Smother - Wild Beasts
Smother Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British quartet releases its follow-up to its 2010 Mercury Prize-nominated album Two Dancers, produced by Richard Formby.
  • Record Label: Domino
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Post-Punk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 9, 2011
    100
    They are, right now, the most inspirational, intriguing, effortlessly enrapturing band at work on these shores. And Smother might well prove to be the album of 2011.
  2. May 9, 2011
    90
    It'd be reductive to try and describe a timeless album like Smother as a step up from its two predecessors, or even as a surefire Mercury contender--although it is, on both counts.
  3. The Cumbrian quartet haven't fumbled the ball with the follow-up. Smother, recorded in the shadow of Snowdonia, tinkles and twinkles like the classiest adult-alternative pop of the 1980s.
  4. May 9, 2011
    80
    Smother isn't conventional chart material, but will make their burgeoning cult impossible to ignore.
  5. 80
    The ultimate beauty of Smother, though, comes from its subtlety as Wild Beasts continue to transcend conventional pop music with yet another great addition to their catalog.
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    78
    Smother, roiling in passion often disorienting in its envelopment, is difficult to penetrate, but there is ecstasy in the succumbing.
  7. May 16, 2011
    50
    Overall, Smother seems to be missing purpose. I hear those careful ruminations on relationships, and I hear the pain that evidently went into this, but it leaves me cold.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    The rate at which Wild Beasts are improving is absolutely horrifying. Two Dancers was incredible, but it snuck through 2009 somewhatThe rate at which Wild Beasts are improving is absolutely horrifying. Two Dancers was incredible, but it snuck through 2009 somewhat overlooked and underrated. My expectations after that album were quite high, but Smother is even better than I hoped. Wild Beasts have expanded their already very unique sonic palette, and they've produced a more subtle yet more powerful album this time around. 2011 is shaping up to be a great year for music, but I'll be surprised if anything manages to top this for the rest of the year. Smother is that good. I wish the rest of 2011 the best of luck. Expand
  2. May 14, 2011
    10
    I wasn't too excited when the first single Albatross came out, but once I listened whole album I was amazed, this gem wrapped me instantly andI wasn't too excited when the first single Albatross came out, but once I listened whole album I was amazed, this gem wrapped me instantly and once I listened I couldn't leave it. I'm a fan of this guys since limbo panto (rare and beautiful album, kinda underrated I think). Smother is an intimate album, stunning and beautiful from the first track 'lion's share' - hayden thorpe voice is really over the top in this album - to the glorious last track 'end come too soon'. I could say now that every single track is a highlight by itself, although my favorites are bed of nails and loop the loop. I don't think there would possibly be another release even close to this, best album of the year so far, these guys deserve all the recognition, wild beasts got me once again..I just wish I could see them live once. Collapse
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful album. Loop the Loop, Plaything and End Come Too Soon are highlights, but it's a stunning, tranquil, and glorious effort. Best albumBeautiful album. Loop the Loop, Plaything and End Come Too Soon are highlights, but it's a stunning, tranquil, and glorious effort. Best album of the year so far, though Goblin by Tyler the Creator and PJ Harvey's Let England Shake are also brilliant. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Wild Beasts have toned down the vocal theatrics in this album, especially in comparison to their two previous albums, however this does notWild Beasts have toned down the vocal theatrics in this album, especially in comparison to their two previous albums, however this does not detract from the album at all. Smother is filled with moments of dazzling beauty and is easily one of the top albums of 2011. Expand
  5. May 29, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. It took me a couple of listens to really appreciate it. I love it. This and Destroyers Kaputt are my Top 2 so far this year.Amazing album. It took me a couple of listens to really appreciate it. I love it. This and Destroyers Kaputt are my Top 2 so far this year. It has a new edgy sound couple with great lyrics. Will be recognized as one of the Top 3 albums of 2011. Expand
  6. May 17, 2011
    9
    Once you first listen to this album, go directly to the track 8 (Reach a Bit Further). If you don't fall in love with this song, you can dropOnce you first listen to this album, go directly to the track 8 (Reach a Bit Further). If you don't fall in love with this song, you can drop this album. Amazing but uncompromising album. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    Not as strong or diverse as previous album two dancers. Sounds like a band running through the paces. Doesn't have the impact of theirNot as strong or diverse as previous album two dancers. Sounds like a band running through the paces. Doesn't have the impact of their previous work. Its time for a change. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2011
    Find out more about the past month's best albums, which include new works from Fleet Foxes, Raphael Saadiq, and the Beastie Boys. Plus, listen to tracks from each one.