity per se, but man, can someone please explain what makes Johnson's music any different from the thousands of coffeeshop musicians and beach bums that do the exact same thing for chump change? Also, I kind of agree with the inference that "music written for simple minded people tends not to be very good." It probably requires a bit of an argument to back it up but I think in general this rule tends to hold up. Expand
  24. Drew
    Feb 13, 2008
    0
    Jack Johnson is a terrible musician. I didn't ever really mind his music but just every song sounds the same and makes him laughable to be even considered as a musician. The fact that he can be considered a "headliner" at Coachella AND Bonnaroo is absolutely absurd! Sorry this is just a rant, but i absolutely loathe so many things he chooses to be. Especially the music he chooses to record.
  25. BJE.
    Feb 14, 2008
    8
    This is a very mellow album that brings Jack's style of music. At first glance the songs seemed all too similar to his previous albums. After further review, this is HIS style and what I have come to love. I give it an 8, but the album is growing on me by the day.
  26. DanS.
    Feb 16, 2008
    7
    "RM gave it a1: Sorry this is a very unprofessional review, perhaps, but the fact that he recorded the album using solar powered equipment shows what a simple minded audience he is going for. Music for simple minded people tends not to be very good. So it is almost fair to say this album can't be much good." by far the most retarded review I've ever read. i hope u read this rm.
  27. BethM.
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    Jack Johnson writes beautiful music that is soothing and relaxing and makes me slow down and enjoy the world.
  28. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    a nice effort from Johnson, though not his best and not really a great album... as with most of his music, it is much much improved when played live. Still, the music is enjoyable and calming as always.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sleep Through the Static marks a tentative step forward for this improbable superstar.
  2. Sleep Through the Static has one gear, and that's the one marked "Actually, can we do it tomorrow?"
  3. On Sleep Through the Static, Johnson has returned to his five basic modes of shuffling and stargazing, all of which are plenty easy on the ears but somehow flabbier.