Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 21, 2013
    80
    With Richard Formby and the MC himself on production, Ghostpoet remains the most aptly named rapper in the game with his excellent sophomore effort.
  2. As his name implies, Ghostpoet can be vague, mystifying, and a little bit of a downer--but ultimately the best art is the kind that makes you think and broadens your perspective, which this record does in spades.
  3. May 1, 2013
    70
    In a way an ideal sequel, but it’s a missed opportunity to find out more about the man.
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Ejimiwe’s nervous energy makes Some Say I So I Say Light exhilarating, whether it’s a lucid dream or a sleep-deprived reality, and fills it with moments that you might mistake for codas.
  5. May 1, 2013
    80
    An intelligent and, most importantly, a cathartic album it allows Ghostpoet to shed his worries in the most eloquent and interesting ways.
  6. May 7, 2013
    80
    Some Say I So I Say Light is the attempt to merge a lone voice into the black of the vast, surrounding landscape, and it succeeds absorbingly well.
  7. May 20, 2013
    80
    Ghostpoet serves up his bruised, tender heart with the steely precision of a master sushi chef. [Jun 2013, p.89]
  8. May 1, 2013
    90
    While Ghostpoet will never be considered an easily accessible artist, this is the enigmatic follow up we’d hardly dared hope for.
  9. His new album is a triumph of agitated beats, jazzy keyboards and slurred rap.
  10. May 13, 2013
    80
    Not since Massive Attack's Blue Lines have a heavy heart and urban dread been so absorbing. [Jun 2013, p.97]
  11. Oct 15, 2013
    65
    While there are some good songs on Some Say it is often a frustrating listen, which is all the more disappointing given Ghostpoet's potential as an artist.
  12. May 9, 2013
    60
    It intrigues, if never quite soars, and reinforces the sense that there must be something going on here, even if you can't fathom quite what it is.
  13. 80
    This is a pleasant plateau he’s found himself on, and it’s a perfect launching platform for further, more avante-garde endeavours.
  14. May 8, 2013
    80
    Sequentially, Some Say I makes its six-of-11 central meditation on separation perfectly telegraphed.
  15. Jun 5, 2013
    60
    Some Say I So I Say Light's uniformity can become a little wearing across 11 tracks. [May 2013, p.52]

There are no user reviews yet.