So Far Gone [EP]

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 63
  2. Negative: 13 out of 63

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    Probably the best Rap/R'n'B crossover debut ever. His lyrical skill matches his vocal talent and there is a real sense of the old and new school styles being blended with great technical ability, like a scientist making drugs to be consumed by the mainstream. There is enough here to appeal to real hip-hop fans and to the kids who will provide his main stream of revenue. If you don't enjoyProbably the best Rap/R'n'B crossover debut ever. His lyrical skill matches his vocal talent and there is a real sense of the old and new school styles being blended with great technical ability, like a scientist making drugs to be consumed by the mainstream. There is enough here to appeal to real hip-hop fans and to the kids who will provide his main stream of revenue. If you don't enjoy this record then you are probably missing the point. He has unwittingly exposed the thousands of throwaway R'n'B artists around the world as frauds and his signing to Young Money (a hip-hop imprint) is proof of his versatility.
    10/10 98/100
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    ovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxo
    ovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxo ovoxo ovoxoovoxo ovoxoovoxo ovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxo ovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxov ovoxoovoxo
  3. Sep 8, 2015
    10
    The best mixtape to come out in 2009! This amazing introspective body of work put Drake on the map. Shooting straight to the top of the charts with a mixtape forced people to realize that it doesn’t matter whether you come from the streets. All that matters is if you have good music. This mixtape introduced a generation to their go to hit maker. While also cementing Drake’s name in theThe best mixtape to come out in 2009! This amazing introspective body of work put Drake on the map. Shooting straight to the top of the charts with a mixtape forced people to realize that it doesn’t matter whether you come from the streets. All that matters is if you have good music. This mixtape introduced a generation to their go to hit maker. While also cementing Drake’s name in the game of hip hop. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    6
    What makes this an decent EP is that he added like 2 new songs out of 7. Its basically the So Far Gone Mixtape with like 2 new songs. It's still a good EP but i just rather listen to The mixtape version
  5. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Includes two new songs "I'm Goin' In," and "Fear," and five songs that were previously available on "So Far Gone [Mixtape]." "So Far Gone [EP]" by Drake is a winner and must-be-heard.
  6. Apr 3, 2015
    8
    Pretty much the same as the mixtape, which was amazing. I didn't really like the new song "I'm Going In," mostly because of Lil Wayne, but "Fear" is a great song and was a great addition.
  7. Feb 23, 2015
    7
    Drake added 2 new songs, Fear and I'm Going In. Both new songs are great in my opinion! It is always a plus in my book if a rapper can also sing which Drake can do perfectly.
  8. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    While not exploring new depths, this mix tape is enjoyable. 'The Calm' is pretty awful and Houstatlantavegas becomes really annoying. The beats are alright, but it's a bit mainstream for who is a die-hard hip hop fan.
  9. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    I got into Drake a lot later than most people. Sure, I heard his songs on the radio and I thought they were pretty good, but it wasn't until I heard Thank Me Later that I became a true fan of Drake. So Far Gone has a different feel to it though, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. What I like about Drake is that he's not a stereotypical rapper from the hood that raps about being aI got into Drake a lot later than most people. Sure, I heard his songs on the radio and I thought they were pretty good, but it wasn't until I heard Thank Me Later that I became a true fan of Drake. So Far Gone has a different feel to it though, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. What I like about Drake is that he's not a stereotypical rapper from the hood that raps about being a gangster and all that. He grew up in a wealthy household in the suburbs and he doesn't try to act like he's anything else. His songs bring a different feel and story to them that is rare to find in rappers today. I really like all the songs on the album (though I did have to grow to like Uptown) except for Houstatlantavegas and the Calm, which weren't bad songs, i just wouldn't have them on repeat. Great start though and I hope to see more from Drake in upcoming years. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. So Far Gone shows that Drake is for real, and works as a tantalizing teaser for his first full-length record.
  2. For those unfamiliar with Drake's ambidextrous style — crooning Auto-Tune love songs one moment, spitting clever bars the next — it's a handy primer. Everyone else can put the neurosis-exploring new cut ''Fear'' on repeat and continue anticipating.
  3. Now, many months later, we have the condensed EP version of his acclaimed third mixtape. Musically, there is really only one weak link on here: the annoying-as-hell “I’m Goin’ In”.