User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 103
  2. Negative: 14 out of 103

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Fun.'s sophomore album "Some Nights" is the game played right. A successful album in modern music is relevant to the current mainstream, yet not dependent on that relevance. Some Nights is both relevant and original. But most importantly, it has replay value. Fun. has left a mark on indie-pop that will always be there.
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    This is the album of the year for me. It's definitely an acquired taste, but it's rare for me to find an album this musically competent, lyrically thought provoking, and emotionally powerful. The songs are beautiful statements that depicts philosophical and psychological themes that definitely cause the listener to experience a range of thoughts and emotions. Musically, it's very experimental, and I think it works. The title song is an emotionally charged five minute roller coaster, while tracks like "We Are Young" and "Carry On" note the inevitable difficulties in life, but approach them in an optimistic way. Songs like "Why Am I The One" and "One Foot" are tragically depressing, and written beautifully. "Stars" is musically very interesting, and a great way to close the album. Nate's vocal performance throughout the album is very bold, and adapts to the diversity of the album's lyrics, as well as to its music. I can understand why the reviews are so polarizing. It's very different, both from what is popular in mainstream music today, and from what the band has done previously, so it makes sense that it would disappoint both groups. It's not going to be to everybody's taste, and that's fine. I'm just glad that this album happens to fit my tastes, because I consider it a real treat to have listened to it. If you're open to different things, and you like an album that's going to be about emotion and deep thinking, you might love this as much as I did. If you're in the mood for something that's just about sheer enjoyability and entertainment, which I often am, you might stay away from this one. Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Great job critics for once again making an album look terrible even though it isn't. I will admit that Aim & Ignite was a better album then Some Nights, even though Some Nights was still a great follow up. I highly recommend it.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I must say I was very impressed with the album. Their debut album was very eclectic and enamoring but a little too 'hipster' for me. However, this album seems to have an identity of it's own. Ironically to say that, Jeff Bhasker could have done better with giving them Kanye West B-Sides. From the opening you seem to be caught up in a circus of vocals and and loud beats that seem so 'Glee' like yet you aren't as annoyed and pissed off. 'Some Nights' 'Carry On' 'It Get's Better' 'One Foot' and 'All Alone' seem to be the standout tracks from the album. However, 'Stars' is the true gem of the album. You'll learn to appreciate it if you know the difference between auto tune and a vocoder. It is definitely a My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy reject done in the alternative style but, it fits and is beyond infectious. Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This album is what chocolate would taste like in the form of sound. This album is calming, soothing, and has very catchy beats. I applaud the band for their outstanding performance. GOOD JOB!
  6. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    More of a response to some criticisms than a review. Let's get a couple things straight. This album contains absolutely no use of auto-tune. It's called a vocoder and it's not leaned on. It's used to enhance the sound and the band used it intentionally, they were not forced to use it. This is not a sellout album if anything, it's the exact opposite. Fun.'s debut album "Aim and Ignite" had a much more mainstream sound to it than this. The album has a layered, detailed aura about it that can be overwhelming to even seasoned listeners which probably turned off old fans. But the more you listen to it and the more acquainted you get with the sound, the better it gets. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Excellent album. I admit I was a bit skeptical when I first played for the first time but found it filled with emotion and catchy beats. The lyrics are great, along with the use of auto-tune to help convey emotion near perfectly. Unforgettable album. It has been on my playing list for the last 2 months and I don't see that changing
  8. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Some Nights is a really good album. It's not as amazing as their first, but still when compared to the rest of the Top 40 it is truly refreshing. We Are Young and Some Nights (title track) are the true standouts.
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Perfect Start To There Fame!
    Carry On Is The Sh!t!
  10. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best Pop/Alternative album in a long time. Nate Reuss storms onto the scene with his new band for the second time. With the Tracks We Are Young, Some Nights, Carry On, and All Alright. Fun. solidifies themselves as a legitimate band.
  11. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This was my fave album for about a year! I loved this from first listen! We Are Young was my fave song for a whole too! It was cool to hear it so often on the radio and when it won song of the year at the Grammys! A great album. Best tracks in my opinion: We Are Young, Some Nights, Why Am I The One, Carry On
  12. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Some Nights is an excellent album. We are Young is good but is in my opinion overshadowed by far by the song this album is named for. It´s bombastic, passionate, rhythmic, aggressive and very bold. Normally artists either wait before pulling out all stops but Fun goes all in and it pays off remarkably well. Only issue is that in comparison the rest of the album feels paler.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Some Nights is ultimately a confused, turgid tangle of ideas. [Jul 2012, p.100]
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    Against all odds, 'Some Nights' is a hoot: huge-sounding, packed with tunes and not lacking in humour.
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    For every ELO-meets-Panic!-At-The-Disco pop gem that makes you think Fun. are great, there's also an Auto-Tuned-to-buggery vocal or irksome trumpet riff that simply grates. [26 May 2012, p.53]