Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    30
    Maybe the Ting Tings have pulled some sort of Lou Reed maneuver here. Maybe this is their Lulu.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    25
    The mediocrity taints the entire record and makes one wonder how it all went so wrong.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    20
    Seems shambled and unfinished. [No. 85, p.58]
  4. Mar 12, 2012
    20
    It all amounts to a great deal of bluster for bluster's sake and becomes tiresome almost instantly.
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    18
    Sounds From Nowheresville makes me want to buy chocolate, try on clothes, take a holiday--anything but listen to this record.
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Altogether, it's an insipid assault of dribbly, sub-Billie Piper pop sludge.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    2
    There may be bongo drums and bells chimes thrown in aimlessly to try and spice things up, but that frankly cannot distract from the pairâ
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I have a hard time understanding why people don't like this album. I find myself singing along to every single one of the tracks from hit me down sonny to in your life. who cares that it isn't a perfectly crafted, cohesive record? i have a feeling that the ting tings weren't sitting in meetings going "okay, how do all these songs go together?" no. all that really matters is that they made a set of great songs that stand out on their own and don't blend together? i find myself being able to distinguish each track from the one before it and a lot of albums today, you can't do that with. Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    The first seven tracks? Great beats, good fun. The last three? Not so much. Tracks 8 and 9 are a little too Top 40 for my tastes. But the gems make for an enjoyable listen for sure. Full Review »