Something for Everybody

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. steve
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    It's "its", devoluted one!
  2. TomT.
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Great stuff. They boys are back.
  3. MikeyM.
    Jun 17, 2010
    9
    Great comeback album. A lot of fun not to mention a lot of bounce.
  4. CodyT
    Jun 17, 2010
    9
    One of the absolute bests of 2010 thus far. Devo in the new millennium is GOOD Devo. The production, partly handled by one of the Dust Brothers and Santogold, is tight and just bursts from your speakers with an intensity that beckons to be listened to on repeat. What they have crafted here is a fine collection of songs that represents their old style and a new found style that emerged One of the absolute bests of 2010 thus far. Devo in the new millennium is GOOD Devo. The production, partly handled by one of the Dust Brothers and Santogold, is tight and just bursts from your speakers with an intensity that beckons to be listened to on repeat. What they have crafted here is a fine collection of songs that represents their old style and a new found style that emerged from modern recording techniques. Further influencing this record is the quote on quote "De-Evolution" of mankind that the band says is more relevant now than ever. A must buy!!! Expand
  5. WarrenM.
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Devo returns after 20 years of dormancy, and they finally return to what they do best after 25 years.
  6. V
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    A perfect return for a iconic band.
  7. RL
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Extraordinary sounds and beats. It's cheesy, but I like cheesy !
  8. JeffS.
    Jun 16, 2010
    9
    Just downright fun!
  9. NickR.
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    It's not high art, but it is an amazingly catchy synthpop album. More consistent in its goodness than Freedom of Choice! Are we not men? WE ARE DEVO!
  10. PapaBoojum
    Jun 15, 2010
    7
    I've been a Devo fan since 'Q: Are We Not Men A: We Are Devo'. I was always quite disappointed that Devo ended their oeuvre with the sad, steaming turd that was 'Smooth Noodle Maps'. Thankfully, after 20 years, Devo front men Mark and Jerry worked out whatever their differences were and have given their fans 'Something For Everybody'. Though not as good I've been a Devo fan since 'Q: Are We Not Men A: We Are Devo'. I was always quite disappointed that Devo ended their oeuvre with the sad, steaming turd that was 'Smooth Noodle Maps'. Thankfully, after 20 years, Devo front men Mark and Jerry worked out whatever their differences were and have given their fans 'Something For Everybody'. Though not as good as Devo's first three discs 'Q: Are We Not Men...', 'Duty Now For The Future' and 'Freedom Of Choice' (all Classics IMO), 'Something...' has plenty of catchy de-evolutionary tunes. IMO its on the level of 'Oh No Its Devo' and 'Shout'. Unfortunately I don't think 'Something...' will win Devo too many new fans - unless some of these songs get the club remix treatment by some name DJ - but Devo fans will absolutely love it. Expand
  11. JansonJ.
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    A towering can of awesome. Thank god Devo finally sold out and embraced The Machine. They describe themselves as the house band on the Titanic. I'd have to agree. And I'd be all too happy to drown in the frigid waters of post-rationality to the hip swagger and market-tested glory of Something for Everybody. What we do is what we do. Simply stated, stated simply.
  12. EyesandTeeth
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    20 years since their last album, here comes Devo, sounding like Devo. The Spuds have aged well. This is a fun, good-natured album. Crisply produced and tasty.
  13. dark30
    Jun 16, 2010
    7
    On the Devo scale, this album is up there with New Traditionalists and Oh No! It's Devo! but not as bad as Shout and Smooth Noodle Maps. It's a unabashedly pop album, but with some bite. Nowhere near the quality of their 1st two albums, but considering the age on these guys and how much time has passed, a pretty decent album.
  14. MatthewM.
    Jun 17, 2010
    10
    One of the best albums of the year.
  15. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    What a great comeback. I find myself addicted to many of these tracks. Incredibly infectious, and I feel it compliments and updates their sound very well.
  16. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Not the spud boy's best work, but pretty darn good stuff after a 20 year absence. This is a gift to the fans I feel, so if your a spud girl or guy you'll be in heaven with this album. If not, it's not likely to win you over.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Under The Radar
    40
    Sure, it's better than their last album--there are hooks, clever jokes and tiny sparks throughout-- but the trouble is that those sparks only illuminate the fact that 20 years is a ridiculous amount of time to make anyone wait for what is little more than an overwrought hunk of shiny plastic. [Summer 2010, p.83]
  2. While continuing to crusade against de-evolution, these new wave pioneers are stuck in stasis.
  3. It's hooks are wilted, and its lyrics run over with cliches and canned memes from news and television.