Some Devil

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2003
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SarahN
    Dec 4, 2003
    10
    This CD, while derivating from Dave's usual style, was beautiful. Stay or Leave and Some Devil are two beautiful, haunting pieces that I will never grow tired of listening to.
  2. Stephen
    Sep 28, 2005
    9
    Wonderful album, a world of its own. Showcases Dave's individual identity and style more than his DMB records. Highly recommended.
  3. MaajedW
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing music. It's dark, melodious and definitely has a touch of genius!
  4. TeanneM
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    In three words = a beautiful masterpiece.
  5. petediddyf
    Oct 3, 2003
    5
    You've got to respect his willingness to take a step away from the band and attempt an album on his own (or at least with the help trey and tim). I can only guess as to why he wanted to go solo, perhaps he feels like hes drying up creatively. Regardless of why, he still has an album here that is hit and miss in the same way that everything since Before These Crowded Streets has been. You've got to respect his willingness to take a step away from the band and attempt an album on his own (or at least with the help trey and tim). I can only guess as to why he wanted to go solo, perhaps he feels like hes drying up creatively. Regardless of why, he still has an album here that is hit and miss in the same way that everything since Before These Crowded Streets has been. The string arrangements certainly add a certain depth, and Trey's contribution is certainly appreciated, but these highs don't make up for the lack of feeling in his voice. He can write his lyrics with as much emotion (or lack of) as he wants to, but when it comes time to record the emotion just doesn't come through. Where's the love Dave? I get the sense that he is still searching spiritually, and that lack of spiritual depth detracts considerably from the overall effect of the album. Expand
  6. JimR
    Oct 6, 2003
    1
    Frat boy drivel, avoid at all costs.
  7. CurtW
    Mar 6, 2006
    9
    Big fan of dave and a big fan of this cd. although i like the eletric violin of boyd tinsley, its not missed that much with these amazing tracks.
  8. chrisP.
    Oct 10, 2003
    8
    Indulgent? Damn right. Dave has earned the right to indulge himself as much as he wants. It's also full of extremely personal writing, easy, loose arrangements, and subtle musicianship. Not DMB, but definitely DM.
  9. Thomas
    Oct 13, 2003
    10
    Dave makes his first try at a solo album...and to put it bluntly, it rocks! Dave is back.
  10. Crash
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    Dave takes a stab at his own solo creativity and does a marvelous job. Trey and Tim as always add a unforgettable element to the sounds of Dave Matthews.
  11. WickedRapunzel
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    Dave lifts you ups and takes you down through the underground caverns of his soul. It's an amazing album that's lyrically superior to anything released in the past year.
  12. NseE
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    Cor, what a corker!!! Brilliant. This is my introduction to Dave Mathews music and I love it. I've got the one with the bonus disc. Faves include 'Gravedigger', 'Some devil', 'Stay or leave', 'Grey street', 'Seek up', 'When the world ends', and my absolute favourite 'An' another thing' which is just so dreamy Cor, what a corker!!! Brilliant. This is my introduction to Dave Mathews music and I love it. I've got the one with the bonus disc. Faves include 'Gravedigger', 'Some devil', 'Stay or leave', 'Grey street', 'Seek up', 'When the world ends', and my absolute favourite 'An' another thing' which is just so dreamy and beautiful. Expand
  13. Christian
    Dec 4, 2003
    9
    This soulful journey within this beautifully dark treated landscape full of hypnotic rhythms and haunting lyrics lure you through this threaded sanctuary as one quietly drifts away. Nothing short of brilliant for those who understand the complexities of musical compositions...
  14. FranceenF
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    My husband and I absolutely love this solo effort by Dave. As much as we are INTO DMB, this CD roars past our all time favorites of the "band" into 1st place !!
  15. mikes
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    im only 15 but i know good music and this is it guys. i dont know what the person that gave it a 5 was thinking!!
  16. lisam
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    this album touched my soul in a way that no music ever has. It makes me feel every emotion that humans have ever felt in their life all in one album. amazing if you ask me. Thank you Dave
  17. Linda
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    This album brings with it a wave of emotion when you listen to the lyrics, there is so much feeling behind the songs. They just absorb you.
  18. NiallS.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Love it! One of my top 10 albums ever.
  19. JohnE.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    This is a great deep album I enjoyed it very much, and still do even after listening to it for a couple of years. I never got tired of it. That's the sign of a good album.
  20. PedroD
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    i love this album
  21. BradH.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Give it 3 listenings and you will be hooked. A must have for any Dave fan even without his band.
  22. joebob
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    this album is phenomenal
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. By far the best showcase for Dave Matthews' seductive, haunting and deep warble.
  2. The end results are a bit unwieldy, perhaps, and not always successful, but it is interesting and certainly different than a Dave Matthews Band record.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The Matthews Band's absence does leave a void, mainly because their instrumental acrobatics usually glossed over the flimsier songs written by their fearless leader. [3 Oct 2003, p.70]