Some Nights Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The band's first album on the Fueled By Ramen label was produced by Jeff Bhasker and features Janelle Monae on its single We Are Young.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. It's the bold, adventurous and grandiose album that the Top 40 charts needs right now.
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    The trio has crafted a record that measures up to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy musically and delivers enough emotional charge to power a small town for a month.
  3. May 24, 2012
    80
    [The band's] boundless enthusiasm could be teeth-grating even without Stars' overuse of Auto-Tune, but it's hard to dislike such catchy tunes and lyrics that are funny, sincere and oddly moving.
  4. 67
    Listeners who come for the trio's Glee-approved breakout ''We Are Young'' will be happy with Some Nights' superior first half.
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    For every ELO-meets-Panic!-At-The-Disco pop gem that makes you think Fun. are great, there's also an Auto-Tuned-to-buggery vocal or irksome trumpet riff that simply grates. [26 May 2012, p.53]
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Some Nights is ultimately a confused, turgid tangle of ideas. [Jul 2012, p.100]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This album is what chocolate would taste like in the form of sound. This album is calming, soothing, and has very catchy beats. I applaud the band for their outstanding performance. GOOD JOB! Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Fun.'s sophomore album "Some Nights" is the game played right. A successful album in modern music is relevant to the current mainstream, yet not dependent on that relevance. Some Nights is both relevant and original. But most importantly, it has replay value. Fun. has left a mark on indie-pop that will always be there. Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Perfect Start To There Fame!
    Carry On Is The Sh!t!
  4. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    This is the sophomore album of somewhat-newcomer fun., and this album for me at least, is a very, VERY mixed bag. It combines elements of popular music, like electronic, with drum machines often taking the lead, while guitarist Jack Antonoff, of previous membership of indie group Steel Train, whose talents, exerted not often, as riffs do pop up in namely "We Are Young", "Some Nights", "Out On The Town" and ESPECIALLY "Carry On", where he even gets enough limelight for a solo. While the band I will admit, is quite talented, and most of the music is arranged quite well, their overuse of popular production elements (All thanks to a man named Jeff Bhasker), like auto-tune, while used well in "Some Nights", is used, very VERY poorly in "Stars", "One Foot", and "All Alright", used to butcher singer Nate Ruess' voice into this weird robotic, technological... thing. They also lack the vocal harmonies of "Some Nights", "Carry On", and "We Are Young". Ruess cites Kanye West's 2010 album "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" as their major hip-hop influence, such as the use of baroque pop elements in their production, but otherwise they take most of it's few and far flaws, and use them in their songs. As well, they also use emo, self-deprecating lyrics, like for example "I drink a lot, I'm not sure if that's new/But these days when I wake up from a night I forgot, I just wish that it never came true!" which, are confused, but I appreciate their effort. Fun., I like you guys, but try to remove the excessive, unnecessary auto-tune, remove the overuse, and you may find that people will find your music to be quite *ahem* fun. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2012
    6
    Some people say that this second Fun's album is great. In my opinion, I don't see any greatness in it. I think that this album contains the best song of the year (We Are Young), however much songs of the album are kind of uninteresting and sometime, even annoying. I only like three songs in the album: the amazing (I admit) We Are Young plus Some Nights and It Gets Better. The rest of the songs are not bad at all but they are not strong sounds. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    5
    Oddly, fun. got famous with a huge step back from their predecessor. The first two songs and 'One Foot' are pretty good, but the rest is poor. Nate Ruess's voice achieves an extra-point but this CD is really nothing special. 'It Gets Better' for example, works totally contrariwise: the song is by far the worst on the album. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    3
    When I first heard "We Are Young", this thought came into my mind: 'You've got to be kididng me. Kids PAY for this??" I recently finished listening to the album, ending with the title track, "Some Nights". Besides the ghastly "We Are Young", the title track serves Fun no credit. The album is a loosely connected collection of monologues and anthems which will hook teens worldwide but sadly, will not impress true music lovers. Like many pop hits before it, the album serves one purpose- entertainment. But sadly, it comes short in enlightenment. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews