• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 2 out of 27
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    É impressionante como apenas uma pessoa tocou e cantou tudo sozinha. Não tenho a certeza se ele também produziu tudo sozinho. De qualquer forma, ele é uma pessoa talentosa, e este album é daqueles que toda a gente tem de ouvir antes de morrer.
  2. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    You would be hard pressed to find a more talented and individualistic musician than Mr. Patrick Stump. Since the first time I heard "Dead On Arrival" years ago, I knew this man would end up changing the music industry. But this album, this incredible masterpiece, is so astoundingly original and incredible that it left me astonished. I had never listened to techno-pop-influenced music likeYou would be hard pressed to find a more talented and individualistic musician than Mr. Patrick Stump. Since the first time I heard "Dead On Arrival" years ago, I knew this man would end up changing the music industry. But this album, this incredible masterpiece, is so astoundingly original and incredible that it left me astonished. I had never listened to techno-pop-influenced music like this but I decided to give a try since I had been a lifelong fan of fall out boy, I was pleasantly surprised. The way he can control his voice, its breathtaking. He doesn't look to please the public with this album but instead goes out on a limb and creates something anchored by his voice, which by itself, is so striking that it can be addictive to listeners, like me. While my favorite part of any song ever by fall out boy or stump is stump's voice, his lyrics impressed me like none other. These are not sappy, love story, alcoholic-induced junk that we hear from John Mayer or Adele. Instead, Stump brings you on a journey of unimaginable heights. He makes you think, cry, laugh, jump, clap, and freeze silently. Yet, most of all, his music forces you to get up, dance, and sing along. You may think ignorantly think Patrick stump is nothing without his band members, but you would be terribly wrong. If there is one voice that I would have to only listen to for the rest of my life it would be easily be Patrick Stump. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Perfection. He wrote everything. He produced everything. This guy should receive more acknowledgement. This guy is the next king of pop. It's a shame he probably won't reign, because he's not that famous by himself. All the tracks here are worth your time and money. Guaranteed: There will be no regrets. Also, make sure to check out the Deluxe Edition bonus tracks. They're awesome as well.Perfection. He wrote everything. He produced everything. This guy should receive more acknowledgement. This guy is the next king of pop. It's a shame he probably won't reign, because he's not that famous by himself. All the tracks here are worth your time and money. Guaranteed: There will be no regrets. Also, make sure to check out the Deluxe Edition bonus tracks. They're awesome as well.

    The first thing to do before listening to this album is: Forget about Fall Out Boy. This is not Fall Out Boy. That's why it's a parallel project. It's parallel. It's outside Fall Out Boy. It's not supposed to sound like Fall Out Boy. Fall Out Boy is a rock band. If Fall Out Boy is a rock band, this is not supposed to sound like rock. It's not rock. It's R&B Pop. If you like Fall Out Boy's rock 'n' roll but doesn't like R&B nor Pop... This is not for you. Because of that you shouldn't say this is bad work if you don't have experience on this area. On this genre. But if you are open-minded or are trying to open your mind to different types of music... Give it a try! The best thing for somebody who's willing to explore a new world is to start by its best city. Here's what you get:

    There are funky grooves ("Dance Miserable"), electronic/futuristic elements ("Coast"), fast-paced ("Explode") and slow-paced jams ("The 'I' In Lie"). Violins ("Allie"), saxophones and surprising low notes ("Everybody Wants Somebody") also find their place here, among some pop tracks ("This City" and "Spotlight"). R&B perfection for you, ladies and gentlemen!

    So... I could go on and on about how this album is awesome and that you should buy it. But let me give you some enlightenment on "Soul Punk", the precious treasure of 2011: "Explode" proves that he's up to Michael Jackson's level (Yes, I said it!). "This City" proves that he can make radio-friendly pop songs. "Dance Miserable" proves that R&B is still alive. "Spotlight (New Regrets)" proves that he can make fantastic synth-pop songs. "The 'I' In Lie" proves that this man can do ANYTHING. He will BLOW your mind.

    And the album goes on as the magic continues to happen. "Run Dry" is one fun groovy song. "Greed" is lyrically powerful and one strong track. "Everybody Wants Somebody" is a HUGE highlight, such as the beautiful "Allie". And "Coast" is the perfect ending for a perfect album.

    PERFECT.
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Patrick Stump delivers one of the most original pop albums of the decade. Performing, producing and singing everything on Soul Punk, Patrick does an amazing job, especially when it comes to his voice. With an amazing vocal range, Stump hit stunning high notes (Allie, Dance Miserable, The ´´I`` In Lie) and some unexpected low notes (People Never Done a God Thing).Patrick Stump delivers one of the most original pop albums of the decade. Performing, producing and singing everything on Soul Punk, Patrick does an amazing job, especially when it comes to his voice. With an amazing vocal range, Stump hit stunning high notes (Allie, Dance Miserable, The ´´I`` In Lie) and some unexpected low notes (People Never Done a God Thing).
    Even though, with some heavy synths, you can have fun with some awesome guitar solos, arena drums and even saxophones ( Everybody Wants Somebody). The lyrics might sound cheesy and to ´´poppy``, but can also surprise you with political criticism (This City, Dance Miserable, Greed).
    There are also some´´nowhere to find`` songs, like the opening ´´whoa`` Explode and the funk rock The Bad side of 25.
    Many don´t understand the ´´Punk`` on the tittle, as it apears much more on the lyrics and attitude: a pop-punk vocalist making (ALL BY HIMSELF) a funk / R&B record.
    Forget everything that you heard of his band, you will find a completely different cup of tea. And it will only be as good as it sounds if you do that, because Soul Punk is everything that Patrick Stump wanted to put outside his talented mind.
    Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2011
    10
     This album is seriously catchy, I don't have a hope of not dancing when I listen to it. The lyrics revolve around both extremely current issues like corporate Greed and economic recession, to age old themes of love and gettin' drunk. It's hard to pick stand-out tracks when I love every last one, but I'd narrow it down to Run Dry, The 'I' in Lie, and Everybody Wants Somebody. This album is seriously catchy, I don't have a hope of not dancing when I listen to it. The lyrics revolve around both extremely current issues like corporate Greed and economic recession, to age old themes of love and gettin' drunk. It's hard to pick stand-out tracks when I love every last one, but I'd narrow it down to Run Dry, The 'I' in Lie, and Everybody Wants Somebody. The bonus tracks are every bit as worthy as the standard tracks, The Bad Side of 25 being a standout.
    Every single track is a winner for me, and that every tune, lyric, instrument, and production value is the result of one person only serves to make this album infinitely more impressive. All this coupled with Stump's stellar vocal talent produces an outstanding album. Definitely a favorite of 2011.
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Spectacular album. The fact that Stump performed all instruments himself is enough to give it a listen. Absolutley reccommended. The album has a very 80's style feel that has lots of soul. Been a fan of Stump ever since fall out boy and will deffinatly check out any other releases he makes.
  7. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    Unique, only Stump could come up with that mixture of pop-style music and lyrics, and to add on that he plays all the instruments himself. Soul Punk is a fully self produced album. It being self produced there are some songs and parts of songs that I believe could have been made a bit more "catchy", but overall a very good and unique album.
  8. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    Excellent album, you just need to give it a chance before it opens up for you. At points it does sound like Stump is doing his best Michael Jackson impression, but his voice becomes his own after a few listens
  9. Jul 27, 2015
    8
    This album is an amazing show of talent by Patrick sump. Having made almost all of it himself, it shows that he has a great ear for great music. While the more electronic sound may not be for everyone, it still sounds fantastic and Stump's vocals are undeniably great throughout all tracks. There is a sense of Michael Jackson meets Justin Timberlake with hints of Jameroquai for goodThis album is an amazing show of talent by Patrick sump. Having made almost all of it himself, it shows that he has a great ear for great music. While the more electronic sound may not be for everyone, it still sounds fantastic and Stump's vocals are undeniably great throughout all tracks. There is a sense of Michael Jackson meets Justin Timberlake with hints of Jameroquai for good measure, all with Stump's unique energy. The songs vary somewhat which is where those extra two points went as not every track here is a hit as such but almost all have an amazing energy and are extremely catchy. A well-made album by an extremely talented artist. Expand
  10. Jan 10, 2016
    8
    Soul Punk é um álbum grandioso, com suas ótimas qualidades. Aqui, todo o talento e versatilidade de Patrick Stump é mostrado, seja na composição das letras, seja no instrumentalismo, seja na produção, seja na voz impecável. Não é melhor que qualquer álbum de Fall Out Boy, mas é ótimo.

    Pontos Altos: Explode, Allie, Spotlight (New Regrets) Pontos Baixos: Mad At Nothing, When I Made You
    Soul Punk é um álbum grandioso, com suas ótimas qualidades. Aqui, todo o talento e versatilidade de Patrick Stump é mostrado, seja na composição das letras, seja no instrumentalismo, seja na produção, seja na voz impecável. Não é melhor que qualquer álbum de Fall Out Boy, mas é ótimo.

    Pontos Altos: Explode, Allie, Spotlight (New Regrets)
    Pontos Baixos: Mad At Nothing, When I Made You Cry, Everybody Wants Somebody
    Expand
  11. Mar 31, 2018
    8
    The world wasn't ready for a solo Patrick Stump album. It still is proof of how much Stump is holding back on Fall Out Boy. The EP previous to this full lenght LP showcases the best of Stump in every instrument. A 10/10 musician.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    70
    Like any good album for the information age, Soul Punk is overloaded well past the point of saturation and its merciless in its attack, so it can be a bit overbearing, yet there's a real, vivid imagination behind its crystalline clamor.
  2. Kerrang!
    Nov 17, 2011
    40
    At his worst it feels more like a parody than a tribute. [29 Oct 2011, p.51]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Nov 15, 2011
    67
    He loses himself among all the references here, leaving an emptiness at Soul Punk's otherwise vibrant center. [28 Oct 2011, p.73]