User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    I'm An Animal. É a única ruim do disco na verdade ela é péssima,mas ainda bem que só é ela que ruim então claro que uma música não compromete o álbum inteiro.
    Agora vamos parar de falar da parte ruim,e vamos falar da boa bem, o resto,as 10 músicas são a parte boa,Excelente Álbum!!!,Kiss ressurge depois de 11 anos com um novo álbum Sonic Boom o primeiro desde Psycho Circus 1998,e chega com
    I'm An Animal. É a única ruim do disco na verdade ela é péssima,mas ainda bem que só é ela que ruim então claro que uma música não compromete o álbum inteiro.
    Agora vamos parar de falar da parte ruim,e vamos falar da boa bem, o resto,as 10 músicas são a parte boa,Excelente Álbum!!!,Kiss ressurge depois de 11 anos com um novo álbum Sonic Boom o primeiro desde Psycho Circus 1998,e chega com tudo.
    Top 5 Sonic Boom 2009
    1-Say Yeah
    2-Stand
    3-Modern Day Delilah
    4-All For The Glory
    5-Never Enough
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    This álbum is great R U Nuts? I can't possibly thing a 2009 Kiss álbum sounding any better than this, they also included a re-recorded classics álbum that sound even better than the originals on a loud, modern system. Pure gold!
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    5
    I refused to believe in the hype. I knew this wasn't going to be the "best KISS album in 30 years", however the promise of an happy band coming off a tour and into the studio excited me. I thought Paul producing was a plus. I thought this one would be a solid to good KISS album and would have been thrilled with that. But like a lot of Gene's & KISS' pronouncements of recent years (NewI refused to believe in the hype. I knew this wasn't going to be the "best KISS album in 30 years", however the promise of an happy band coming off a tour and into the studio excited me. I thought Paul producing was a plus. I thought this one would be a solid to good KISS album and would have been thrilled with that. But like a lot of Gene's & KISS' pronouncements of recent years (New costumes? New Stageshow? Neither looks too new to me fellas) it promises much, but under delivers. I've listened to this album in the car, in the shower, at home, on my iPod thingy, on my PC, loud and soft, to work, from work, long drives and short, in order and random, but it's just not there. Sigh. Look, I didn't get Live to Win either with it's sugary production, soft guitars and saccharine lyrics. It was so sweet and girly it made my teeth hurt, but in retrospect it does show where Paul is at as a producer and artist. So maybe it's me then, maybe I was expecting too much, maybe I've moved on, listening to Metallica and Motorhead and Motley Crue and Tesla and Iron Maiden, listening to these bands of my younger years that have progressed and grown whilst still staying heavy, which it seems KISS haven't on Sonic Boom. Or maybe in trying to capture that 70's sound, they've missed and captured "old".

    So, on to Sonic Boom. Well it's all a bit... meh really. Sort of like Psycho Circus with the killer opening track that promises so much (Modern Day Delilah and Psycho Circus respectively) but has nothing really to follow it up. Bass sounds magnificent..magnificent i say!, but the guitars.... where are the damn guitars? Some guitars would have been nice. Song wise, this is probably Gene's best material since Creatures of the Night, but killer Paul songs (like the guitars) are absent from the proceedings. If you took the best parts of this, Psycho Circus, A$$hole and Live to Win, you'd have one great KISS album, but Sonic Boom on its own? One, MAYBE two songs you could picture them playing live but that's it, the rest is pretty much filler. Snore.

    I always believed KISS had one more killer album in them, but this sure ain't it. 10/10? Nah, it's middle of the road, it's not good, it's not bad, it's Asylum not Creatures of the Night, it's Unmasked, not Destroyer, it's Music From The Elder, not Revenge. It's not a terrible album, its just... meh. . 5/10. Maybe next time hey?

    Oh and "Danger you, Danger me, Danger us"? Are you kidding with that or what?
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    This is one of the strongest album Kiss has released since their 1992 ,'Revenge',

    The songs on this album are held together nicely and it is musically very strong. This album has the heavy moments of Creatures of the Night and Revenge. It also contains the cowbell 70's music of their debut album and later albums and also has many new and interesting songs that many have heard before.
    This is one of the strongest album Kiss has released since their 1992 ,'Revenge',

    The songs on this album are held together nicely and it is musically very strong. This album has the heavy moments of Creatures of the Night and Revenge. It also contains the cowbell 70's music of their debut album and later albums and also has many new and interesting songs that many have heard before. The second disc named ,'Kiss Klassics' has strong re-records of their old classics and and have a tight and strong new sound that is one of a kind!

    They can still do it after 40 years!
    Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    Sonic Boom is extremely dissapointing. Gene Simmons' songs are usually weak. He's done it again. I've enjoyed Modern Day Delilah, All For the Glory and Say Yeah, but the rest of the album is weak. It's awful, but they've done worst (Music From the Elder; Animalize; Asylum; etc.). I think Destroyer is their only awesome album, from top to bottom. Sonic Boom is far from being close to Destroyer.
  6. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    Honestly I admit that I expected something worse from Sonic Boom. Usually bands which haven't released anything for years and decide to try again can't go back to the "golden years" (Guns N Roses, Van Halen), but this album is very good. Songs like Modern Day Delilah and Say Yeah are exactly what I want from KISS.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Sonic Boom is not something new. Is pure Rock. And it works, because its songs are awesome. Not the best Kiss album, obviously, but yes one of the most important ones. Songs that perfectly work, with great riffs and voice-lines, with a classic and both modern sound on the guitars, that makes you feel like if you were at the 70's at the same time you're listen to a 2000's album. There areSonic Boom is not something new. Is pure Rock. And it works, because its songs are awesome. Not the best Kiss album, obviously, but yes one of the most important ones. Songs that perfectly work, with great riffs and voice-lines, with a classic and both modern sound on the guitars, that makes you feel like if you were at the 70's at the same time you're listen to a 2000's album. There are songs that are, in my opinion, better that other ones at the album, but the definitive result is that this is a recent masterpiece, how Rock have to be done. You don't need something really difficult, only two guitars, a bass, drums, and a great talent of compose direct songs, with this spirit and melody that you can't describe how but it catch you. The same history, but that it still really works, like AC/DC, or Classic Hard Rock bands. Collapse
  8. Aug 18, 2011
    8
    Sonic Boom is a Big Comeback Album for KISS and it sounds alot like thier eariler Albums from Early in thier Carrer i think this is a Must Hear Album and it definatly will Satisfy The Older Generation of Kiss Fans and The Newer. With Good Songs Like When Lightning Strikes, Hot and Cold, and All For The Glory this makes the Album Complete and it Sounds Great. I Am Proud to Announce KISS is Back!
  9. Jun 9, 2011
    0
    This album was hyped (by the band itself) as being the best album they have done in the last 30 years. In my opinion this is, by far, the worst album in their entire catalog. I rarely write a negative review but this one is so bad I think it's warranted.
  10. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Yeah ... say what you want. But who would you rather be? You or GENE SIMMONS?

    Even being Peter Criss is better than being you. After all these years THEY ROCK!
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Of course, substance is in the eye of the beholder, and the lyrics don’t much stray from Kiss standbys such as partying, sex and, naturally, rock ’n’ roll. The results are appropriately direct and unambiguous.
  2. This Walmart-only three-disc set--which includes a CD of rerecorded hits and a live DVD--should remind Hall of Fame voters that the recent nominees deserve consideration for far more than just Simmons' fire-breathing abilities.
  3. The 11 new songs, Kiss' first since 1998's "Psycho Circus," hardly deviate from the band's time-proven formula.