User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    This album is nothing short of phenomenal, and it's an absolute shame that it's not getting the critical or commercial praise it deserves. The main problem I had with We Started Nothing was how one-dimensional monotonous it came off, even if it was home to plenty of catchy tunes. It mind-boggling how well this British duo fixed every gripe I had with their debut. Practically every song on Sounds from Nowheresville incorporates a different genre. There’s electronic music (“Silence”), rock-influenced pop-rap (“Hit Me Down Sonny” “Hang It Up”), heavy groove-driven garage rock (“Give It Back”), spoken word over minimalistic indie rock (“Guggenheim”), funk-rock (“Soul Killing”), 80’s synth-pop (“One By One”), pop-country (“Day to Day”), beautiful exercises in dramatic buildups (“Help”) quiet yet emotional balladry (“In Your Life”), each experiment providing a similar level of Ting Tings infectiousness that makes every single track extremely memorable. And yes, I just named off the entire track list. I might’ve really liked the other albums mentioned throughout this paper, but this is definitely my favorite out of all of these, and is easily in my top 5 albums of 2012. It helps that I saw them live just a few days after first hearing this album, which definitely enhanced my feelings toward these tracks. Pick this up ASAP. I cannot stress this enough. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I have a hard time understanding why people don't like this album. I find myself singing along to every single one of the tracks from hit me down sonny to in your life. who cares that it isn't a perfectly crafted, cohesive record? i have a feeling that the ting tings weren't sitting in meetings going "okay, how do all these songs go together?" no. all that really matters is that they made a set of great songs that stand out on their own and don't blend together? i find myself being able to distinguish each track from the one before it and a lot of albums today, you can't do that with. Expand
  3. May 31, 2012
    6
    This a good album no doubt with some really great songs, however, it is not as a whole a stellar album. While it seems it is of a similar quality, the variety seems to be lacking in this album, especially when compared to its predecessor "We Started Nothing"
  4. May 7, 2012
    0
    This album unsuccessfully comes of as an album, and more like a comedy EP. The only standout track on the album is it's second official single, "Hit Me Down Sonny". With "Hang It Up" being just tolerable. All the other stuff can't even put you to sleep, I think they may start using this album for torture overseas though.

    Coming off of "That's Not My Name", "Shut Up And Let Me Go", "Fruit
    Machine", "Great DJ", "Be The One", & "We Walk" this album, sorry i mean comedy EP, just appears lazy, and like they have no goal in sight, mission or reason to do music.

    The Ting Tings (after "Hit Me Down Sonny" doing moderately well in the UK) are official done unless their third album is a masterpiece. If anyone even remembers who they are still (that actually may be better in their case!
    Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2012
    9
    One of my favourite albums so far this year, and will be moved from my Spotify playlist into my permanent iPod collection. Of note, the euphoric opener Silence is a great first song, Give It Back has a great energy through a drums/guitar combo but Guggenheim is the standout track among on an album of plenty of gems. It
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    "Sounds From Nowheresville," which is the second in the career of The Ting Things album is an intermediate product. Who ever heard of their previous album and single such as "Shut Up And Let Me Go" will find himself on this record. For the rest it can be both a great indie rock offer with elements of pop or a boring piece of europop - type of "radio-friendly songs". But let's be honest - this is a mass media friendly CD. Just listen to the inspired by hip-hop songs such as "Guggenheim" - with great choruses - or "Hang It Up". Typical for the duo's "Hit Me Down Sonny", dance-punk "Give It Back," pathetic "Help" or the acoustic "In Your Life" - are also compositions, which is worth paying attention while listening. In this genre album is a strong suggestion. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    The first seven tracks? Great beats, good fun. The last three? Not so much. Tracks 8 and 9 are a little too Top 40 for my tastes. But the gems make for an enjoyable listen for sure.
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    The album art says it all. Stripped and cool, this album is a fresh take on Blondiesque pop post punk. Listen to "Hang it Up" for a taste of the whole pie.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    This album is a real disappointment!!! I excepted a lot more from them, there are like two songs that i can listen too. This album was not worth the wait.
  10. Feb 27, 2012
    2
    There may be bongo drums and bells chimes thrown in aimlessly to try and spice things up, but that frankly cannot distract from the pairâ
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Unfortunately it's largely downhill from here [after opener "Silence"].
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    30
    Maybe the Ting Tings have pulled some sort of Lou Reed maneuver here. Maybe this is their Lulu.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    60
    They sound more and more as if they've found a sound that they can all their own. [Apr 2012, p.94]