• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Sound Of Silver Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dance-punk producer (and one-half of The DFA) James Murphy returns with his second LCD Soundsytem album.

Top Track

All My Friends
That's how it starts. We go back to your house. We check the charts And start to figure it out. And if it's crowded, all the better because we know... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. It's a straight-up masterpiece, blending indie-rock attitude and clattering dance beats with lethal sardonic humor.
  2. Urb
    100
    The vocals are where Murphy has developed the most, trading in his Mark E. Smith yelp for various crooning styles. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.75]
  3. As a cohesive album and a personal statement, Sound of Silver is superior in most every way.
  4. It's occasionally like a dream collaboration between Bill Hicks and New Order, with Giorgio Moroder producing.
  5. Whereas Murphy's wise enough never to let his showing off spoil the fun, he can't avoid investing these songs with heart and soul.
  6. True, LCD's music is not for everyone, which may have something to do with why their fans love them as they do. If you fall into the latter category, however, Silver is gold.
  7. Someone please get this man his edge back.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 109
  2. Negative: 8 out of 109
  1. MattB.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    This album is extraordinary. The man is a genius Funk Soul Brother? Nigel, get a clue.
  2. jazzym
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    this album is even better than smoking drugs
  3. romanmc
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Outstanding. More rewarding the more you listen to it.
  4. TobyH
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    A great record! Kicking off with the infectiously repetitive Get Innocuous, catchy beats and original wailings make up the best parts of this A great record! Kicking off with the infectiously repetitive Get Innocuous, catchy beats and original wailings make up the best parts of this album, the beautiful New York... slowing things down to a superb ending. Standout tracks are Us V Them and Someone Great, with North American Scum offering short sharp punk-dance. Time To Get Away is nearly as good as Daft Punk Is Playing At My House, some mean achievement! Murphy's hugely entertaining yelps carry hints of Prince, as he shows magnificent lyrical ability over quality backdrop. Take my word for it- buy this album!!! Expand
  5. JamesM.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    A great album. Not a weak track. Cool stuff.
  6. AlexP
    Mar 26, 2007
    7
    This guy obviously has talent. It's just a shame the stuff he writes is so repetitive. It would be a lot better if he mixed it up a This guy obviously has talent. It's just a shame the stuff he writes is so repetitive. It would be a lot better if he mixed it up a little more. Usually by about 2 minutes into the song I'm going crazy from hearing the same note 10000 times. Expand
  7. vzvzvhello
    Mar 22, 2007
    0
    this album sucks!

See all 109 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?