Sounds Of The Universe

  • Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: Apr 21, 2009
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 94
  2. Negative: 9 out of 94

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanA
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    Always cutting edge and fresh Depeche Mode have done it again. Pushing the envelope, perfectly ok with saying away from commercial trends. Like all DM CD's you need to listen to it several times to take it all in. It will really grow to be a favorite.
  2. ChaseP
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    Its a great album and it deserves a great score. Who cares if they dont have that new sound or that old sound. They are Depeche Mode, and they do something different on every album. And Sounds of the Universe is one of their best.
  3. FelipeP
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    Fantastic album, one of the best albums of Depeche Mode, I love it!
  4. davide
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    SOTU is DM at their best. A sonically lush and expansive album, vocally Dave and Martin have never sounded better, and a perfect balance of soulfull beats, distinct melodies and a few surprise turns. Their best album in 20 years.
  5. MikeR
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    Solid album, each song is fresh and well crafted. DM pushes the envelope and sets a new pace! A+.
  6. JonasY.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    WOW! GREAT ALBUM .. BEST PURCHASE EVER.. I agree absolute with the title sounds of the UNIVERSE.. it defines it unfiltered a true crowdpleaser , heavenly... pick this badboy up today.
  7. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Depeche Mode has made a huge change in sound since exciter. That said Sounds of the Universe is a great disc with some of the best of what they can offer: Great vocals, wonderful lyrics and amazing music with a dark and grim tone.
  8. Brandon
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    it's a great album. On repeated listens, one will understand the great harmonies and overall great songwriting this album contains.
  9. CarlosO.
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    This album is almost perfect, taking count its a 30 year old band, you would never expect something so fresh and full of variety, it`s a bit too long thou , to me if you cut out ` In Sympathy` and `Perfect` out, that lay on the dissonant fillers category , you get a perfect tight Album in the vein of Songs Of Faith and Devotion.
  10. IgorA
    Apr 27, 2009
    9
    Not better then "playing the angel" but strong and nice album, excellent singing.
  11. LinoG.
    May 4, 2009
    9
    Any Depeche Mode follower would be foolish to pass on this wonderful album. From second one to the the album's close, this is a great listening experience. This is Depeche Mode at their best, and I'm thrilled to have embarked on this, their latest journey.
  12. MattA
    Apr 21, 2009
    8
    Great Album, marred only by its lack of ambition. There are definitely great tracks to be heard on this album. It is very reminiscent of exciter, however, does evoke some late 80's mode on certain tracks. I can see how it can turn off some hardcore depeche mode fans, but it still holds strong against many other contemporary bands of today.
  13. NickW.
    Apr 21, 2009
    8
    I love the album. I didn't realize the universe sounded like my subwoofer exploding though. I like bass in music, a lot, but there's so much and it's so deep it's hard to hear the songs under it. When I have to turn the sub volume down 2-3 notches compared to every other CD I own, something's messed up. Aside from that, great album ;)
  14. ariang
    Apr 23, 2009
    8
    Very good cd. Defenitely not flawless. Not all the tracks work perfectly but all and all very good. This comes from a person that has been following them since 1982.
  15. AV
    Apr 25, 2009
    8
    What do you expect from a band that helped to invent a genre, carried it to the masses, went off and grew up and had families, and is still writing and performing? While more a return to form than a revolution, DM has enough fans to pack arenas and stadiums and this will certainly satisfy those people. It sounds more like Violator than anything else they've released recently and one What do you expect from a band that helped to invent a genre, carried it to the masses, went off and grew up and had families, and is still writing and performing? While more a return to form than a revolution, DM has enough fans to pack arenas and stadiums and this will certainly satisfy those people. It sounds more like Violator than anything else they've released recently and one has to ask is that a bad thing? Most would agree that no, it is not. Expand
  16. JohnB
    Apr 29, 2009
    8
    Well I didn't expect to enjoy this half as much as I am. After the last so-so 'return to form' album I was afraid they'd just churn out more retro stadium electro-rock - and for the most part they haven't. It's fizzing, burbling, often restrained, atmospheric, sometimes beautiful, synth music and I'm really glad I took a chance on buying it. It may not Well I didn't expect to enjoy this half as much as I am. After the last so-so 'return to form' album I was afraid they'd just churn out more retro stadium electro-rock - and for the most part they haven't. It's fizzing, burbling, often restrained, atmospheric, sometimes beautiful, synth music and I'm really glad I took a chance on buying it. It may not be instant for many people, and there's no obvious 'classics', but there's an addictive depth to it. They'd end up as has-beens if they kept trying to do 'another Violator' or more electro-rock and I'm delighted they've gone this route (or I'd be an ex-fan now). Expand
  17. BitBurn
    May 4, 2009
    8
    Okay so it's not Violator but it's a darn good effort nonetheless. It sounds like the DM we love, lots of synth, great vocals, dark, catchy, modern. My favorite track are "Come Back", "In Sympathy" and "Fragile Tension".
  18. RobertG.
    May 6, 2009
    8
    I'm very happy with this album and prefer it to Playing the Angel, which i felt was too noisy and industrial. Jezebel and the interlude are pretty bad. Everything else is very solid and varied in feel and tone. My favorite album since Ultra which I preferred to SOFAD. Exciter was horrendous.
  19. JosephA.
    May 16, 2009
    8
    Grower, not a shower. A couple of listens reveals that the album is pretty much solid straight through. Nice sound collages, beats, lyrics, production and performances. It's well paced as well. I agree, as most people mention, that it's a return to pre-"Songs Of Faith & Devotion" form, but the band seems to utilize what they've learned post "Violator" to enhance that Grower, not a shower. A couple of listens reveals that the album is pretty much solid straight through. Nice sound collages, beats, lyrics, production and performances. It's well paced as well. I agree, as most people mention, that it's a return to pre-"Songs Of Faith & Devotion" form, but the band seems to utilize what they've learned post "Violator" to enhance that return, creating something reminiscent but at the same time very new. In no way is it as heavy as "Playing The Angel" or as ambient as "Exciter", indeed, it's a well crafted and open minded approach to a career summary. I think it's a great album. Nicely done, I love it. Some personal favorites: In Chains Wrong Fragile Tension Come Back Perfect Miles Away. Expand
  20. BertE.
    Jul 8, 2009
    8
    I like the return to the analog synths and the return of melody to the songs. Playing the Angel was a little cold in that respect.
  21. DexStud
    Jul 29, 2009
    8
    Very strong, solid album from a classic band. After listening to singles: Wrong and Peace proves how infinitely creative Depeche Mode can be.
  22. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    This is an intelligent, meaningful electronic music experience that will grow on you and leave you completely satisfied, comparable to Aphex Twin's level of production.
  23. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    It's a a 'gray masterpiece' from Depeche Mode; "Sounds Of The Universe" it's like see the world trough the mirror, and don't understand whats happens. Not so formidable like "Playing The Angel", but show the other side from the religious mind from Dave, Adan and Martin.
  24. Sep 11, 2011
    7
    This one is less darker than PTA, but repeat the same formula (and producer) with some dirty sounds and samplers. After all, with this album Depeche continues alive. Good but not the best so far.
  25. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    A couple of good tracks (Wrong, In Sympathy) with some ok ones (Corrupt, Miles Away/The Truth Is, In Chains) and the rest forgettable. Some say the b-sides are better than the album tracks.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The result sounds like a time machine back to the Eighties.
  2. 60
    Sounds of the Universe comes on a bit softer, with less industrial guitar clang and more of chief songwriter Martin Gore's dreamy atmospherics.
  3. A less then stellar return, then, but a welcome one nevertheless.