Somewhere Else

  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: Jan 29, 2013
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Under The Radar
    Mar 22, 2013
    80
    "Reality Supreme," like so much of the wonderful Somewhere Else, is bold, yet brittle. [Mar-Apr 2013, p.100]
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    70
    Handsome, sparkly stuff.
  3. By endowing his demos and bedroom meditations with a sense of hopeful purpose, tempered by a resolute knowingness of the world around him, Juul has made Somewhere Else something quite special--a sometimes hesitant but ultimately warmly inviting record to cling to in this waning winter season.
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    70
    Musically, Somewhere Else treads the ground between organic performance and arrangement, as well as the efficiently expansive possibilities of minimalism and pop in electronic music.
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    80
    It is a debut album of real class.
  6. 80
    At times, a lack of crescendo leaves his songs teetering on the precipice of drama. The money shot, though, comes with the title track--an epic, swirling conclusion to his debut.
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    76
    Juul's vocals and production are emotive and permeable, always trying to convey something without any sort of coercion as to what that feeling's supposed to be.
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    A deceptively lush record full of moments of striking beauty.
  9. Jan 28, 2013
    70
    A solid, if a little subtle, debut that promises great things while delivering many very good ones.
  10. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Somewhere Else certainly reveals itself slowly, but persist and there's real beauty to be found here.
  11. Uncut
    Jan 23, 2013
    80
    This luminously lovely collection is well-judged and intensely personal. [Feb 2013, p.74]
  12. Jan 23, 2013
    70
    There will be those who will listen to Indians and not get swept along with their world-weary tidings but for those who feel the same or just want to escape, this LP is perfection.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Feb 10, 2016
    9
    Revisiting after a few years because a song popped up in a shuffle, I remembered this gem was one of my favorite albums of 2013. Based onRevisiting after a few years because a song popped up in a shuffle, I remembered this gem was one of my favorite albums of 2013. Based on what I'm seeing here this gorgeous album seems to be under valued. It's the perfect soundtrack as I finish reading the especially emotional and tumultuous book 'All the Birds in the Sky' by Charlie Jane Anders. Full Review »