Sound Of Silver

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2007
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 251

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattB.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    This album is extraordinary. The man is a genius Funk Soul Brother? Nigel, get a clue.
  2. TimT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    3
    This album was a big disappointment. Both CDs of the last album were utter gold, but this Album only holds a mere 2 tracks that I enjoy. Even Murphy's jokes suck on this venture, the best joke on the album featured in the title track "Sound of Silver" is used as the only lyrics in the whole 4+ minute song, I got sick of the most witty thing on the album, less than a minute into the This album was a big disappointment. Both CDs of the last album were utter gold, but this Album only holds a mere 2 tracks that I enjoy. Even Murphy's jokes suck on this venture, the best joke on the album featured in the title track "Sound of Silver" is used as the only lyrics in the whole 4+ minute song, I got sick of the most witty thing on the album, less than a minute into the song. The only thing I am really impressed with on this album is "North American Scum" which is, in my opinion, Murphy's best song to date. Just not enough innovation and improvement to Murphy's sound for me to like it. Expand
  3. VictorE
    May 20, 2007
    5
    The first half of this album is pretty good, esp. North American Scum-All My Friends, the rest is really boring filler. Us V Them could qualify as one of the worst songs of the year: 8.5 minutes, half of which is just the same lyric over and over. Overall, most of the album just sounds like generic background music from a mid-80's dance-show. True, there are some great songs, but The first half of this album is pretty good, esp. North American Scum-All My Friends, the rest is really boring filler. Us V Them could qualify as one of the worst songs of the year: 8.5 minutes, half of which is just the same lyric over and over. Overall, most of the album just sounds like generic background music from a mid-80's dance-show. True, there are some great songs, but there is nothing original or unique about it whatsoever. Expand
  4. Evan
    Jun 3, 2007
    5
    While this is not a bad album, I feel that it is very overrated
  5. JonC.
    Sep 9, 2007
    0
    I honestly don't know what people see in this "band." I don't know how they can actually consider this music. It's just...you know...noise. A bad noise too.
  6. vzvzvhello
    Mar 22, 2007
    0
    this album sucks!
  7. MCVitt
    Mar 28, 2007
    3
    I don't get this record. It's kind of boring. I've liked LCD Soundsystem in the past, but this doesn't really do it for me. It's not New Order, without the voice and the fabulous bass line. And the rip-offs (Kraftwerk in the first song, etc.) are ... well, they don't really help. They awaken a desire without fulfilling it. A good sample or quote adds value I don't get this record. It's kind of boring. I've liked LCD Soundsystem in the past, but this doesn't really do it for me. It's not New Order, without the voice and the fabulous bass line. And the rip-offs (Kraftwerk in the first song, etc.) are ... well, they don't really help. They awaken a desire without fulfilling it. A good sample or quote adds value (Beastie Boys used to be great at this, Danger Mouse still is), but this just takes me nowhere. As another person said, Panda Bear walks all over this in its incredible studio work. Expand
  8. JohnS
    Apr 13, 2007
    5
    Not really anything special. The critics were looking for the next big thing but I'm afraid this just isn't all that engaging.
  9. nigel
    Jun 13, 2007
    2
    I agree when I heard "north american scum", I thought it was a total rip off of Fat Boy Slims "Funk Soul Brother". I thought it was a very weak single and way too radio friendly. And then I heard the album and it was very tame and just bland. And then when you read interviews with James Murphy from LCD Soundsystem, you see how he not only enjoys making very corporate friendly music and I agree when I heard "north american scum", I thought it was a total rip off of Fat Boy Slims "Funk Soul Brother". I thought it was a very weak single and way too radio friendly. And then I heard the album and it was very tame and just bland. And then when you read interviews with James Murphy from LCD Soundsystem, you see how he not only enjoys making very corporate friendly music and dreams of being on Billboard. It's no wonder you are dealing with a guy who produces Justin Timberlake and even once produced Britney Spears. The album did not do as well as they hoped it would do. The single failed and the album failed. LCD Soundsystem lost whatever cool audience they had and respect they had when James Murphy sold out for the money. If I wanted to listen to cool corporate music, I would rather listen to Daft Punk. At least they make corporate music with masks on. Expand
  10. JeffL
    Jun 28, 2007
    4
    I liked the first album, like many other bands, nothing new here, same old tired beats. Every Track sounds exacly the same with minor tempo changes.
  11. MikeJ
    Mar 22, 2007
    1
    This is a really bad disco album full of pretension. Thumbs down.
  12. TedS
    Apr 11, 2007
    5
    I love LCD Soundsystem but this cd is completely overrated. The repitition may be planned but it gets on my nerves. North American Scum = great. A few others = good. Majority = lackluster.
  13. KevinFederline
    May 27, 2007
    0
    Man, what the hell was I thinking when I made this album?
  14. GillyD
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    God yes! What a cd. Can't stop playing it. All great tracks but especially All My Friends, Someone Great, Sound of Silver and Us V Them. The best dance cd so far & probably all year
  15. DylanS
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Another amazing album from LCD, "North American Scum" and "All My Friends" are stand outs, "Sound of Silver", not so much. Thankfully it's only one track that's less focused than the rest, and even said track has more to it than most. Buy Sound of Silve.
  16. RickW
    Mar 19, 2007
    8
    A fantastic album. Grows with every listen. Definite Joy Division/New Order influences in some of the songs. Even better than his brilliant first album. Good live too!
  17. andresL
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    This one is as good as the debut which means its ace. Also 'All my friends' is the song of the year.
  18. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    5
    I don't get the hype at all.
  19. mikef
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    point being? you shake your money maker, therefore you are. point taken.
  20. HexumN
    Apr 15, 2007
    4
    How does this get such a high rating??? Completely boring except for track 4 which I admit is pretty cool. Seems like these boring electronic-type albums always get so much backing automatically from these music snobs. I don't care about the artist's previous albums or how good of a style mixture it is. The music itself is what concerns me, and it's actually pretty crappy.
  21. DecepticonPom
    Apr 10, 2007
    9
    Immediately accessible and, with the clumsy title track the only exception, unskippable from start to finish.
  22. ScottW.
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    If you are looking for something different in the electronic sound, LCD Soundsystem are one of the best things going in that type of music. This is one of the best albumes in 2007. Sound of Silver is not a pop song albume though. Its one these albumes thats a little bite on the arty side but, this secound albume shows that they nkow what they are doing.
  23. AchimS
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This album is awesome as his debut -- James Murphy kicks ass. Very mature sound, buy it, love it!
  24. PaulC
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, so far, by a long way! Stunning and just gets better each listen. Recommended tracks - All My Friends, New York I Love You, North American Scum
  25. DavidM
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Rediculously good. I think it has taken my album of the year already. Murphy comes back even stronger than before and brings emotion to the table with some killer dance tracks.
  26. AndrewW
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Ditto on the best album of the year so far, this is the first album in quite a while that has literally (to use a completely overused phrase) blown me away. Stand out track: all my friend, played it at least a dozen times in a row. Haven't done that since I was a teenager (many moons ago)
  27. DamianM
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    This is one of the few albums I have ever felt guilty about downloading illegally. But to be honest, I can't imagine what the three months of my life would have been like without it. With this album, Murphy has surpassed many of his peers musically and lyrically. A masterpiece.
  28. DecklinW
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Seriously, this is a peach of an album, in all respects. Buy it NOW.
  29. SeanP.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    I totally loved his debut. This is all I could have hoped for from a follow-up, and then some. Now, i can't say, with a clear conscience, that this is the best of the year, because i'm a huge fan of Arcade Fire's latest. At worst, then, this is merely tied with Neon Bible as my favorite record of 2007. It will be extremely hard for anyone to rival these two albums for the I totally loved his debut. This is all I could have hoped for from a follow-up, and then some. Now, i can't say, with a clear conscience, that this is the best of the year, because i'm a huge fan of Arcade Fire's latest. At worst, then, this is merely tied with Neon Bible as my favorite record of 2007. It will be extremely hard for anyone to rival these two albums for the rest of the year. I'll be more than happy to listen to the attempts. This will potentially be a great year of music then. Expand
  30. sanjeeva
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    The best CD (dance or whatever) in a long LONG time! Was great the first time I heard it, but now, it pure magic! All my friends sounds like a mix of U2's Streets have no name and a Stroke's track. But the resulting track is a masterpiece. Sheer genius.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. True, LCD's music is not for everyone, which may have something to do with why their fans love them as they do. If you fall into the latter category, however, Silver is gold.
  2. Under The Radar
    90
    A big, fun, and passionate record that sounds enormous. [#16, p.92]
  3. Urb
    100
    The vocals are where Murphy has developed the most, trading in his Mark E. Smith yelp for various crooning styles. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.75]