Songs in A&E - Spiritualized
Songs in A&E Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jason Pierce nearly died of pneumonia halfway through writing the group's sixth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Songs In A&E is Pierce's best work since "Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space"--easily his most personal.
  2. Some may listen to Songs From A&E and dub Jason Pierce a one-trick pony. Which may be true, but what a trick he's managed to perfect.
  3. Just when you think he's taken a turn for the cliche, even an allusion to drug use--"I've got a hurricane in my veins," he sings on 'Soul on Fire'--crescendos ino a string-laden little gem. [13 June 2008, p.70]
  4. That this is Spiritualized's most vital and compelling set for a decade suggests that his muse has been galvinised by his near death experience. [May 2008, p.61]
  5. A&E isn’t a reinvention for Spiritualized, but while that might be a disappointment for some, the comforting embrace of familiarity shouldn’t be underrated.
  6. The lumbering, ponderous nature of both music and vocals elsewhere makes you wonder if much of Songs In A&E wasn't actually recorded in hospital.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    This album is incredible, so raw and moving. One of my favorites. Maybe his best, people will hate that I said that but oh well. Why do theseThis album is incredible, so raw and moving. One of my favorites. Maybe his best, people will hate that I said that but oh well. Why do these reviews have to be 150 characters long now? Expand
  2. SK.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    I don't know how to explain it but from the first listen that album brought tears to my eyes.
  3. Viks
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year. That's sure!
  4. Luke
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Best album of the year so far.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    Great album, one of their best.
  6. JonL
    Jul 5, 2008
    9
    Even if it's a tad fragmented, it's still a triumphant blast out of the darkness from Pierce, and it's familiar without Even if it's a tad fragmented, it's still a triumphant blast out of the darkness from Pierce, and it's familiar without feeling dull. Way better than Amazing Grace. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2011
    3
    I'm a big fan of some of their earlier work. This album may have been written at a tough time, but at least half the songs here sound like heI'm a big fan of some of their earlier work. This album may have been written at a tough time, but at least half the songs here sound like he just wrote down the first melody that popped into his head adn sound like they took all of 3 minutes to compose. Sadly, this band hasn't done anything of note since 2001's Let it come Down (and even that couldn't hold a candle to LAGWAFIS and LGM). I think, nostalgia, aside most fans of this once astonishing band would agree if they're being honest. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews