• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    60
    They sound more and more as if they've found a sound that they can all their own. [Apr 2012, p.94]
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    60
    The first five tracks stick more or less to the angular post-punk dance-party template....It's on the back half that Nowheresville turns crazily experimental
  3. 60
    Nothing's wrong with stylized (uber- or otherwise) music (Paul's Boutique was, after all). But it helps when the craft behind the glitz is just as compelling.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    60
    It's fun, but not a lot to show for four years work.
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    50
    Sounds from Nowheresville shows that the Ting Tings have more range than their debut suggested, but while it's more ambitious and crafted, it's just not as coherent as We Started Nothing.
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    50
    Pure candy at its highest moments, but perceptibly hollow at others. [March 2012, p.80]
  7. 50
    The unfortunate irony is that Sounds From Nowheresville doesn't sound much like a grand rejection of pop music at all. It just sounds a little bereft of ideas, and way too short.
  8. Feb 27, 2012
    50
    Much of the album either grates or bores.
  9. Unfortunately it's largely downhill from here [after opener "Silence"].
  10. Mar 15, 2012
    40
    Doing lame imitations of other things that are popular seems to be the mission statement for Sounds From Nowhere.
  11. Mar 14, 2012
    40
    Like over-keen Masterchef contestants, they chuck everything onto the plate to show off their skills, resulting in a charmless mess of congealed ideas. [April 2012, p.105]
  12. Mar 13, 2012
    40
    The whole effort, a mere 33 minutes worth but seemingly longer, is disappointing, save one or two songs. Multiple spins just can't save this one.
  13. Mar 9, 2012
    40
    What's also noticeable is how unnecessarily restrained most of the album is.
  14. Feb 27, 2012
    40
    Disappointing--and worse yet, faceless. [Apr 2012, p.99]
  15. Feb 27, 2012
    40
    A curious listen, Sounds From Nowheresville is akin to having your memory wiped at exactly the same moment an experience is stored in the brain.
  16. Feb 23, 2012
    40
    What Sounds from Nowheresville most obviously evokes isn't anger or even if-we-must sulkiness, but confusion.
  17. Feb 17, 2012
    40
    Ultimately it's hard to see this matching the levels of their early success.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    2
    There may be bongo drums and bells chimes thrown in aimlessly to try and spice things up, but that frankly cannot distract from the pairâ
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I have a hard time understanding why people don't like this album. I find myself singing along to every single one of the tracks from hit meI have a hard time understanding why people don't like this album. I find myself singing along to every single one of the tracks from hit me down sonny to in your life. who cares that it isn't a perfectly crafted, cohesive record? i have a feeling that the ting tings weren't sitting in meetings going "okay, how do all these songs go together?" no. all that really matters is that they made a set of great songs that stand out on their own and don't blend together? i find myself being able to distinguish each track from the one before it and a lot of albums today, you can't do that with. Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    The first seven tracks? Great beats, good fun. The last three? Not so much. Tracks 8 and 9 are a little too Top 40 for my tastes. But the gemsThe first seven tracks? Great beats, good fun. The last three? Not so much. Tracks 8 and 9 are a little too Top 40 for my tastes. But the gems make for an enjoyable listen for sure. Full Review »