• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 439

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthonyL
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Best album ever.
  2. WJFlywheel
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Good stuff for the Mike Love Fanclub.
  3. Maryc
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    I never heard anything like this before.
  4. Shane
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    So brilliant. So absolutely brilliant. My wait has only been 3 years, but during that 3 years I've dedicated so much time to researching this album and finding bootleg songs online. Brian took on an almost impossible task at finishing this and satisfying the legend, and I was afraid of him striking out after hearing his last solo album which was far from the brilliance we've So brilliant. So absolutely brilliant. My wait has only been 3 years, but during that 3 years I've dedicated so much time to researching this album and finding bootleg songs online. Brian took on an almost impossible task at finishing this and satisfying the legend, and I was afraid of him striking out after hearing his last solo album which was far from the brilliance we've come to know from him. He's done anything but, though. Bases loaded, bottom of the 9th, down by 3. Truly a walk off grand slam from Brian Wilson. Expand
  5. MikeA
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    A Masterpiece
  6. RayG
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    The production on this 2004 recording is right where it should be...somewhere between then and now...leaning towards then...I actually prefer ALOT of it to the older stuff, and I honestly NEVER thought that would be the case The casing is absolutely beautiful and the last page of the booklet damn near brought a tear to my eye. God bless you Brian Wilson for blessing me with this, the The production on this 2004 recording is right where it should be...somewhere between then and now...leaning towards then...I actually prefer ALOT of it to the older stuff, and I honestly NEVER thought that would be the case The casing is absolutely beautiful and the last page of the booklet damn near brought a tear to my eye. God bless you Brian Wilson for blessing me with this, the greatest album I have ever heard. Expand
  7. df
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    STUNNING
  8. MattW
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best records I've ever heard. Seriously.
  9. StephenM
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Worth the wait.
  10. JonathanS
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable... gets better w/ each listening!
  11. KentS
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    It's great to hear the full thing after tasting only bits for ages. It's really fun,thanks Brian
  12. NikeshG
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Truly Ace
  13. TheFirstOneToComment
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    If this album were released by the Beach Boys in 1967, it would likely rank as my favorite album ever. In 2004 the songs are just as brilliant, but you miss the vocals of a sixties-era Brian (as well as Carl). This is still the greatest thing I've heard all year. One of the greatest things I've ever heard, in fact.
  14. DanielP
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    A mind blowing experience. Well worth the wait. Album of the year so far by a mile.
  15. FeidoV
    Apr 12, 2010
    9
    A great album.
  16. BrianE
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Perfection in Sound
  17. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Everyone who gave this album a negative review doesn't understand music. In order to really enjoy this music and realize how great it really is, you must be someone who really LISTENS to the music, rather that just hearing it for the mood that it brings. Brian Wilson is one of the most talented artist in the past 50 years and anyone who disagrees with that just is flat out dumb, and thisEveryone who gave this album a negative review doesn't understand music. In order to really enjoy this music and realize how great it really is, you must be someone who really LISTENS to the music, rather that just hearing it for the mood that it brings. Brian Wilson is one of the most talented artist in the past 50 years and anyone who disagrees with that just is flat out dumb, and this album is one of his best. Music these days such as metal, rap, pop, and country etc., that a person may hear on the T.V. or radio are for the dumb, simple minded people such as the people who gave this album a bad review are the people who don't have the time to go find music, but rather flip there remote to MTV. So when deciding to purchase this album, go ahead and do it, don't listen to the dumb as**** who gave this album a bad review because those people are just to stupid to understand this kind of music. Collapse
  18. DavidP
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    As an old Beach Boys fan who grew up in the 60's, SMiLE provides an unexpected closure to a part of my psyche. It's like John was not shot, George is still alive, and the Beatles got back together in the 80's and put out another masterpiece. Of course, that fantasy will always leave a hole in my heart but, now, at least, one of the holes in my heart has been filled with joy As an old Beach Boys fan who grew up in the 60's, SMiLE provides an unexpected closure to a part of my psyche. It's like John was not shot, George is still alive, and the Beatles got back together in the 80's and put out another masterpiece. Of course, that fantasy will always leave a hole in my heart but, now, at least, one of the holes in my heart has been filled with joy and a SMiLE. Thank you Brian. Expand
  19. williamf
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    never was that much of a brain wilson fan, but wow!!!!! this is a classic
  20. JimD
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    An amazing aural experience. Totally unlike anything else by the Beach Boys in many ways, but the harmonies take you back.
  21. JE
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    i love it. it's a great album. i think everyone who is digging it is suffering from a little bit of nostalgia, but that's only natural..
  22. JohnS
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    As a big Beatle fan, I've always been a bit protectionist as far as this album being "better" than Pepper is concerned. I'd heard the released stuff and some of it was indeed impressive. Heroes & Villians, Good Vibrations, Our Prayer, Cabinessence, Wonderful and Surf's Up in particular truly awesome. Now nearly 40 years later and with all these tracks finally slotted As a big Beatle fan, I've always been a bit protectionist as far as this album being "better" than Pepper is concerned. I'd heard the released stuff and some of it was indeed impressive. Heroes & Villians, Good Vibrations, Our Prayer, Cabinessence, Wonderful and Surf's Up in particular truly awesome. Now nearly 40 years later and with all these tracks finally slotted together for the first time on the one album, I'm bound to say its quite simply, sensational. Breathtalingly beautiful in parts. Much as though I hate to admit it, back in 1967 this would probably have dwarfed Pepper. As a piece of art it's infinately more progressive. As piece of music it's certainly better. Maybe not the catchy tunes sure, but this is another level altogether. With pop/rock music having advanced SO much since 1967, its really difficult to appreciate how innovative this would have been back then. The fact that it still stands up in 2004 says everything that needs to be said. Back then it would have blown everyone away although quite possibly wouldn't have sold well- leastways in the States. And you could see why the rest of the Beach Boys were a bit scared of it, deviating as far as it did from their previous winning formula. But with so much music having been released since this was written, its incredible to think that I really could say its still probably the best rock/pop album I've ever heard. I would have loved to have heard the Beach Boy voices on it , even though the vocals here are stunning. As a family they had such a unique blend when they all sang together, which is not replicated here, nor sadly ever will be now. . Expand
  23. AlexanderB.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    For me Smile is the greatest album of all times! Period.
  24. HankB
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    More of a triumph than anyone could have expected. Still, it's a bit tragic that the world didn't get to hear this finished piece in '67 with the original Beach Boys.
  25. VinceH.
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    I have to agree with ebok on this one. I (like most BB fanatics) have compiled all the old songs, bits, lost tracks, samples, etc. and compiled my own version of Smile in various forms over the years). I really miss Brian's old voice and the singing of the boys in their prime, but this new groups is excellent and Brian still sings wonderfully. The main thing about this new album that I have to agree with ebok on this one. I (like most BB fanatics) have compiled all the old songs, bits, lost tracks, samples, etc. and compiled my own version of Smile in various forms over the years). I really miss Brian's old voice and the singing of the boys in their prime, but this new groups is excellent and Brian still sings wonderfully. The main thing about this new album that will (and should) get all the attention is the production and arrangement. This is hands down the best production of all time, and yes I have heard pretty much every rock/pop album considered a "classic". Brian Wilson is truly the greatest musical mind to emerge from pop music. You know when people call their fav artist a genius and stuff, well Wilson is actually a genius and it shows here (as it always has). This is truly one of the miracles of musical creation and had this album orginally been released after Pet Sounds it would've been considered as the greatest album ever made. Not kidding folks, it's that good. Expand
  26. JensK
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Forget about 1967, this is a great, great, great record today!
  27. LarryJ
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    It just keeps getting better with each time I listen to it. I especially love the middle suite of "Childhood" songs -- "Wonderful." If the original BB had been involved in this production, particularly the late-Carl Wilson, it would have rated off the chart. The album and Brian's backstory, in my opinion, serve to reinforce the overall theme of these tracks. I'm happy Brian can SMiLE.
  28. MichaelC
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    The Only thing wrong with this album is Brian's voice, if he had that classic falsetto, it would be perfection. But I'd only drop the album 0.1 of a point for that, so I'd give the album 10 out of 10. L&M
  29. JindrichH
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    Beautiful....
  30. ArielN
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    Smile Brian, You Did It Again.
  31. MurielB.
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    Look ! Listen ! Vibrate ! Smile !
  32. jims
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    Pop symphony, have never heard anything like it
  33. joej
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Brilliant!
  34. MartyM
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. Smile is finally released and I was not disappointed at all. The hype was definitely deserved.
  35. bobbyc
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    may be the most brilliant "pop" or "rock" album of all time. but those catagories don't even begin to describe its incredible synthesis of traditional american song styles, symphonic bliss & bold, successful avant-garde experimentation. it just has never been done before in this way. it even surpasses its own mythical legend. an astounding achievement, not just for a man who may be the most brilliant "pop" or "rock" album of all time. but those catagories don't even begin to describe its incredible synthesis of traditional american song styles, symphonic bliss & bold, successful avant-garde experimentation. it just has never been done before in this way. it even surpasses its own mythical legend. an astounding achievement, not just for a man who struggles daily from mental illness, but an astounding achievement from anybody at all. he didn't even have to do this. he could have just let the legend live on as the most famous unreleased album of all time & rested on those laurals alone. Expand
  36. stevep
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    A true Classic ! ! !
  37. ErickC.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    I don`t know how some people gave ratings below 9, A "5".....come on, this is a great album, even after 37 years you can listen magic in this music, the kind of album that you want to listen from start to finish( I have, 10 times at least ^_^ ) and nowadays that is something really hard to find, the only people who don`t like this cd is because they like predictible and easy listen music, I don`t know how some people gave ratings below 9, A "5".....come on, this is a great album, even after 37 years you can listen magic in this music, the kind of album that you want to listen from start to finish( I have, 10 times at least ^_^ ) and nowadays that is something really hard to find, the only people who don`t like this cd is because they like predictible and easy listen music, this album surprises you in practically every song, definitely is something really especial and innovative even 37 years later from the original release date. Pet Sounds may be more estructure and "famous" but SMiLE Challenges you, is for a intelligent audience who appreciate original music with great & unexpected twists in the songs. DEFINITELY A WORTHY ALBUM!! HAT`S OFF TO BRIAN WILSON! Expand
  38. DriR
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    Wonderful! Brilliant!
  39. AndrewF
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    One of the top 5 albums of all time. His voice is a little different, but certainly not bad, and the backing band is better musically than the beach boys. The only thing it is missing, is Carl, Mikes, Brian (in his 20s) voices. Only albums ahead of it are Pet Sounds, Revolver, Highway 61, and Sgt. Peppers.
  40. RaleighR
    Jun 28, 2006
    9
    Brian Wilson is elevated to new highs with SMiLE. Though one can only dream what this time traveled masterpiece could have inspired if originally released as a response to Sgt. Pepper. In the 60's the hype that surrounded the album was that it was to be 'a teenage symphony to God'. In 2004 does it still hold up to what teenager feel today? All n all great album, good for Brian Wilson is elevated to new highs with SMiLE. Though one can only dream what this time traveled masterpiece could have inspired if originally released as a response to Sgt. Pepper. In the 60's the hype that surrounded the album was that it was to be 'a teenage symphony to God'. In 2004 does it still hold up to what teenager feel today? All n all great album, good for Brian to get it accomplished. Expand
  41. Rog
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    Outstanding music - for any era.
  42. DarylS
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    Ok I'm 15 and (I'll admit it) very impressionable, I get this album based on metacritic's 97 average with very little previous beach boys experience and absolutely no idea what to expect. I've had only 3 listens so far and it's still growing on me - I'm still not sure what if the rave reviews are all genuine or if many are due to the hype and mythology Ok I'm 15 and (I'll admit it) very impressionable, I get this album based on metacritic's 97 average with very little previous beach boys experience and absolutely no idea what to expect. I've had only 3 listens so far and it's still growing on me - I'm still not sure what if the rave reviews are all genuine or if many are due to the hype and mythology surrounding it but all I can say is like it. I like it a lot. Maybe I don't appreciate it the same way as many other people do and i can't quite understand this being the "greatest album ever" but it is a very good listen and i hope more and more listens will reveal just how good it is to a poor boy whos been forced to grow up with Justin Timberlake and 50 Cent like myself. Expand
  43. TedG
    May 21, 2007
    10
    What's so impressive about this album is how ahead of it's time it is today, 40 years since it's conception. The Polarized reviews speak to this. The album beautifully details American mass culture, with both ideas deep and adult, as well as childlike and innocent.
  44. RoccoS
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    Everyone who gave it ones and zeroes probably put the cd in their car stereo on the way home from best buy, grimaced, and simply endured the first listen, like I did. They might have even listened a few more times. I've listened to it about 10 times through and I keep discovering more and more. Looking back, all of my favorite music of all time seemed random and inaccessible upon the Everyone who gave it ones and zeroes probably put the cd in their car stereo on the way home from best buy, grimaced, and simply endured the first listen, like I did. They might have even listened a few more times. I've listened to it about 10 times through and I keep discovering more and more. Looking back, all of my favorite music of all time seemed random and inaccessible upon the first few listens, but you have to devote some time to the music to be infinitely rewarded. This album is an absolute joy from beginning to end, the instrumentation is glorious and lush, NONE OF IT IS DIGITAL, and I'm only giving it a 9 because of the horrible misjudgement of changing the "Good Vibrations" lyrics. Expand
  45. ScottW.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Now here as an album that should put a smile on your face. Not just because of its fun and catchy songs, but because your hearing what would have been classic Beach Boy tunes. This was a lost album for almost forty years, from one of the best rock bands. Brian Wilson gives us a true classic and a must have.
  46. Terry
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece. Good for you, Brian.
  47. patf.
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    Best thing i have heard in years! surfs up, h&v, cabinessence the list of great songs is very impressive.
  48. LuisI
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    Pop orchestra, brilliant sound, brian wilson and a legendary record.
  49. ChrisL
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Pristine.
  50. JackB
    Oct 1, 2004
    9
    Have to agree that it's brilliant. But we already knew that. My only complaint is that I miss Brian's old vocals. The other boys in the band I can take or leave. But Brian sounds like an old man now. Love this "Heroes" better than any other mix we've heard before. "Surf's Up" loses a step without Brian's original lead. Like the lyrics of the '66 "Good Have to agree that it's brilliant. But we already knew that. My only complaint is that I miss Brian's old vocals. The other boys in the band I can take or leave. But Brian sounds like an old man now. Love this "Heroes" better than any other mix we've heard before. "Surf's Up" loses a step without Brian's original lead. Like the lyrics of the '66 "Good Vibrations" better. Expand
  51. Stevie
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Surf's Up is the greatest pop song ever created, and is essential listening for any human even slightly considering had this album originally been released when intended, it would've topped Sgt. Pepper's. Get this album immediately!! Even George Martin said that Brian Wilson was the biggest influence on the Beatles post-Rubber Soul and that Pet Sounds was the type of album Surf's Up is the greatest pop song ever created, and is essential listening for any human even slightly considering had this album originally been released when intended, it would've topped Sgt. Pepper's. Get this album immediately!! Even George Martin said that Brian Wilson was the biggest influence on the Beatles post-Rubber Soul and that Pet Sounds was the type of album the Beatles were trying to make. That's praise as high as it goes folks. Expand
  52. GaryE
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Now we can see how expendable the rest of the Beach Boys really were. Brian was obviously the brains of the outfit.
  53. AaronS.
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    Better late than never. This beautiful musical curiosity sounds like nothing else, totally unclassifiable. It sounds as out of place today as it would have back in 1967! Highly recommended to those with adventurous tastes.
  54. StillaKidAtheart
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    Simply a Masterpiece! I first heard Sgt. Pepper's at the age of 14, and I have the same kind of feeling listening to Smile today...I can't stop listening to it...Thank you, Brian...You reached me.
  55. TazmanianDevil
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    Can't stop listening... enjoy every moment of this CD
  56. alc
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    love this album the most!!
  57. GeraldK
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    True, Pet Sounds has more great songs and none of the Smile songs reach the utter heavenly transcience of say God Only Knows, Caroline No or I Just Wasn't Made for These Times, but this is still clearly the best album of the year and Brian Wilson's greatest solo achievment. I still have a bit of a tendency to like the older version of these songs just a bit more, mainly because True, Pet Sounds has more great songs and none of the Smile songs reach the utter heavenly transcience of say God Only Knows, Caroline No or I Just Wasn't Made for These Times, but this is still clearly the best album of the year and Brian Wilson's greatest solo achievment. I still have a bit of a tendency to like the older version of these songs just a bit more, mainly because it is much clearer to the listener just how far ahead of its time the original was (let's be honest, pop music has caught up with Smile) but had the original album been released in 1967 I think it could have surpassed Sgt. Peppers in overall brilliance and song quality. The structure and composition of these tracks is complete and utter genius. No listener with even the slightest discernable ear can deny Brian is the greatest pop musician ever and his songs will live forever. BTW, it truly does get better the more times you listen to it, and how many albums can you say that abot anyway? Expand
  58. midnightdread
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    SMiLE delivers while most of the rest get stamped 'address unknown'. Makes Beatles apprentices. Makes negative reviewers on this forum over-compensating sour-full reactionaries and cranky contrarians; reminiscent of those who replaced sixties' epiphanies with recycled rock cliches, derivative and forever boring. Except for Bob Marley & reggae, we've been going SMiLE delivers while most of the rest get stamped 'address unknown'. Makes Beatles apprentices. Makes negative reviewers on this forum over-compensating sour-full reactionaries and cranky contrarians; reminiscent of those who replaced sixties' epiphanies with recycled rock cliches, derivative and forever boring. Except for Bob Marley & reggae, we've been going 'Nowhere Man' fast. PET SOUNDS better? SMiLE is THE album 'where new things might be found', as Brian sang in "I Just Wasn't Made For These Times". Listen up tin-ears and tin-horns. Saddle up to the renaissance (circa late 1966 thru early 1968) that many in this age were lucky enough to live through. Many of us never wanted to "Get Back" or "Do It Again" or "Let It Bleed". Rather than pull back from the precipice Brian Wilson soars. Forward ever. 'Give the past the slip'. Get out of the doldrums & noise of modern life where everyone prostrates themselves at the Altar of Job Security. See (LOOK!) & Hear (LISTEN!) where we were Headed (VIBRATE!) until devolutionary heads & blue meanies prevailed. Here's my review written in the (SMiLE!) spirit: 'Van & Brian's Lull Will Seem Brief, An Inn Significant Interlude, A Deep Breadth, So The Finishing Touches, Delayed Rightly So, A Children's Song, A Teenage Symphony, Completed With Maturity, Farther Of The Man, Glorious Beyond Belief.' Expand
  59. jonh
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    if possible, I'd take this music to those who have never heard it-a musical missionary if you will-to not hear this glorious soundscape can be nothing but a lost connection with sheer musical perfection-
  60. NickK
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    I didn't think it was a good idea that Brain was re-recording SMiLE from scratch. However, he proved me wrong-- this is a masterful psychedelic pop opera, and I enjoy it much more than the bits and scraps we've been listening to for the last decade through bootlegs and official Beach Boy releases.
  61. RICHARDB
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    Not much to say, except "blown away!" This goes into my top 5 of all time. The tracks released on the Good Vibrations box set really wetted my appetite, and now the complete album...it's....it's...words don't do justice.
  62. JM
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    Who would have thought it could turn out this good almost 40 yrs later? I can't stop listening to it!!!
  63. JimM
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    Great music, great composer, GREAT band! Brian's band pulls off what the Beach Boys never could. I can't get enough of this CD!
  64. BrianF
    Oct 4, 2004
    9
    The second "suite" is worth the purchase price alone...brilliantly beautiful! Deduct 1 point for the odd animal and power tool songs - give me more music!
  65. RobbieW
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    I always thought "Pet Sounds" was the best LP Brian Wilson would ever make. Now I have to say that "Smile" is even better. Even though I had high expectations, this CD has exceeded them. A++++
  66. ChristopherF
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    A wonderful concept album fully realized. Comparisons to Sgt. Peppers are not inaccurate because Sgt Pepper isn't a concept album: it has no central theme. Brian Wilson is a phoenix rising form the ashes, again.
  67. paula
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    the best 45 minutes of popular music i've ever heard.
  68. NickJ
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Prepare yourself for something new at every listen. A superb mix of feelgood pop, art opus and grand slam genius eccentricity. However in terms of mood, for 'eccentricity' replace this word with 'electricity' as far as this bands performance goes.
  69. DennisS
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Words could not describe the first time I heard it!! It is by far the best rock concept album of all time!!! A true Brian Wilson Masterpiece!!!!!
  70. DamonF
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    When I heard this album after hearing the reviews, I am convinced that it has already obliterated every album made this year, out of the sky. This includes the new Morrissey album. This is how a decent album should be made by an artist. Sung brilliantly and layered and arranged without the use of meaningless computer technology
  71. GaryR
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Awe-struck! More appreciated in 2004/5 than it would've been in 1967. Actually makes the music of 67 and yes even Peppe, sound dated. Smile was made for these times!
  72. BrianY
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    A triumph of the human spirit and a beautiful piece of utterly fun, pop, perfection. The best album in years.
  73. PeterB
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    Astounding!
  74. Suzan
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Melodic, masterly crafted, way ahead of its time for the late 60's, simply smile-worthy!!
  75. GaryN
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    Outstanding CD. Complex music that grabs you from the first listen. Unique, expanding the meaning of rock music. Vocals are complicated but catchy so they don't leave your head. Heard it several times and it gets better with every listen.
  76. JR
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    The album is a real trip...itll put you in mind states you cant get out of other music... like 'Cabin-essence", it really makes you think your in a home out on the range... and i think its safe to say the last track of the second (cycle of life) movement.."Surf's Up", whether you hear the new version or the old (on brians original demo),, it still will leave you in awe if you The album is a real trip...itll put you in mind states you cant get out of other music... like 'Cabin-essence", it really makes you think your in a home out on the range... and i think its safe to say the last track of the second (cycle of life) movement.."Surf's Up", whether you hear the new version or the old (on brians original demo),, it still will leave you in awe if you sit and listen to the lyrics... Thanks to Mr. Wilson for the finished work. -Jr Expand
  77. DaveD
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Best album since Brainwashed. That's along time.
  78. AllanH
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Everything you hoped and dreamed it would be and more. For it not only to live up to it's legendary reputations after all these year, but exceed it is a simply remarkable acheivement.
  79. JürgenR
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    The best album of all time!!!
  80. TomF
    May 13, 2005
    10
    SMiLE is just undoubtedly the greatest music ever written. While the new tracks are missing a little of the heart of the 1967 tracks, they are close enough. The production on this album has yet to be tested by another musician.
  81. matta
    May 27, 2005
    9
    Not as classic as "Pet Sounds" but still amazing, especially considering this was really all written back in the 60's. Too bad that it wasn't released back then, becuase if it had been, it probably would have the same status as Pet Sounds does today. IN any case, it is a great album, but something has definetely been lost by the four decade delay of the release.
  82. TristramC
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    This disc is just a tease. As 'wonderful' as it is, it is impossible to enjoy it without wondering how it would have sounded in the late 60s with the same energy and exhuberance Brian and the boys had when they released Pet Sounds. And that is another thing. Even though Mike Love hated it, I want to hear the other Beach Boys on this recording instead of the Starlight Mints (or This disc is just a tease. As 'wonderful' as it is, it is impossible to enjoy it without wondering how it would have sounded in the late 60s with the same energy and exhuberance Brian and the boys had when they released Pet Sounds. And that is another thing. Even though Mike Love hated it, I want to hear the other Beach Boys on this recording instead of the Starlight Mints (or whoever Brians backing band is; I forget to be honest) That said, nothing came close to it regarding Album of the Year. 2004 had its stories; the Arcade Fire and Devendra Banhart being among the best, but not even they could compete with the release of he most anticipated record in pop history and even as a relative success, it blew everything else away. Expand
  83. ChrisB
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    The most artistic album of all time. This proves that Brian does not need those coat-tail riding, freeloading Beach Boys. Here is a group of dedicated musicians doing justice to some of the most original American music since Copeland. God Save Brian Wilson!
  84. SeamusS
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Okay Okay, So everyone here likes to disagree for the sake of being different eh? That's what I'm getting. First of all Drew M Get a life your self. It's an album of love, relativly harmless. Though it may have gone over your head, I'll just pitty you and forget about it instead of finding out what you like and rating it with a 0 after never listening to it. The album Okay Okay, So everyone here likes to disagree for the sake of being different eh? That's what I'm getting. First of all Drew M Get a life your self. It's an album of love, relativly harmless. Though it may have gone over your head, I'll just pitty you and forget about it instead of finding out what you like and rating it with a 0 after never listening to it. The album is a masterpiece in and out of the context of it's creation. It was a labor of love that needs to be looked at. From the first notes, the harmonies and complex sonic beauty that is Brian Wilson filles the air around you. At the same time, it captures themes of innocnece which, when reflected upon by many, can seem childish and even stupid. Those who reflect it as that are often bitter for it going over their heads or them taking it too seriously. I cant ramble any more because it'll just be more hot air. It's a fucking masterpiece I really have no time for those who are so bitter Expand
  85. cliftonb
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    To all of you that rated the album low here is a suggestion. Take a msic class so you may possibly begin to wrap your brain around the beautiful and complex work on this album. Why do the critics like it? Because its damn good!I honestly feel bad for those of you who don't get it. You can say what do the critics know but the awnser is this a whole lot more than us especially those of To all of you that rated the album low here is a suggestion. Take a msic class so you may possibly begin to wrap your brain around the beautiful and complex work on this album. Why do the critics like it? Because its damn good!I honestly feel bad for those of you who don't get it. You can say what do the critics know but the awnser is this a whole lot more than us especially those of you whom have never studied music. if they dont convince you remember that Leonard Bernstien one of the greatest american composers singles out material from this album to show the world that the future of music was not completely lost. Expand
  86. MeatMuffin
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    The people who are giving this album a 10 seem to be generally smarter than the ones who are giving it lower scores. Just read the reviews below this one.
  87. lonnieM
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Smile..... A masterpiece in many ways.... to many ways to put into words.... Listen to the album alone, without distraction, and any negative thoughts of the record will disappear..... I'm just glad I had the experience of Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks seeing this vision through. The record is and always will be ahead of it's time.
  88. KitS
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    I am an old Beach Boys fan, born in 1952. My wife and I saw Brian Wilson and his band perform this at Warner Theatre, Washington, DC, Oct. of 2004. It was the best concert that either of us had ever attended. Despite the fact that we are two shy white nerds, we were dancing to the Beach Boys tunes they did after Smile was performed. We bought the album Smile and the DVD, listened to it I am an old Beach Boys fan, born in 1952. My wife and I saw Brian Wilson and his band perform this at Warner Theatre, Washington, DC, Oct. of 2004. It was the best concert that either of us had ever attended. Despite the fact that we are two shy white nerds, we were dancing to the Beach Boys tunes they did after Smile was performed. We bought the album Smile and the DVD, listened to it many times. We are silly, nerdy people and both vegetarians. We LOVE the Vega-tables tune. As for power tools and barn yard animal noises, we found this funny and whimsical, comic relief. The composition, the arrangements, the performances, it is all top rate. We find it very positive, spiritual, uplifting, a bright light of inspiration. Smile is lots better than the pop, "house music" and rap garbage that pretentiously poses as "music" these days. Brian Wilson is a master and he and his work deserve some serious respect. Expand
  89. KjellB
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    At first I was like Brian... what is this? I listened to the album once in 2004, then in 2006, I found it buried in my collection. It wasn't until about the fourth listen when it hit me! This album is one of the best albums of all time. In this day and age of "cookie cutter" music peoples ears have become def to great music and I could of been one of those people. Brian Wilson's At first I was like Brian... what is this? I listened to the album once in 2004, then in 2006, I found it buried in my collection. It wasn't until about the fourth listen when it hit me! This album is one of the best albums of all time. In this day and age of "cookie cutter" music peoples ears have become def to great music and I could of been one of those people. Brian Wilson's Smile breaths life into a dying music industry, and i can only imagine what music would sound like if it had been released back in the day. Most people, especially my age (28) wont get it and thats just sad! Expand
  90. dh
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Perfect. Only comparable to the Lonely Hearts Club Band.
  91. SameerV.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    This is one of the greatest albums. I think it's up there with pepper. Sure, it probably would sound better if all the beach boys were on it and this was 66', but it's still great. It takes a couple of listens. Keep in mind, most of this was written in 66'. If it came out then, I think people would have appreciated it more.
  92. AndyD.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    Truly stunning music. Love it!
  93. Steve
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    SMiLE is an album that some will simply never get. The layer of harmonies, the change in tempo, the strange unconventional instruments, it's bound to get 0s from people quick to judge. However, it will be an album that will stand the test of time and technically it already has. This is simply a re-recording of what Brian was working on in 1966-67 and it's still being praised. SMiLE is an album that some will simply never get. The layer of harmonies, the change in tempo, the strange unconventional instruments, it's bound to get 0s from people quick to judge. However, it will be an album that will stand the test of time and technically it already has. This is simply a re-recording of what Brian was working on in 1966-67 and it's still being praised. This album is simply amazing and most certainly deserves a 10. Expand
  94. ConradC.
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Worth every minute of the wait!
  95. peter
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Beautiful and haunting. I cant imagine how anyone could walk away from this unchanged.
  96. KimM
    May 2, 2009
    9
    Simply superb.
  97. ToddS
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Absolute perfection!
  98. SethG.
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    I've listened to this album so much. At least once a week, sometimes much more. It's so good!
  99. TiagoA.
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    A great album, this have soul and it's brilliant.
  100. Dri
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Classic album of a genius.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Smile is quite simply the greatest triumph in the history of pop music.
  2. Smile's post-adolescent utopia isn't disfigured by Brian's thickened, soured 62-year-old voice. It's ennobled--the material limitations of its sunny artifice and pretentious tomfoolery acknowledged and joyfully engaged.
  3. "Smile" emerges as a beautiful and cohesive work, at times deeply moving, at others oddly whimsical, at still others eerily disturbing but celebratory. [27 Sep 2004]