SMiLE - Brian Wilson
SMiLE Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 428 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Well, better 37 years late than never. Originally intended to be the Beach Boys' 1967 follow-up to their legendary 'Pet Sounds,' 'Smile' was finally recorded as originally intended in April 2004 by Wilson and his current band, including co-songwriter Van Dyke Parks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Smile is quite simply the greatest triumph in the history of pop music.
  2. 100
    A unique and unlikely moment of retrieval, restoration and renaissance. [Nov 2004, p.98]
  3. 100
    This is a brilliant record, just as it's always been.
  4. 95
    One of the most inspiring and triumphant projects of the year, and perhaps the last 30 years. [#13, p.89]
  5. The end result is a great album, albeit one more lighthearted than its myth would suggest.
  6. This is pop music like nothing before it, or since.
  7. Hearing the newly recorded album as a completed work instead of dismembered modules is a rollicking reassertion of Wilson's compositional genius.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 339
  1. BrianE
    Mar 26, 2010
    10
    Perfection in Sound
  2. MeatMuffin
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    The people who are giving this album a 10 seem to be generally smarter than the ones who are giving it lower scores. Just read the reviews below this one. Expand
  3. JamesD
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    best cd i ever owned
  4. YaronS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    Released in 2004 or 1967 doesnt matter...its simply a great ride through an inavative and genious masterpiece of music. I did'nt know the whole story behind Smile...I just approched it as a regular cd I wanted to listen to. I have to admit that it took me a few listens to really grasp it, because the melodic rythems are very complex and unique - this cd is not for all ears, but I found it very moving!!! Expand
  5. KimM
    May 2, 2009
    9
    Simply superb.
  6. JackL
    Mar 12, 2006
    6
    There once was a man named Brian Wilson; a fragile man who created many works of greatness in the '60s with the Beach Boys. After releasing "Pet Sounds", he began to prepare an album that's greatness would surpass any that ever been released. He worked... and worked... and worked. "Smile" was assumed to be lost forever until one day, 37 years later, it finally saw a release. It was a breathtaking work of genius and totally kicked Sgt. Pepper's ass. The deranged savant Brian Wilson was finally at peace. The end. Wasn't that a good story? Music journalists certainly thought so, declaring the album one of the best of the year; and even all time. Putting aside the history of the album, however, reveals a mediocre release full of cornball songs about barnyard animals and vegetables. The best tracks of this CD were released years ago, and to be frank, they sounded a lot better in their original versions. The first time I listened to this CD, I hated it, but I've given it another chance and it's growing on me. It still isn't anything truly great, in my opinion. Beach Boys fans and music historians may love it. As for everyone else, move on- there's nothing to see here. Expand
  7. BigStuart
    Oct 9, 2004
    0
    It has *sheep sounds* in it! god sake! and his voice is incredibly annoying! this sucks so very very bad.

See all 339 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.