So You Are... So You'll Be Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Artist(s): Dave W., Ego Sensation, Nick Name
  • Summary: The seventh full-length release for the Brooklyn-based space rock trio was produced by Martin Bisi.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Thrill Jockey
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Neo-Psychedelia, Stoner Metal, Space Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Oct 23, 2013
    Demented, wigged out and stupendously mind-blowing, White Hills can't be Brooklyn's best-kept secret much longer. [Sep 2013, p.88]
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    All of what you might have liked about White Hills is here--the Hawkwind-ish guitar excesses, the free-form Kraut drones that go on and on, a la Wooden Shjips or Bardo Pond. It’s just that this time, all the cotton batting has been stripped off, the fuzz removed to reveal structure and complexity underneath.
  3. Q Magazine
    Feb 4, 2014
    This seventh official LP is definitively their best so far. [Oct 2013, p.113]
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    They’ve managed to balance brutality with a controlled ambience that takes nothing away from their distinctive character.
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    Expertly recorded by Martin Bisi (famous for his work with Swans, Sonic Youth and White Zombie), the production is perfect and the songs are mostly more than compelling enough to make it work.
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    When the band take a decent melody and build a whole track around it, the formula is a winning one; what won’t appeal to some though are the occasional meanderings where the spacey blips and bleeps appear to have no meaningful musical direction.
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    With so much music released by White Hills, a lot of the tracks end up being mood-lighting (“InWords,” “OutWords,” “The Internal Monologue,” “Circulating”), but the album’s back-half, kicked off by “Forever in Space (Enlightened),” is what keeps me spinning.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of