Songs For The Deaf

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 324

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    You like good rock, you like good music? How about a trip- how about a rolling, thundering blast of grit and rock- shot into your skull, still yeah? Then, do this album! Do it now!
  2. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    There is a lot to like in this album, and it is by far the best work of the band. The guitar riffs are simple but cool, and the drums are just awesome. Most of the songs sound similar to your standard grunge rock, but the lyrics are self-aware and smart, making it more than simple head-banging music.
    On a side note, Mosquito Song is probably the most musically ambitious of the tracks here.
    There is a lot to like in this album, and it is by far the best work of the band. The guitar riffs are simple but cool, and the drums are just awesome. Most of the songs sound similar to your standard grunge rock, but the lyrics are self-aware and smart, making it more than simple head-banging music.
    On a side note, Mosquito Song is probably the most musically ambitious of the tracks here. I was pleasantly surprised by the inclusion of the different instruments used on it.
    Expand
  3. May 10, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard from the 2000s. A lot of classic material here with a lot of diversity and quality musicianship. Probably the best album of this bands career along with R.
  4. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    Bruising and brilliant, this is as cool as hard-rock gets. "Songs for the Deaf" is undoubtedly the best record produced by QOTSA by a long way in my opinion. The brilliantly titled opener "You think I ain't worth a dollar but I feel like a millionaire" sets things off and there is no let up until the closer "Mosquito Song". "No one Knows" and "Go with the Flow" have become alt rockBruising and brilliant, this is as cool as hard-rock gets. "Songs for the Deaf" is undoubtedly the best record produced by QOTSA by a long way in my opinion. The brilliantly titled opener "You think I ain't worth a dollar but I feel like a millionaire" sets things off and there is no let up until the closer "Mosquito Song". "No one Knows" and "Go with the Flow" have become alt rock classics since the release of this album but there are so many great tracks on this record its hard to pick out highlights. "Six Shooter" will practically singe your eyebrows. At times you would be forgiven for having sympathy for the instruments played on this record as the drums and guitars get a real hammering on this. Which brings me to the drumming - it is simply outstanding and backing it up is near perfect guitar work. One of those records where everything clicks for the band. A hard rock treasure.  Expand
  5. ventgas
    Sep 13, 2002
    10
    Insanely great band, insanely great cd.
  6. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    this is queens of the stone age at there absolute best. almost every song is a revolution of modern hard rock; the key songs from their career: No one Knows, Go with the flow, Songs for the dead, the sky is falling, millionaire, are all found on this incredible album. Anyone wanting to get into QOTSA, this is the album to listen to...
  7. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Rock god's of a **** era of music. Rap-metal? Really? What the hell were we thinking. QOTSA, from this point, made everything from that time look like a high school's battle of the bands competition.
  8. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Really good album by Queens of the Stone Age, more or less on the same level of their previous, Rated R. No One Knows and Go With The Flow are great, and there many other good songs.
  9. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    There is not one weak song on this album, being QOTSA's finest effort to this day, and still a classic hard rock album that any music lover should have in their collection.

    I can pick out 11 songs that are just awesome on this record. The combination of Grohl's excellent drumming and Homme's genius songwriting is a testament to the QOTSA we all know and love.
  10. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    A song for the deaf, that is for you.
    Hell, that is for all of us. This album just kicks all kinds of ass. Really, as far as hard rock goes, this is probably one of the best albums out there. Every song is interesting, unique, and bad ass.
    Also, if you ever feel like driving down the highway in the most intense way possible, put on "You think I ain't worth a dollar, but I feel like a
    A song for the deaf, that is for you.
    Hell, that is for all of us. This album just kicks all kinds of ass. Really, as far as hard rock goes, this is probably one of the best albums out there. Every song is interesting, unique, and bad ass.

    Also, if you ever feel like driving down the highway in the most intense way possible, put on "You think I ain't worth a dollar, but I feel like a millionaire".
    Expand
  11. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Anyone who says this album is bad is obviously an idiot. There is not a metal band that exists that can dish out these riffs and vocals. No One Knows has one of the greatest guitar riffs of all time. Maybe the best metal riff ever.
  12. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    My favourite album (very, very closely followed by their Self-titled), every song is just brilliant. I would recommend this album to anyone, and have bought it for countless people. Please, if you haven't already, buy this album and all of QOTSA's discography.
  13. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    this is rock .my favorite album. this album has its own feel. every song is important to the album. the intro of the album will stay in my head forever.
  14. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Excellent album, one of the best I've listened to.
    The album starts with a bang, with 5 awesome tracks. It follows with the weak "Six Shooter" (IMO, of course), but then enter awesome tracks like Go With the Flow, Hangin' Tree, and one of the best tracks of the album, A Song for the Deaf.
  15. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    This is the most powerful record ever made. In Songs For The Deaf, Queens Of The Stone Age are at their best. There are just two or three songs that aren't unforgettable, but all the others are fists to your hears. An album for those interested in heavy guitars, low chords and intense strong drumming.
    This record is a **** masterpiece of contemporary music.
  16. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    This is an amazing album. Probably one of the best of the 2000s (but in my personal opinion, White Blood Cells by the White Stripes is the best of that decade). If you like Stoner Rock, Alternative Rock or just wanna hear so good music of the new millennium, buy this album. It's on Vinyl, Cassette, CD & Digital Download. I plan to buy it on all 4.
  17. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Do I even need to tell you why this album is great? It's been praised to no end and rightfully so. Some of Queens's best work is just this album heard front to back. The little things are what make this album go from great to masterful. The satirical radio interludes go hand in hand with the songs that follow or come before not only in theme, but in tone. The guitar tones and playing styleDo I even need to tell you why this album is great? It's been praised to no end and rightfully so. Some of Queens's best work is just this album heard front to back. The little things are what make this album go from great to masterful. The satirical radio interludes go hand in hand with the songs that follow or come before not only in theme, but in tone. The guitar tones and playing style were some of the most original and bold for the time. The use of 3 lead singers. The shift in musical styles to fit each singer. This album kicks ass. Expand
  18. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    It goes without saying that damn near anything Dave Grohl touches turns to gold, and his presence on this album is no exception. This is a classic QOTSA album from start to finish. The bass is aggressive and chunky, guitars are haunting, the vocal delivery from Hommes is drawly and sleazy as always, the drums are kickin', and the riffs are instant classics.
  19. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Couldnt help but enjoy this album, with its flawless riffs and kick ass drums. The sarcastic radio parts only add to this wonderfull album that is sure to be heard still in thirty years. The guitar was put to good use in songs like 'gonna leave you' and 'go with the flow' . Another album that manages tp be commercialy successful and a rock marvel at the same time, dave ghrol really toar upCouldnt help but enjoy this album, with its flawless riffs and kick ass drums. The sarcastic radio parts only add to this wonderfull album that is sure to be heard still in thirty years. The guitar was put to good use in songs like 'gonna leave you' and 'go with the flow' . Another album that manages tp be commercialy successful and a rock marvel at the same time, dave ghrol really toar up his set on this one and it payed off Expand
  20. MetalInc.
    Dec 30, 2002
    4
    I don't understand the hype. I have listened to the album, I have tried to like it....but it is just another mediocre album released by a mediocre band.
  21. FuckingJesus
    Aug 23, 2002
    0
    Fuck yall fucking posers!! PUNK NOT DEAD!!!!!!!
  22. johnk
    Dec 5, 2004
    4
    no doubt there are are a couple winner but over all can't make it through most this album but it did help make a great mix tape, i'll give it that
  23. M-Stylez
    Apr 28, 2006
    3
    3/10 because the only good songs on "Songs For the Deaf" are "Mosquito Song (Hidden Track)," "No One Knows," and maybe the opening track, but other than that, this is way too repetitive and impossible to listen to from start to finish. If you like heavy music with some variety and depth, then listen to Tool's "Lateralus" or System of a Down's "Mezmerize."
  24. Barry
    Sep 19, 2007
    3
    Highly overrated album. The only decent tracks are Hangin Tree & No one knows. The majority of it is just noise..and the vocalist isn't good at all.
  25. TheBlackCherry
    Jun 26, 2003
    0
    My god, does this album SUCK. Pathetic overdriven structures mixed with a diagonal lack of inspiration. This is worse than Phil Collins. Worse than anything I have ever heard in my life. People who think this is great music should be executed.
  26. Apr 25, 2012
    4
    I certainly appreciate Josh Homme and his vision for rock and roll, but as a whole, I cannot recommend this album. It starts out relatively strong, but takes a dive in the second half. Download "No One Knows" and "Go with the Flow" and leave the rest of the album alone.
  27. Chillman
    Jan 5, 2003
    10
    This is the album of the year and mayby next year, hard to ignore this band.
  28. AngelO.
    Sep 17, 2002
    9
    Fucking blow me away group ...
  29. DennisM
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    F+#@ing Rules!! Best ever!!!
  30. brianchikerdoodle
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    Thi is undoubtebly the best album I have heard in the past 3 years the mellow stoned out chords that drive the record are phenominal. The simplicity of no one knows is a welcome change to the music that is so intense you cant understand anything
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 'The Sky Is Fallin' is a beast.... 'God Is In The Radio' has got just such an awesome riff, like the Lord himself hotwired to a Marshall amp.
  2. Blender
    80
    While cliches abound... this huge music is delivered with panache. [#9, p.154]
  3. 'Songs For The Deaf' is a triumph, a record forged with fire and sweat in the pits of Valhalla... It is the very essence of Rock.