Some Nights

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Some Nights Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The band's first album on the Fueled By Ramen label was produced by Jeff Bhasker and features Janelle Monae on its single We Are Young.
Buy On

Top Track

We Are Young
Give me a second I, I need to get my story straight My friends are in the bathroom Getting higher than the Empire State My lover she's waiting for... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. It's the bold, adventurous and grandiose album that the Top 40 charts needs right now.
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    The trio has crafted a record that measures up to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy musically and delivers enough emotional charge to power a small town for a month.
  3. May 24, 2012
    80
    [The band's] boundless enthusiasm could be teeth-grating even without Stars' overuse of Auto-Tune, but it's hard to dislike such catchy tunes and lyrics that are funny, sincere and oddly moving.
  4. 67
    Listeners who come for the trio's Glee-approved breakout ''We Are Young'' will be happy with Some Nights' superior first half.
  5. Kerrang!
    Jun 19, 2012
    60
    For every ELO-meets-Panic!-At-The-Disco pop gem that makes you think Fun. are great, there's also an Auto-Tuned-to-buggery vocal or irksome trumpet riff that simply grates. [26 May 2012, p.53]
  6. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Some Nights is ultimately a confused, turgid tangle of ideas. [Jul 2012, p.100]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This album is what chocolate would taste like in the form of sound. This album is calming, soothing, and has very catchy beats. I applaud theThis album is what chocolate would taste like in the form of sound. This album is calming, soothing, and has very catchy beats. I applaud the band for their outstanding performance. GOOD JOB! Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Great job critics for once again making an album look terrible even though it isn't. I will admit that Aim & Ignite was a better album thenGreat job critics for once again making an album look terrible even though it isn't. I will admit that Aim & Ignite was a better album then Some Nights, even though Some Nights was still a great follow up. I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2016
    9
    Completely original, and an absolute hit! I'm not a usual fan of rock/pop, however this pulls it off perfectly. Nearly every song is a gem.Completely original, and an absolute hit! I'm not a usual fan of rock/pop, however this pulls it off perfectly. Nearly every song is a gem. If only this whole album was playing on the radio... Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Funny thing about being indie: you aren't really indie if your **** on the mainstream radio, or if you assigned yourself to a label; you canFunny thing about being indie: you aren't really indie if your **** on the mainstream radio, or if you assigned yourself to a label; you can be then deemed alternative. I don't know why fun. is being heaped with actual indie acts like Longwave and Valise; they're not indie anymore. Still, it doesn't take away from the album being at least OKAY.... some songs are tedious, like the ever-famous "Some Nights" and don't really take into consideration the need for a song to be short and sweet, but who am i to judge? The rest of the album varies; "We Are Young" is catchy, but everything else is forgettable. It's a good album, just not memorable, just like every other release in the past few years save 21 and Channel Orange. And other albums that people don't recognize. Still, it irks me that they're considered "indie"; if they get popular and become mainstream, that defeats the purpose of being indie. A little disappointing and does take away from the album. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2015
    6
    Like many other indie rock bands, Fun.'s album "Some Nights" makes the mistake of having one or two songs that are catchy and well crafted,Like many other indie rock bands, Fun.'s album "Some Nights" makes the mistake of having one or two songs that are catchy and well crafted, while the rest of the album consists of unimpressive filler Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    5
    I'm not sure if this album just is not my kind of thing but I didn't really enjoy it. The mainstream hits that everyone knows (Some Nights &I'm not sure if this album just is not my kind of thing but I didn't really enjoy it. The mainstream hits that everyone knows (Some Nights & We Are Young) were the only ones I genuinely enjoyed and would listen too again. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    3
    When I first heard "We Are Young", this thought came into my mind: 'You've got to be kididng me. Kids PAY for this??" I recently finishedWhen I first heard "We Are Young", this thought came into my mind: 'You've got to be kididng me. Kids PAY for this??" I recently finished listening to the album, ending with the title track, "Some Nights". Besides the ghastly "We Are Young", the title track serves Fun no credit. The album is a loosely connected collection of monologues and anthems which will hook teens worldwide but sadly, will not impress true music lovers. Like many pop hits before it, the album serves one purpose- entertainment. But sadly, it comes short in enlightenment. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews