• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 439 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 439

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthonyL
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Best album ever.
  2. WJFlywheel
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Good stuff for the Mike Love Fanclub.
  3. Maryc
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    I never heard anything like this before.
  4. Shane
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    So brilliant. So absolutely brilliant. My wait has only been 3 years, but during that 3 years I've dedicated so much time to researching this album and finding bootleg songs online. Brian took on an almost impossible task at finishing this and satisfying the legend, and I was afraid of him striking out after hearing his last solo album which was far from the brilliance we've So brilliant. So absolutely brilliant. My wait has only been 3 years, but during that 3 years I've dedicated so much time to researching this album and finding bootleg songs online. Brian took on an almost impossible task at finishing this and satisfying the legend, and I was afraid of him striking out after hearing his last solo album which was far from the brilliance we've come to know from him. He's done anything but, though. Bases loaded, bottom of the 9th, down by 3. Truly a walk off grand slam from Brian Wilson. Expand
  5. MikeA
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    A Masterpiece
  6. RayG
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    The production on this 2004 recording is right where it should be...somewhere between then and now...leaning towards then...I actually prefer ALOT of it to the older stuff, and I honestly NEVER thought that would be the case The casing is absolutely beautiful and the last page of the booklet damn near brought a tear to my eye. God bless you Brian Wilson for blessing me with this, the The production on this 2004 recording is right where it should be...somewhere between then and now...leaning towards then...I actually prefer ALOT of it to the older stuff, and I honestly NEVER thought that would be the case The casing is absolutely beautiful and the last page of the booklet damn near brought a tear to my eye. God bless you Brian Wilson for blessing me with this, the greatest album I have ever heard. Expand
  7. df
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    STUNNING
  8. MattW
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best records I've ever heard. Seriously.
  9. StephenM
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Worth the wait.
  10. JonathanS
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable... gets better w/ each listening!
  11. KentS
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    It's great to hear the full thing after tasting only bits for ages. It's really fun,thanks Brian
  12. NikeshG
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Truly Ace
  13. TheFirstOneToComment
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    If this album were released by the Beach Boys in 1967, it would likely rank as my favorite album ever. In 2004 the songs are just as brilliant, but you miss the vocals of a sixties-era Brian (as well as Carl). This is still the greatest thing I've heard all year. One of the greatest things I've ever heard, in fact.
  14. DanielP
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    A mind blowing experience. Well worth the wait. Album of the year so far by a mile.
  15. FeidoV
    Apr 12, 2010
    9
    A great album.
  16. BrianE
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Perfection in Sound
  17. dickj
    Oct 5, 2004
    0
    Ambitious, banal, silly, over-produced, schlocky, depressing, sappy, 37 years too late and egotistic
  18. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Everyone who gave this album a negative review doesn't understand music. In order to really enjoy this music and realize how great it really is, you must be someone who really LISTENS to the music, rather that just hearing it for the mood that it brings. Brian Wilson is one of the most talented artist in the past 50 years and anyone who disagrees with that just is flat out dumb, and thisEveryone who gave this album a negative review doesn't understand music. In order to really enjoy this music and realize how great it really is, you must be someone who really LISTENS to the music, rather that just hearing it for the mood that it brings. Brian Wilson is one of the most talented artist in the past 50 years and anyone who disagrees with that just is flat out dumb, and this album is one of his best. Music these days such as metal, rap, pop, and country etc., that a person may hear on the T.V. or radio are for the dumb, simple minded people such as the people who gave this album a bad review are the people who don't have the time to go find music, but rather flip there remote to MTV. So when deciding to purchase this album, go ahead and do it, don't listen to the dumb as**** who gave this album a bad review because those people are just to stupid to understand this kind of music. Expand
  19. DuncanL.
    Jan 2, 2010
    3
    The great thing about this being the best rated album by the music critics is that it shows very clearly just how superficial and sheep like those critics actually are. This is no more than a piece of fluff good for a couple of spins and then put away at the back of the cupboard with that Nirvana record. But hey there are plenty of other sheep who agree with them so they must be right.
  20. GeneD
    Sep 13, 2008
    5
    Being less than enamoured with SMiLE, I read many of the reviews here, to get some idea of what it is I am not geting. High reatings seem to be associated with people who just like tha album, for non-specifiic reasons (read personal taste). Low ratings often gave specific reasons which I found in-line with my thoughts and feelings about the album. I have a hunch that Paul McCartney wrote Being less than enamoured with SMiLE, I read many of the reviews here, to get some idea of what it is I am not geting. High reatings seem to be associated with people who just like tha album, for non-specifiic reasons (read personal taste). Low ratings often gave specific reasons which I found in-line with my thoughts and feelings about the album. I have a hunch that Paul McCartney wrote "Fool on the Hill" (listen to the bass harmonica!) for BW, after the mish-mash of Beach Boys music following Pet Sounds (which is quite good), was released. SMiLE is hard for me to listen to - it is an annoying, non-stop assault of sound and ambiguous lyrics that do not even titillate my imagination. Hence, my middling rating for SMiLE. Expand
  21. JoeG
    Mar 9, 2006
    5
    I wanted to love this, I really did. It's from a genius isn't it, one of the great lost treasures of 60's pop! A few of the sequences (Heroes and Villians) are excellent, but I struggled to warm to much else, some of which is positively flaky. I've just sold it on Ebay, and hope the buyer enjoys it more than I did.
  22. markh
    Jun 8, 2006
    5
    greatest album ever. hahahahahahahahahahha yeah right, refund please.
  23. erikb
    May 7, 2007
    3
    one of those albums that you'll force yourself to hear all the way through because you "should," and then realize it is totally impossible to listen to. Can't really say I enjoyed this one at all, which is tough to admit given all the hype. Maybe I don't "get it" but I think the emperor's new clothes comment got it right.
  24. DaveN
    Aug 5, 2005
    3
    Who would have thought that the band Brian really wanted to play in was the Moody Blues?
  25. MattM
    Nov 7, 2004
    3
    Pretty freakin' boring. The only really good songs are the ones we've heard before: "Good Vibrations" and "Heroes and Villains."
  26. brianwilson
    Oct 2, 2004
    1
    It sucks, overrated piece of trash.
  27. BigStuart
    Oct 9, 2004
    0
    It has *sheep sounds* in it! god sake! and his voice is incredibly annoying! this sucks so very very bad.
  28. DustinB
    Oct 26, 2005
    2
    I feel like I'm taking crazy pills! I can only imagine that fans of Wilson's past work must remain enamored, because the songs Heroes and Villians, Wind Chimes, and of course, Good Vibrations, save this album from being entire awful. Listen to songs Barnyard and Vega-tables to realize that Brian Wilson has nothing interesting left to sing about. Actually, don't listen to I feel like I'm taking crazy pills! I can only imagine that fans of Wilson's past work must remain enamored, because the songs Heroes and Villians, Wind Chimes, and of course, Good Vibrations, save this album from being entire awful. Listen to songs Barnyard and Vega-tables to realize that Brian Wilson has nothing interesting left to sing about. Actually, don't listen to them, just take my word for it and skip this album entirely. Expand
  29. JohnD
    Jan 7, 2005
    0
    Just awful.
  30. harrypotter
    Oct 9, 2005
    1
    Opt for the Beach Boys originals instead. This is the sound of some demented old geezer trying to relive his glory days while equally demented old critics and musos oddly lap it all up. The emperors new clothes springs to mind. Waste of time. Complete and utter.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Smile is quite simply the greatest triumph in the history of pop music.
  2. Smile's post-adolescent utopia isn't disfigured by Brian's thickened, soured 62-year-old voice. It's ennobled--the material limitations of its sunny artifice and pretentious tomfoolery acknowledged and joyfully engaged.
  3. "Smile" emerges as a beautiful and cohesive work, at times deeply moving, at others oddly whimsical, at still others eerily disturbing but celebratory. [27 Sep 2004]