Songs For Silverman

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 62
  2. Negative: 3 out of 62

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HenryR
    Apr 27, 2005
    8
    It's not as immediately engaging as most of his other works, but it's still a fine album. I agree with the general notion that this is his most "mature" work to date, but it also feels like his most subdued. Even so, by the third spin or so you'll fall in love with this album and want it in your regular rotation.
  2. WillyM
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Ben's best album, and that's saying a lot.
  3. partridge
    May 1, 2005
    8
    It's growing on me, which no Ben album has had to do before, so that's a minus. Jesusland and Landed are both gorgeous and Gracie is adorable, but the instrumental breaks in Bastard and You To Thank are still my favorite bits so far.
  4. ab
    May 22, 2005
    10
    Fantastic. Brilliant. Ben Folds back to his brilliant best. "Landed" superb although 1st clip disappointing.
  5. andyg
    May 27, 2005
    10
    fantastic cd.
  6. StuartR
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    This is a great album. The music is more emotional than his previous albums, but this album will most definitely maintain a place in my CD collection for a long time to come along with rockin the suburbs.
  7. AnnaL
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    To say this is a mature album is both cliched and true. It completely sums up where Ben is right now - it shows he can write brilliant, honest songs. He's not all irony. (That said, 'You To Thank' is very funny) 'Trusted' and 'Late' are real growers that I'm sure will become favourites and 'Gracie' is utterly beautiful.
  8. Andy
    May 12, 2005
    9
    Another solid, consistent effort from Ben.
  9. MatthewB
    May 16, 2005
    10
    Ben Folds finaly seems comfortable in his own skin. There is a maturity to this album that leads me to believe the Ben Folds is making the music he has always wanted to make. Strip away the pro-tools and tons of needless layers and you have an album with incredible purity. It is Songs for Silverman.
  10. BrianL
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Ben Folds has produced and album of maturity and simplcity that has the listener riding along with him. The promise shown early in his career is shining through and he is getting the recognition he, and this album deserves.
  11. BenB
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    Awesome effort.
  12. RobertJunior
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best American made albums i have ever gotten my hands on. I don't care what you all say about it. I don't care if it's terrible. I don't care if it is worthless. I love it. I may never listen to it again but damn that is a great recording.
  13. RobertJ
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Ben Folds is a genius... I love what he says, and I love how he says it. This album pleasantly renewed my devotion and admiration for the greatest songwriter alive today.
  14. April
    Sep 30, 2005
    9
    This is an awesome album. His songs are touching and I most definetly cryed after hearing landed for the first time. There's great melody and lyrics.
  15. SpeedyDrummer
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Listen to this album. If you like this you will like 'Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messiner'
  16. SébD
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    This album is simply stunning. Very different from all his other previous material, but had changed direction. Simply stunning harmonies, and great tunes. Only reason I'm not giving a 10, is so he has a chance to better himself yet again next time!
  17. DeanofRock
    May 1, 2005
    10
    A great addition to the Ben Folds catalogue. If you've been a fan since the beginning, you should be right on board with these Songs for Silverman.
  18. TristanH
    May 12, 2005
    9
    A great CD; doesn't have any of the great rock songs like were on Rockin the Suburbs, or any of the Five albums, but it's still great standing on its own. Amazing piano, as usual.
  19. BrandonS.
    May 3, 2005
    9
    Although this album is more mellow than is other albums I thouroughly enjoyed it. I would recomend this album to anyone
  20. Chewie
    May 6, 2005
    7
    It's a good album that takes a few listens to really sink in and appreciate, but it's not his best work. He's repeating themes lyrically and musically from previous albums, but what saves it is how talented the man is. They might be rehashed, but he's talented enough to pull it off. Overall, I miss the irreverence, but I enjoyed the sincerity.
  21. RandyB
    Jun 20, 2005
    7
    While in my opinion Folds needs to work on coming up with more cohesive directions for his voice to go, he
  22. robert
    Jun 7, 2005
    8
    Solid 8 -- don't fret Ben over no 10. An 8 is great for your fate... you'll get it once you get lit. OK that's worse than Ben's writing for sure -- but, Dog from Speed Graphic is my favorite song not on this album. Them That Got is amazing, Adelaide very pleasant... my point is, the two EPs are great material. Interesting arrangement/mix on album version of Give Judy Solid 8 -- don't fret Ben over no 10. An 8 is great for your fate... you'll get it once you get lit. OK that's worse than Ben's writing for sure -- but, Dog from Speed Graphic is my favorite song not on this album. Them That Got is amazing, Adelaide very pleasant... my point is, the two EPs are great material. Interesting arrangement/mix on album version of Give Judy My Notice there -- big change from the EP. This is a good album. Don't let the next one be so long in coming... Expand
  23. AdamW
    Aug 17, 2005
    9
    A great album with a taste of highs and lows portrayed simply and effectively.
  24. WillB
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    Can listen from start to finish w/o changing tracks. Much less poppy and more mature than "Rockin the Suburbs". If you love piano you will love this cd.
  25. megl
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    rocks the shit
  26. Hannah
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    To me, if you haven't heard Ben Folds you haven't heard music. His songs are pure genius and He's very talented. I love this album. I just don't see a reason not to like this album. I mean.. whats not to like? The songs all have a great melody and great lyrics and they are all nicely arranged.
  27. May 12, 2012
    10
    There's something beautiful about this album.. it's almost as if every album Folds writes has a certain indigenous quality about it. They all seem to be centred in different genres, with Songs for Silverman being no exception, forcing a tearful - whether psychological or physiological - tone on you as you pour through, track by track. Well done, Folds. Bravo!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. These are heartfelt songs: sometimes cheeky and occasionally heartbreaking.
  2. Folds has mastered his material to the point that he no longer relies on a smartass punch line to deliver the goods.
  3. Rolling Stone
    70
    He has... found more deserving targets for his wit than suburban rappers and T-shirt-hoarding girlfriends. [5 May 2005, p.70]