• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 477 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 477

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthonyL
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Best album ever.
  2. WJFlywheel
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Good stuff for the Mike Love Fanclub.
  3. Maryc
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    I never heard anything like this before.
  4. Shane
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    So brilliant. So absolutely brilliant. My wait has only been 3 years, but during that 3 years I've dedicated so much time to researching this album and finding bootleg songs online. Brian took on an almost impossible task at finishing this and satisfying the legend, and I was afraid of him striking out after hearing his last solo album which was far from the brilliance we've So brilliant. So absolutely brilliant. My wait has only been 3 years, but during that 3 years I've dedicated so much time to researching this album and finding bootleg songs online. Brian took on an almost impossible task at finishing this and satisfying the legend, and I was afraid of him striking out after hearing his last solo album which was far from the brilliance we've come to know from him. He's done anything but, though. Bases loaded, bottom of the 9th, down by 3. Truly a walk off grand slam from Brian Wilson. Expand
  5. MikeA
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    A Masterpiece
  6. RayG
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    The production on this 2004 recording is right where it should be...somewhere between then and now...leaning towards then...I actually prefer ALOT of it to the older stuff, and I honestly NEVER thought that would be the case The casing is absolutely beautiful and the last page of the booklet damn near brought a tear to my eye. God bless you Brian Wilson for blessing me with this, the The production on this 2004 recording is right where it should be...somewhere between then and now...leaning towards then...I actually prefer ALOT of it to the older stuff, and I honestly NEVER thought that would be the case The casing is absolutely beautiful and the last page of the booklet damn near brought a tear to my eye. God bless you Brian Wilson for blessing me with this, the greatest album I have ever heard. Expand
  7. df
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    STUNNING
  8. MattW
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best records I've ever heard. Seriously.
  9. StephenM
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Worth the wait.
  10. JonathanS
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable... gets better w/ each listening!
  11. KentS
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    It's great to hear the full thing after tasting only bits for ages. It's really fun,thanks Brian
  12. NikeshG
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Truly Ace
  13. TheFirstOneToComment
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    If this album were released by the Beach Boys in 1967, it would likely rank as my favorite album ever. In 2004 the songs are just as brilliant, but you miss the vocals of a sixties-era Brian (as well as Carl). This is still the greatest thing I've heard all year. One of the greatest things I've ever heard, in fact.
  14. DanielP
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    A mind blowing experience. Well worth the wait. Album of the year so far by a mile.
  15. FeidoV
    Apr 12, 2010
    9
    A great album.
  16. BrianE
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Perfection in Sound
  17. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Everyone who gave this album a negative review doesn't understand music. In order to really enjoy this music and realize how great it really is, you must be someone who really LISTENS to the music, rather that just hearing it for the mood that it brings. Brian Wilson is one of the most talented artist in the past 50 years and anyone who disagrees with that just is flat out dumb, and thisEveryone who gave this album a negative review doesn't understand music. In order to really enjoy this music and realize how great it really is, you must be someone who really LISTENS to the music, rather that just hearing it for the mood that it brings. Brian Wilson is one of the most talented artist in the past 50 years and anyone who disagrees with that just is flat out dumb, and this album is one of his best. Music these days such as metal, rap, pop, and country etc., that a person may hear on the T.V. or radio are for the dumb, simple minded people such as the people who gave this album a bad review are the people who don't have the time to go find music, but rather flip there remote to MTV. So when deciding to purchase this album, go ahead and do it, don't listen to the dumb as**** who gave this album a bad review because those people are just to stupid to understand this kind of music. Expand
  18. DavidP
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    As an old Beach Boys fan who grew up in the 60's, SMiLE provides an unexpected closure to a part of my psyche. It's like John was not shot, George is still alive, and the Beatles got back together in the 80's and put out another masterpiece. Of course, that fantasy will always leave a hole in my heart but, now, at least, one of the holes in my heart has been filled with joy As an old Beach Boys fan who grew up in the 60's, SMiLE provides an unexpected closure to a part of my psyche. It's like John was not shot, George is still alive, and the Beatles got back together in the 80's and put out another masterpiece. Of course, that fantasy will always leave a hole in my heart but, now, at least, one of the holes in my heart has been filled with joy and a SMiLE. Thank you Brian. Expand
  19. williamf
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    never was that much of a brain wilson fan, but wow!!!!! this is a classic
  20. JimD
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    An amazing aural experience. Totally unlike anything else by the Beach Boys in many ways, but the harmonies take you back.
  21. JE
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    i love it. it's a great album. i think everyone who is digging it is suffering from a little bit of nostalgia, but that's only natural..
  22. JohnS
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    As a big Beatle fan, I've always been a bit protectionist as far as this album being "better" than Pepper is concerned. I'd heard the released stuff and some of it was indeed impressive. Heroes & Villians, Good Vibrations, Our Prayer, Cabinessence, Wonderful and Surf's Up in particular truly awesome. Now nearly 40 years later and with all these tracks finally slotted As a big Beatle fan, I've always been a bit protectionist as far as this album being "better" than Pepper is concerned. I'd heard the released stuff and some of it was indeed impressive. Heroes & Villians, Good Vibrations, Our Prayer, Cabinessence, Wonderful and Surf's Up in particular truly awesome. Now nearly 40 years later and with all these tracks finally slotted together for the first time on the one album, I'm bound to say its quite simply, sensational. Breathtalingly beautiful in parts. Much as though I hate to admit it, back in 1967 this would probably have dwarfed Pepper. As a piece of art it's infinately more progressive. As piece of music it's certainly better. Maybe not the catchy tunes sure, but this is another level altogether. With pop/rock music having advanced SO much since 1967, its really difficult to appreciate how innovative this would have been back then. The fact that it still stands up in 2004 says everything that needs to be said. Back then it would have blown everyone away although quite possibly wouldn't have sold well- leastways in the States. And you could see why the rest of the Beach Boys were a bit scared of it, deviating as far as it did from their previous winning formula. But with so much music having been released since this was written, its incredible to think that I really could say its still probably the best rock/pop album I've ever heard. I would have loved to have heard the Beach Boy voices on it , even though the vocals here are stunning. As a family they had such a unique blend when they all sang together, which is not replicated here, nor sadly ever will be now. . Expand
  23. AlexanderB.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    For me Smile is the greatest album of all times! Period.
  24. HankB
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    More of a triumph than anyone could have expected. Still, it's a bit tragic that the world didn't get to hear this finished piece in '67 with the original Beach Boys.
  25. VinceH.
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    I have to agree with ebok on this one. I (like most BB fanatics) have compiled all the old songs, bits, lost tracks, samples, etc. and compiled my own version of Smile in various forms over the years). I really miss Brian's old voice and the singing of the boys in their prime, but this new groups is excellent and Brian still sings wonderfully. The main thing about this new album that I have to agree with ebok on this one. I (like most BB fanatics) have compiled all the old songs, bits, lost tracks, samples, etc. and compiled my own version of Smile in various forms over the years). I really miss Brian's old voice and the singing of the boys in their prime, but this new groups is excellent and Brian still sings wonderfully. The main thing about this new album that will (and should) get all the attention is the production and arrangement. This is hands down the best production of all time, and yes I have heard pretty much every rock/pop album considered a "classic". Brian Wilson is truly the greatest musical mind to emerge from pop music. You know when people call their fav artist a genius and stuff, well Wilson is actually a genius and it shows here (as it always has). This is truly one of the miracles of musical creation and had this album orginally been released after Pet Sounds it would've been considered as the greatest album ever made. Not kidding folks, it's that good. Expand
  26. JensK
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Forget about 1967, this is a great, great, great record today!
  27. LarryJ
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    It just keeps getting better with each time I listen to it. I especially love the middle suite of "Childhood" songs -- "Wonderful." If the original BB had been involved in this production, particularly the late-Carl Wilson, it would have rated off the chart. The album and Brian's backstory, in my opinion, serve to reinforce the overall theme of these tracks. I'm happy Brian can SMiLE.
  28. MichaelC
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    The Only thing wrong with this album is Brian's voice, if he had that classic falsetto, it would be perfection. But I'd only drop the album 0.1 of a point for that, so I'd give the album 10 out of 10. L&M
  29. JindrichH
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    Beautiful....
  30. ArielN
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    Smile Brian, You Did It Again.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Smile is quite simply the greatest triumph in the history of pop music.
  2. Smile's post-adolescent utopia isn't disfigured by Brian's thickened, soured 62-year-old voice. It's ennobled--the material limitations of its sunny artifice and pretentious tomfoolery acknowledged and joyfully engaged.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    100
    "Smile" emerges as a beautiful and cohesive work, at times deeply moving, at others oddly whimsical, at still others eerily disturbing but celebratory. [27 Sep 2004]