So Far Gone [EP] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut EP album for the Canadian rapper features five tracks from his mixtape released earlier in the year.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. The songs that were already previously available on "So Far Gone" are a winner and the new songs don't bring Drake down off the high cloud he's already on.
  2. So Far Gone shows that Drake is for real, and works as a tantalizing teaser for his first full-length record.
  3. For those unfamiliar with Drake's ambidextrous style — crooning Auto-Tune love songs one moment, spitting clever bars the next — it's a handy primer. Everyone else can put the neurosis-exploring new cut ''Fear'' on repeat and continue anticipating.
  4. Now, many months later, we have the condensed EP version of his acclaimed third mixtape. Musically, there is really only one weak link on here: the annoying-as-hell “I’m Goin’ In”.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    ovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxo ovoxo ovoxoovoxo ovoxoovoxo
    ovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxo ovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxoovoxov ovoxoovoxo Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2012
    Includes two new songs "I'm Goin' In," and "Fear," and five songs that were previously available on "So Far Gone [Mixtape]." "So Far Gone [EP]" by Drake is a winner and must-be-heard. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    Probably the best Rap/R'n'B crossover debut ever. His lyrical skill matches his vocal talent and there is a real sense of the old and new school styles being blended with great technical ability, like a scientist making drugs to be consumed by the mainstream. There is enough here to appeal to real hip-hop fans and to the kids who will provide his main stream of revenue. If you don't enjoy this record then you are probably missing the point. He has unwittingly exposed the thousands of throwaway R'n'B artists around the world as frauds and his signing to Young Money (a hip-hop imprint) is proof of his versatility.
    10/10 98/100
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    What makes this an decent EP is that he added like 2 new songs out of 7. Its basically the So Far Gone Mixtape with like 2 new songs. It's still a good EP but i just rather listen to The mixtape version Collapse