So-Called Chaos - Alanis Morissette
So-Called Chaos Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Canadian singer-songwriter returns with ten new songs, co-produced by Morissette with John Shanks and Tim Thorney.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. While there's nothing as irresistibly catchy as "Under Rug Swept"'s magnificent "Hands Clean", the overall impression, musically speaking, is one of freshness, optimism and energy. But better still, it's smart, and sussed, and frequently funny as hell.
  2. It's brighter, denser, catchier than either of its immediate predecessors, and boasts her most assured singing yet.
  3. She isn't exploring new emotional ground, but her personal delivery and self-deprecating tone still go a long way.
  4. So in effect it's business as usual, down to the crunchy (and pretty good) arena-rock that counterpoints the lyrics.
  5. It's too wordy by half, but underneath the psychobabble lies the most solid collection of AOR you're likely to encounter this year. [Jun 2004, p.105]
  6. Once more, her songs become little more than cloying ruminations or sarcastic harangues aimed at those who want to squash her individuality. [28 May 2004, p.121]
  7. 20
    She's lost track of almost everything that made her music marvellous. [Jun 2004, p.101]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. ixata
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    her least interesting album, but still a great album, its just her least... the album starts with the fast-paced 8 easy steps, a really her least interesting album, but still a great album, its just her least... the album starts with the fast-paced 8 easy steps, a really catchy and high energied performance. however, this song really doesnt give you what the whole album is about. this is followed by the mid-tempo, quite poppish Out Is Through. Listenable, but won't hook listeners. the 3rd track, Excuses, regains energy with powerful choruses. the album slows down again with Doth I Protest Too Much. A slow but still good number. Then the album rises it agn(gosh!) with the really-not-rocky Knees Of My Bees. But very enjoyable. The Last Track, Everything, is the hit that will surely be repeated agn n agn. Expand
  2. BecksD
    May 21, 2004
    10
    What the hell were the critics listening to? Let's hope metacritic can find more than five reviews on this. The 57 rating doesn't What the hell were the critics listening to? Let's hope metacritic can find more than five reviews on this. The 57 rating doesn't make sense. It's a lyrically and musically genious record. Expand
  3. JaneH
    May 25, 2004
    10
    I love the catchy music in So-Called Chaos. Combined with Alanis' introspective and thoughtful lyrics, it's definitely something I love the catchy music in So-Called Chaos. Combined with Alanis' introspective and thoughtful lyrics, it's definitely something worth chewing through. Expand
  4. LisaC
    May 19, 2004
    9
    Lovely melodies, quirky lyrics and an incredible voice.
  5. Mark
    May 27, 2004
    9
    It deserves to be a word-of-mouth smash like her first disc- Jagged Little Pill. Rock, pop, folk- it's just catchy. She continues to It deserves to be a word-of-mouth smash like her first disc- Jagged Little Pill. Rock, pop, folk- it's just catchy. She continues to grow as an artist and I appreciate that. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    It's a good album, but not a great album. The sound is more relaxed and radio friendly, but it misses some of the deep emotion that AlanisIt's a good album, but not a great album. The sound is more relaxed and radio friendly, but it misses some of the deep emotion that Alanis has. Still, there's plenty of appealing songs to choose from, such as "8 Easy Steps", "Excuses" and "Everything". Expand
  7. JoeW
    May 26, 2004
    3
    Her worst album yet. The music pretty good, but much of it, both musically and lyrically is a rehash of Under Rug Swept, almost to the point Her worst album yet. The music pretty good, but much of it, both musically and lyrically is a rehash of Under Rug Swept, almost to the point of cover songs ("Excuses" is a lyrical rehash of "Precious Illusions", "Bees of My Knees" is a music rehash of that same song.) It's all so recyled. The only progress seems to be that she cranks up the narcissism to an unbearable degree culminating in the unbearable "Everything" - a quagmire of "I, I, I," and "Me, Me, Me,". Alanis! Nobody, not even you darlin', are that interesting. Collapse

See all 34 User Reviews