Sounds of a Playground Fading Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Swedish metal band that is considered to be the founders of the Gothenburg Metal sound releases its first album since guitarist Jesper Stromblad left the band.
  • Record Label: Century Media
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Progressive Metal, Death Metal, Scandinavian Metal
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    80
    With the constant variation found on the record--and what is probably Friden's most comfortable vocal performance of his career--they sound like a brand-new outfit, and you wouldn't bet against the Swedes gaining a whole new lease of life as a result.
  2. Jul 12, 2011
    80
    This certainly proves that they are still a formidable force in contemporary metal. [11 Jun 2011, p.50]
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    70
    Sounds of a Playground Fading hews closely to the melodic-death-metal-meets-alt-rock style these guys have spearheaded since 2002's Reroute to Remain, with crunchy riffs regularly giving way to soaring choruses that could seduce a Muse fan.
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    70
    On their tenth studio album, In Flames officially complete their transition from Swedish melodic death metal pioneers to unpredictable Swedish progressive pop/rock/neo-classical metal innovators... It's as epic as Scandinavia is cold.
  5. Jul 12, 2011
    60
    Basically, fans of In Flames' last four albums are sure to find plenty to enjoy on Sounds of Playground Fading as it is easily better than a lot of what they've done recently, but it could have been so much more if the vocals could be anything more than adequate.
  6. Aug 8, 2011
    40
    The album's late lurch into electro and stadium rock is plain bizarre. [Aug. 2011, p. 119]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Quite simply, this is the best In Flames has ever been. I really like where they are going with the new record, Anders' vocals are top notch, it has a darker, heavier feel to it then past efforts. I really hope they can continue the amazing quality of this album with their next release. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    In flames: sounds of a playground fading is an awesome metal album done by an awesome metal band. It's definitely the best in flames album that I've heard, and it could be the best album of it's genre (it's at least one of them). every song is amazing, except from: the attic, jester's door and the puzzle, there still great songs though. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    Refreshing is the word to summarise this album, in my opinion.
    In Flames is my favorite band, period. It's that kind of "favorite band" where
    all the music and the lyrics have special and true meanings, as it seems, only to you. And it's brilliant that no one ever notices, you don't care.
    Egoistical intros aside, I love Soudns of a Playground Fading, which I will be reffering to as "the album" from now on.
    In each band's journey there comes a time where they mature. And I'm not talking about the A7X type mature, where they release songs with melodies ripped traight out of the holy Black Album with new lyrics, but for true maturing, where the band stays true to it's roots, only to seem somehow more grounded this time around. Ever since I heard the single "Deliver Us" I fell in love with it, though I still to this day have no idea what Anders is talking about in it and I hope to ask him someday. That aside, the single told me one thing - that In Flames are doing something different. And they showed us that with "A Sense of Purpouse" a bit, where they trade-in the old for something refreshing, but indeed it didn't seem definitive yet. "SOAPF", or The Album, tells us exactly where the band is going.
    From the top, once again, we see brilliant sound, polish and mastering - there is no point for saying anything there. I'd like to go track by track from the album, but in this album I don't really thinkg I can.
    I've made a In Flames all-time-favs playlist that I listen to most often, however I can't add any of the songs from The Album there, when I'm in a certain mood, I listen to this album particularly and only. And to me, that makes this album great. It's still In Flames. But it's a mature In Flames and I can't really explain why - it's one of those things in art that you just have to "feel", but to feel it you'd have to know the band's work pretty well, like I do (by heart(all of it)).
    This album isn't for anyone, though, that's why I'm giving it an 8/10. Most In Flames fans are still being angry at the band for not making Colony 2, but I think it's high time that they realise that it's not going to happen, and for one I'm glad that it never will, because I like to see how bands evolve, and as long it's not like Fall Out Boy where it makes you want to hit them with a brick in the face, it's pretty much a good deal.
    I have to mention this also - I got the collector's edition of this album and it's very well done, it's "entertaining" to look at at the very least and comes with some pretty awesome goodies, so if anyone is thinking which one should they get - the Collector's Box is awesome, the double-CD version is awesome, and if you can afford any of them, I'd reccommend them over the regular CD, because the double-CD version is so awesome.
    Overall, I think this album is great. I'm eager to see where the band takes us next time, and from what I'm seeing them do right now, I'm pretty fearful that it won't be anywhere near "more mature", but hey - we got This Album, so I'm happy with the fact that I saw a new side of In Flames that wasn't rehashed.
    Also, That One Song, that has become a controversy - I love it and I love it for the reason everyone hates it - it's different, but in a very sincere and good way. That's why I love this album - because it's In Flames all-over - it has the same style of vocals and text-writing with heavy-simpe base and brilliant drum and guitar work, though we are missing Jasper this time around, which I feared will reasult in a sound very different from what it was. And indeed, it did. But in a good way.
    Conclusion: don't undermine this album. You just might like it because it's different.
    Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    Almost perfect album. Very good to listen, and the quality is very high. It is well detached from In Flames' old genre, but it's still very good. Recommended. Collapse
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    The album opener "Sounds of a Playground Fading" is just amazing, no other way to put it. "Deliver us" also delivered, despite not being anywhere near the opener. But then again, few songs can get close to it. However, after that it all goes downhill. While the occasional good song does pop up, I had to put up with a lot of songs that I didn't enjoy. A lot of them also felt like they were fillers too (Jester's Door in particular) Overall, it was a good album. But it was let down by a few songs Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2014
    5
    Overall. this is a very average album. About half of the songs on this album were generally enjoyable. The other half are just not my cup of tea. A lot of hit or miss. Expand