Snakes & Arrows Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Their 18th album overall, 'Snakes' is the Canadian trio's first studio outing since 2002's 'Vapor Trails.' Nick Raskulinecz co-produced.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Snakes & Arrows is one of the tightest conceptual records the band has ever released.
  2. Rush has delivered what is arguably their best work since 1990’s Presto.
  3. A return to their former glory days, Snakes and Arrows shows this seminal prog rock band reclaiming some of the sonic territory that they'd lost over the past few years.
  4. Most of the proceedings are fairly clean-cut and midtempo, with guitars only intermittently attaining heavy density. [5 May 2007]
  5. Meet the new Rush, same as the old Rush....and as it turns out after all these years that's a pretty good thing.
  6. If you're a Rush fan, add two stars; if not, subtract two.
  7. Unfortunately, too much of Snakes and Arrows is dominated by mid-tempo, lumbering behemoths.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. JamesW.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    The best album they have ever done with Niel Peart still playing really good and for me he is the best drummer going.
  2. MarkG
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This is an incredible work of art. Rush never cease to amaze. Can't wait for the concert!
  3. Terry
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Geddy Lee could crap on a platter and I'd love it! I give it a 10!
  4. charless
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Keep listening. Rush is like good wine. It gets better with age. As each new album is released I think "bummer, this isn't as good as the last one." But it has to sink into your brain and connect on its own and after a time ... if you are patient ... it reveals itself to be genius, ie Entre Nous, Time Stand Still and now Main Monkey Business ... all genius .... Expand
  5. JimM
    May 17, 2007
    9
    I must be one of the few people whose opinion of Rush changed from indifferent to favorable within the past decade. Geddy Lee's solo album, followed by Vapor Trails (which I thought was musically solid and lyrically brilliant), then seeing them perform live several times converted me to an admirer. Now, Snakes and Arrows. So many bands lose their edge with age; how do these guys get even better? I think it's because they are first and foremost musicians and Peart is an intellectual with impressive writing skills. Anyway, this album is really growing on me the more I listen. And I can't wait to see/hear them live again. Good work guys. Collapse
  6. rikkiL
    May 28, 2007
    9
    This album by far exceeds anything they have done in years. It is heavy and and great rythym.The lyrics are profound, in which we all can relate to and not out in the stratosphere.If the music keeps you coming back you know its good. Great job guys! Expand
  7. ToddW
    May 24, 2007
    5
    As a Rush fan for more than 30 years, I have to laugh at those hyperventilating about their new album. Simply put, this offering is merely O.K., and that's pretty much what we've been getting every time out from the Toronto rockers for the past two decades. Me? I expect so much more from a band backed by one of the best rock drummers of all time. (Although Mastodon's Brann Dailor is currently the King of the Kit.) There is nothing on here remotely in league with "Moving Pictures," "Signals," "2112," or "Presto." Heck, there's nothing on here as good as anything on "Hold Your Fire" or "Counterparts." What Rush does well is play live, as witness the shows I have seen and their many live albums I have purchased. I gave up hope for them in the studio long ago. Oh sure, I'll keep forking over the bucks to hear another effort, but only to see if Neil Peart still has a heart. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews