• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Sound Of Silver Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dance-punk producer (and one-half of The DFA) James Murphy returns with his second LCD Soundsytem album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. It's a straight-up masterpiece, blending indie-rock attitude and clattering dance beats with lethal sardonic humor.
  2. 100
    The vocals are where Murphy has developed the most, trading in his Mark E. Smith yelp for various crooning styles. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.75]
  3. As a cohesive album and a personal statement, Sound of Silver is superior in most every way.
  4. It's occasionally like a dream collaboration between Bill Hicks and New Order, with Giorgio Moroder producing.
  5. Whereas Murphy's wise enough never to let his showing off spoil the fun, he can't avoid investing these songs with heart and soul.
  6. True, LCD's music is not for everyone, which may have something to do with why their fans love them as they do. If you fall into the latter category, however, Silver is gold.
  7. Someone please get this man his edge back.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 107
  2. Negative: 8 out of 107
  1. MattB.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    This album is extraordinary. The man is a genius Funk Soul Brother? Nigel, get a clue.
  2. JamesS
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    It's being said to death, but this is the first album to really catch my attention this year. I'm glad that James Murphy is singing It's being said to death, but this is the first album to really catch my attention this year. I'm glad that James Murphy is singing more and I'm surprised that more people aren't citing the obvious Eno influence because of it (tell me that the debut's "Great Release" doesn't remind you of "Here Come the Warm Jets"). I've really enjoyed releases by Deerhoof, Of Montreal, Menomena, and Peter Bjorn & John this year, but this is the first album that I think deserves to be called great, and yes, I've heard Neon Bible. Expand
  3. ZachM
    May 2, 2007
    10
    you know, it really gets tiring hearing about how people just can't get past the album's supposed "lack of melody". if all you want you know, it really gets tiring hearing about how people just can't get past the album's supposed "lack of melody". if all you want out of a record is catchy melodies, go listen to a fall out boy album or something. this record easily surpasses every record released so far this year (yes, even your dearly beloved Neon Bible). it's remarkable how james murphy can take such an eclectic set of songs and manage to make it all cohere to create a mature and all-around excellent record. if you like to listen to any sort of dance music at all, buy this album immediately and let it grow on you. you won't regret it. Expand
  4. TobyH
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    A great record! Kicking off with the infectiously repetitive Get Innocuous, catchy beats and original wailings make up the best parts of this A great record! Kicking off with the infectiously repetitive Get Innocuous, catchy beats and original wailings make up the best parts of this album, the beautiful New York... slowing things down to a superb ending. Standout tracks are Us V Them and Someone Great, with North American Scum offering short sharp punk-dance. Time To Get Away is nearly as good as Daft Punk Is Playing At My House, some mean achievement! Murphy's hugely entertaining yelps carry hints of Prince, as he shows magnificent lyrical ability over quality backdrop. Take my word for it- buy this album!!! Expand
  5. JamesM.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    A great album. Not a weak track. Cool stuff.
  6. kat
    Mar 20, 2007
    7
    commercial, likeable, danceable. "all my firends" sounds like a new order cover i'm afraid. all in all, not too impressive, in my view.
  7. vzvzvhello
    Mar 22, 2007
    0
    this album sucks!

See all 107 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?