• Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Songs From Black Mountain Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Going on 15 years of recording, the once-popular Ed Kowalczyk & co. return with a follow-up to 2003's 'Birds Of Pray.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. It's the sound of the band maturing, and while it's certainly more laid-back than any of Live's previous records, that low-key approach feels right for the music on Songs from Black Mountain and helps make it one of their most consistent and successful records.
  2. Proves they can still write hummable pop-metal anthems and equally clunky lyrics. [16 Jun 2006, p.75]
  3. Live has settled too comfortably into the skin of a middle-of-the-road rock act. [17 Jun 2006]
  4. Kowalczyk is revisiting themes he's been mining for years. The band's signature sound of slowly rising choruses punctuated by Kowalczyk's rumbling wail has also grown quite stale.
  5. It's sad to see a once-promising band reduced to dribbling out a mewling, half-baked effort such as this, an album with no redeeming value beyond soundtracking your next visit to Supercuts.
  6. Earnestly pompous. [Apr/May 2006, p.105]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. DanD
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    This album is so good, its like laying on a beach in 80 degree weather with watermelon and hot chicks
  2. ToddJ
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    possibly one of the best albums of the decade, along side the likes of Kid A, Slanted and Enchanted, and Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Truely a masterpice of modern day contempory rock. In years to come people will look back on this album as a touchstone, much like its processors. Expand
  3. CampbellL
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    Admitadly there is a lack of powerful songs on this album, but "The River", "Love Shines", and "Where do we go from here" redeem this album in my mind, the reason Live's record sales declined was not because the quality of the music was going down, but rather the people who had the soul to listen to throwing copper 13 years ago have grown far too old a gray and souless to respect it. Expand
  4. JW
    Oct 19, 2006
    5
    Not bad, not great. Good background music while your doing something like typing a review on line.
  5. MattD.
    Jul 18, 2006
    4
    This is exactly the type of album I hope former American Idol contestant Chris Daughtry DOESN'T do. Live has become too watered down.
  6. CharlieM
    Aug 22, 2006
    2
    This is one of those albums I really wished I had listened to before I bought it. Although many say they have been less than impressive of late, I purchased the CD because I genuinly like their music, ever since watching their monumental performance on MTV Unplugged. This release just doesn't do anything for me, in fact (lyrically) it actually makes me cringe at times. Such a shame. Collapse
  7. MArtinJ
    Jan 8, 2007
    0
    13 years ago 8 million America got a copy of throwing copper 13 years later only 50,000 people got a copy of their recent album

See all 11 User Reviews