Some Nights

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2012
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 121
  2. Negative: 17 out of 121
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Fun.'s sophomore album "Some Nights" is the game played right. A successful album in modern music is relevant to the current mainstream, yet not dependent on that relevance. Some Nights is both relevant and original. But most importantly, it has replay value. Fun. has left a mark on indie-pop that will always be there.
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    This is the album of the year for me. It's definitely an acquired taste, but it's rare for me to find an album this musically competent, lyrically thought provoking, and emotionally powerful. The songs are beautiful statements that depicts philosophical and psychological themes that definitely cause the listener to experience a range of thoughts and emotions. Musically, it's veryThis is the album of the year for me. It's definitely an acquired taste, but it's rare for me to find an album this musically competent, lyrically thought provoking, and emotionally powerful. The songs are beautiful statements that depicts philosophical and psychological themes that definitely cause the listener to experience a range of thoughts and emotions. Musically, it's very experimental, and I think it works. The title song is an emotionally charged five minute roller coaster, while tracks like "We Are Young" and "Carry On" note the inevitable difficulties in life, but approach them in an optimistic way. Songs like "Why Am I The One" and "One Foot" are tragically depressing, and written beautifully. "Stars" is musically very interesting, and a great way to close the album. Nate's vocal performance throughout the album is very bold, and adapts to the diversity of the album's lyrics, as well as to its music. I can understand why the reviews are so polarizing. It's very different, both from what is popular in mainstream music today, and from what the band has done previously, so it makes sense that it would disappoint both groups. It's not going to be to everybody's taste, and that's fine. I'm just glad that this album happens to fit my tastes, because I consider it a real treat to have listened to it. If you're open to different things, and you like an album that's going to be about emotion and deep thinking, you might love this as much as I did. If you're in the mood for something that's just about sheer enjoyability and entertainment, which I often am, you might stay away from this one. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    A really solid album although it doesn't hold a candle to their first album, Aim & Ignite. They still put a good effort in though. The song are catchy fun to listen to. You might find yourself going to listen to this album and playing Aim and Ignite as it happened 3 out of 4 times when I tried to listen to this. A good album, probably the best release of this year so far.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    Really solid album. the lead single 'We Are Young' has Grammy nomination potential. The standout tracks for me were "We Are Young", "Carry On", "Why Am I the One", "All Alone" and "Stars"
  5. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    LETS GET THIS STRAIGHT ONCE AND FOR ALL THIS ALBUM USES AUTO TUNE.If you don't believe it, Fun.did a studio session for 104.5 WRFF and there is an question during the session about Nates use of Autotune.His answer was that the guitarists gets pedals to play with, why can't I play around with Autotune.You can find this on the Web www.radio104.5.com/main.html WRFF Philadelphia.ILETS GET THIS STRAIGHT ONCE AND FOR ALL THIS ALBUM USES AUTO TUNE.If you don't believe it, Fun.did a studio session for 104.5 WRFF and there is an question during the session about Nates use of Autotune.His answer was that the guitarists gets pedals to play with, why can't I play around with Autotune.You can find this on the Web www.radio104.5.com/main.html WRFF Philadelphia.I personally don't care whether he uses Autotune or not, I know he can sing, I've heard him live. Most of the singers I like couldn't be helped by all the Autotune in the world. Anyway,it is a good solid album and pretty darn enjoyable,yeah they may be leaning to the arena rock side a little but they do it better than most purveyors of that ilk. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Great job critics for once again making an album look terrible even though it isn't. I will admit that Aim & Ignite was a better album then Some Nights, even though Some Nights was still a great follow up. I highly recommend it.
  7. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    I decided to give it a shot after seeing it on Prime Music and I gotta say that I was actually quite impressed. Original sound, Great vocals, and plenty of catchy, good songs. Seriously underrated album in my opinion and definitely worth checking out, I wouldn't mind buying it in stores.
  8. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I must say I was very impressed with the album. Their debut album was very eclectic and enamoring but a little too 'hipster' for me. However, this album seems to have an identity of it's own. Ironically to say that, Jeff Bhasker could have done better with giving them Kanye West B-Sides. From the opening you seem to be caught up in a circus of vocals and and loud beats that seem so 'Glee' like yet you aren't as annoyed and pissed off. 'Some Nights' 'Carry On' 'It Get's Better' 'One Foot' and 'All Alone' seem to be the standout tracks from the album. However, 'Stars' is the true gem of the album. You'll learn to appreciate it if you know the difference between auto tune and a vocoder. It is definitely a My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy reject done in the alternative style but, it fits and is beyond infectious. Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This album is what chocolate would taste like in the form of sound. This album is calming, soothing, and has very catchy beats. I applaud the band for their outstanding performance. GOOD JOB!
  10. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    More of a response to some criticisms than a review. Let's get a couple things straight. This album contains absolutely no use of auto-tune. It's called a vocoder and it's not leaned on. It's used to enhance the sound and the band used it intentionally, they were not forced to use it. This is not a sellout album if anything, it's the exact opposite. Fun.'s debut album "Aim and Ignite" hadMore of a response to some criticisms than a review. Let's get a couple things straight. This album contains absolutely no use of auto-tune. It's called a vocoder and it's not leaned on. It's used to enhance the sound and the band used it intentionally, they were not forced to use it. This is not a sellout album if anything, it's the exact opposite. Fun.'s debut album "Aim and Ignite" had a much more mainstream sound to it than this. The album has a layered, detailed aura about it that can be overwhelming to even seasoned listeners which probably turned off old fans. But the more you listen to it and the more acquainted you get with the sound, the better it gets. Expand
  11. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    Strange combination of electronics & indie rock, heard even on the first - operatic and reminding Queen - "Some Nights Intro" distinctive style, resulted in a great album. There's a plenty of backing vocals, a little grotesque climate and interesting arrangements that make every song is worth your attention.
  12. May 30, 2012
    7
    Say that this American trio in thick butter is an understatement: his songs are fist-in-the air possible, thick layers of vocals and dominated everything is bathed in a shimmering pop sheen. In a horizon blocked by mock indie pop and cartoons, these nods to Queen, ELO, the Bee Gees and Boston are refreshing, if not subtle. Difficult not a smile at the sound of hymns as larger than lifeSay that this American trio in thick butter is an understatement: his songs are fist-in-the air possible, thick layers of vocals and dominated everything is bathed in a shimmering pop sheen. In a horizon blocked by mock indie pop and cartoons, these nods to Queen, ELO, the Bee Gees and Boston are refreshing, if not subtle. Difficult not a smile at the sound of hymns as larger than life Carry on, padded flute, bagpipes, strings, brass, lark. Supervised by Jeff Bhasker (Kanye adjuvant on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy), Some Nights is a little too cold and digital, but the sweet kind, fun skill. must be emphasized. Expand
  13. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    As a sophomore album, fun. really shows what they can do in Some Nights. From the slow, marching beat of Carry On, to the uproar-inducing Some Nights, fun.'s colorful album bridges the gab between indie-rock and mainstream pop. Their creative uses of auto-tune is a refreshing branch off of the over-done use of it in popular music. fun. uses it as an artistic tool, rather than a fix for badAs a sophomore album, fun. really shows what they can do in Some Nights. From the slow, marching beat of Carry On, to the uproar-inducing Some Nights, fun.'s colorful album bridges the gab between indie-rock and mainstream pop. Their creative uses of auto-tune is a refreshing branch off of the over-done use of it in popular music. fun. uses it as an artistic tool, rather than a fix for bad vocals. Overall, fun.'s Some Nights is a wonderful album, and a real pleasure to listen to. Expand
  14. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Excellent album. I admit I was a bit skeptical when I first played for the first time but found it filled with emotion and catchy beats. The lyrics are great, along with the use of auto-tune to help convey emotion near perfectly. Unforgettable album. It has been on my playing list for the last 2 months and I don't see that changing
  15. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Funny thing about being indie: you aren't really indie if your **** on the mainstream radio, or if you assigned yourself to a label; you can be then deemed alternative. I don't know why fun. is being heaped with actual indie acts like Longwave and Valise; they're not indie anymore. Still, it doesn't take away from the album being at least OKAY.... some songs are tedious, like theFunny thing about being indie: you aren't really indie if your **** on the mainstream radio, or if you assigned yourself to a label; you can be then deemed alternative. I don't know why fun. is being heaped with actual indie acts like Longwave and Valise; they're not indie anymore. Still, it doesn't take away from the album being at least OKAY.... some songs are tedious, like the ever-famous "Some Nights" and don't really take into consideration the need for a song to be short and sweet, but who am i to judge? The rest of the album varies; "We Are Young" is catchy, but everything else is forgettable. It's a good album, just not memorable, just like every other release in the past few years save 21 and Channel Orange. And other albums that people don't recognize. Still, it irks me that they're considered "indie"; if they get popular and become mainstream, that defeats the purpose of being indie. A little disappointing and does take away from the album. Expand
  16. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Some Nights is a really good album. It's not as amazing as their first, but still when compared to the rest of the Top 40 it is truly refreshing. We Are Young and Some Nights (title track) are the true standouts.
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    Going headstrong into their 2nd Album, Some Nights by Fun. is an impressive album that stands out compared to modern music trends. The lyrics are powerful and inspiring, and the music composition is mostly well-done. Nate Ruess and his band members are true artists in that they write their own music, and it shows in their personal energy in each song; this is especially clear in their leadGoing headstrong into their 2nd Album, Some Nights by Fun. is an impressive album that stands out compared to modern music trends. The lyrics are powerful and inspiring, and the music composition is mostly well-done. Nate Ruess and his band members are true artists in that they write their own music, and it shows in their personal energy in each song; this is especially clear in their lead singles "We Are Young" and "Some Nights." I am aware that people have criticized the second half of the album as "inferior to the first," which I disagree with. Though "All Alone," "All Alright" and "One Foot" are not masterpieces like the leading songs, they are entertaining and reflect a more simple style. "Carry On" and "Why Am I the One" are terrific songs in their own right. The only one that I felt was not good at all was "Stars," which was too artificial and FAR too long, at nearly 7 minutes. As a whole however, Fun. truly brings something new to this era and will hopefully continue to do so. Expand
  18. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    This is the sophomore album of somewhat-newcomer fun., and this album for me at least, is a very, VERY mixed bag. It combines elements of popular music, like electronic, with drum machines often taking the lead, while guitarist Jack Antonoff, of previous membership of indie group Steel Train, whose talents, exerted not often, as riffs do pop up in namely "We Are Young", "Some Nights", "OutThis is the sophomore album of somewhat-newcomer fun., and this album for me at least, is a very, VERY mixed bag. It combines elements of popular music, like electronic, with drum machines often taking the lead, while guitarist Jack Antonoff, of previous membership of indie group Steel Train, whose talents, exerted not often, as riffs do pop up in namely "We Are Young", "Some Nights", "Out On The Town" and ESPECIALLY "Carry On", where he even gets enough limelight for a solo. While the band I will admit, is quite talented, and most of the music is arranged quite well, their overuse of popular production elements (All thanks to a man named Jeff Bhasker), like auto-tune, while used well in "Some Nights", is used, very VERY poorly in "Stars", "One Foot", and "All Alright", used to butcher singer Nate Ruess' voice into this weird robotic, technological... thing. They also lack the vocal harmonies of "Some Nights", "Carry On", and "We Are Young". Ruess cites Kanye West's 2010 album "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" as their major hip-hop influence, such as the use of baroque pop elements in their production, but otherwise they take most of it's few and far flaws, and use them in their songs. As well, they also use emo, self-deprecating lyrics, like for example "I drink a lot, I'm not sure if that's new/But these days when I wake up from a night I forgot, I just wish that it never came true!" which, are confused, but I appreciate their effort. Fun., I like you guys, but try to remove the excessive, unnecessary auto-tune, remove the overuse, and you may find that people will find your music to be quite *ahem* fun. Expand
  19. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Perfect Start To There Fame!
    Carry On Is The Sh!t!
  20. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    Some what of an underrated album. 60? Really? This album has sparked a new sound of hip hop, rock, and pop, mixed to create a masterpiece. Nate Ruess vocals are like the breadsticks at Olive Garden...TO DIE FOR! Highlights include Carry On, One Foot, and Stars.
  21. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best Pop/Alternative album in a long time. Nate Reuss storms onto the scene with his new band for the second time. With the Tracks We Are Young, Some Nights, Carry On, and All Alright. Fun. solidifies themselves as a legitimate band.
  22. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This was my fave album for about a year! I loved this from first listen! We Are Young was my fave song for a whole too! It was cool to hear it so often on the radio and when it won song of the year at the Grammys! A great album. Best tracks in my opinion: We Are Young, Some Nights, Why Am I The One, Carry On
  23. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    This album is pretty distinct from most others. However, Nate's voice is wonderful but can sometimes sound a little strained and his voiced gets lost in some of the tracks. And they also pull a couple of moves that were risky but somehow manage to succeed with it on most occasions. And, though I'm nitpicky here, the 3 hit singles don't exactly represent the album itself. I was totallyThis album is pretty distinct from most others. However, Nate's voice is wonderful but can sometimes sound a little strained and his voiced gets lost in some of the tracks. And they also pull a couple of moves that were risky but somehow manage to succeed with it on most occasions. And, though I'm nitpicky here, the 3 hit singles don't exactly represent the album itself. I was totally shocked when I heard all the other tracks on the album. But overall, it's pretty well done. Expand
  24. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Some Nights is an excellent album. We are Young is good but is in my opinion overshadowed by far by the song this album is named for. It´s bombastic, passionate, rhythmic, aggressive and very bold. Normally artists either wait before pulling out all stops but Fun goes all in and it pays off remarkably well. Only issue is that in comparison the rest of the album feels paler.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Some Nights is ultimately a confused, turgid tangle of ideas. [Jul 2012, p.100]
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    Against all odds, 'Some Nights' is a hoot: huge-sounding, packed with tunes and not lacking in humour.
  3. Kerrang!
    Jun 19, 2012
    60
    For every ELO-meets-Panic!-At-The-Disco pop gem that makes you think Fun. are great, there's also an Auto-Tuned-to-buggery vocal or irksome trumpet riff that simply grates. [26 May 2012, p.53]