Sounds from Nowheresville

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    80
    One-hit wonders no more, White and de Martino now sound prepared for a big pop future. [Mar 2012, p.101]
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    The music dips into ska, Eighties electro and power ballads, and the sumptuously noirish torch song "In Your Life" proves White's heart is as big as her spleen.
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    67
    Sounds From Nowheresville is a blast when it's on and imminently forgettable when it's not.
  4. Mar 15, 2012
    67
    This is no five-star, but the disc's greatest wobble is also its strongest suite: It genre-hops.
  5. 100
    These 10 tracks are a masterclass in modern pop creation, pinballing from style to style without endangering their essential "TingTingness".
  6. This is an album that deserves at least to reacquaint the Ting Tings with the outskirts of Somewheresville.
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    80
    They know how to knock a tune together and have delivered a pop party album thrillingly in tune with contemporary listening habits.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    2
    There may be bongo drums and bells chimes thrown in aimlessly to try and spice things up, but that frankly cannot distract from the pairâ
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I have a hard time understanding why people don't like this album. I find myself singing along to every single one of the tracks from hit meI have a hard time understanding why people don't like this album. I find myself singing along to every single one of the tracks from hit me down sonny to in your life. who cares that it isn't a perfectly crafted, cohesive record? i have a feeling that the ting tings weren't sitting in meetings going "okay, how do all these songs go together?" no. all that really matters is that they made a set of great songs that stand out on their own and don't blend together? i find myself being able to distinguish each track from the one before it and a lot of albums today, you can't do that with. Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    The first seven tracks? Great beats, good fun. The last three? Not so much. Tracks 8 and 9 are a little too Top 40 for my tastes. But the gemsThe first seven tracks? Great beats, good fun. The last three? Not so much. Tracks 8 and 9 are a little too Top 40 for my tastes. But the gems make for an enjoyable listen for sure. Full Review »